We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 gems - Wine Valley Inn & Solvang”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“2 gems - Wine Valley Inn & Solvang”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

My husband and I had a one night stay in Solvang. Our room was enormous and on two levels! The beds were more than comfortable with a beautiful big bathroom!!! The actual property was very attractive - lots of lovely flowers, a pond and an outdoor fireplace. The location was perfect, although many shops and restaurants opened and shut early - really a good thing if you need an early dinner before getting back on the road the following morning. I would recommend this Inn and Solvang - it has many quaint shops and restaurants - we loved the Danish setting - very pretty - I wouldn't have any hesitation about returning in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    423
    231
    115
    59
See reviews for
241
629
31
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This hotel is a beautiful property. There is a outdoor fireplace, flowers, pond and little bridges. The lobby is warm and inviting with a wine bar that features local wines. This was a great little perk and I was able to buy a great local wine to enjoy later after the wine bar closed. It is a pet friendly hotel with a minimal pet fee ($25). As we brought our dog for the first time on a vacation, this was very nice and not too costly. You can also get a pampered pet package. The breakfast was really above average. We were able to walk into the downtown area in less than 5 minutes. The staff was accommodating and very nice. We were allowed to leave our car in the parking lot after check out while we explored downtown. Very nice place and would definitely stay again. The only reason this review is not a 5 is that the room was a little small.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMJones1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Booked for our second anniversary and they upgraded the room & it was fantastic, romantic & private, even with the private jacuzzi! Best Ever! It was cute & cozy & I don't mean it was small. It felt like a fantasyland at Disneyland, but for Adults!

Room Tip: It was a suite & it was huge, private & comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gypsymoon10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iselin, NJ
Level Contributor
175 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stopped here for the night on way down PCH, and I wish we just continued on to Santa Barbara.

The town closes at 5pm, and this is a tourist town?

Wine was good but the Danish overload was enough. It's nice if that's what your into, but I am not. The hotel looks like they tried to remodel the rooms, but came up short on the finishing details.

The breakfast was good. Parking was light in front, it wasn't until next day I found out there was parking behind the hotel.

Again, nice place if you want to go to Solvang, but if looking for a hotel off of 101, go to Santa Barbara,

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeyhand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra H, General Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you for your compliment and comments suggesting Wine Valley Inn for your preferred accommodation while staying in Solvang, however I would like to extend my apology for the lack of night life in Solvang and The Santa Ynez Valley. Although Solvang is historical Danish Community and The Santa Ynez Valley is a breathtakingly beautiful countryside, the majority of excitement happens during the day time with the exception of specific winery events. Although Solvang does have a wealth of Danish, all genuine old family recipes, we are also very proud to include German, Italian, Gourmet Pub, and All American Burgers on our local menus, any of which I hope you will consider trying on your next visit.

Respectfully
Sandra Hallmann, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Second time we've stayed at this hotel and had a wonderful vacation. We booked a "King Tower" room and I requested a ground floor room with a patio. This was soooo lovely to sit outside watching the people go by, enjoying the sunshine, etc. The room had a nice sitting area, two sinks, huge walk in shower with two shower heads, walk in closet, frig with useable space for your own stuff, coffee maker, wine glasses and corkscrew for your enjoyment of wines purchased. It also had double doors that opened up allowing a cool breeze in the room and sunlight. Breakfast,
Wine tasting and glasses at only $5, cheese and crackers, Lounge area near the wine bar, outside fireplace and couches, courteous and helpful staff, and bikes to rent are what I liked about this place. They also have a massage/spa facility but we were too busy tasting wines, visiting tasting rooms and wineries...and the Clairmont Lavender Farm, and the Morrell Berry Farm to care about a massage. All rooms are different at Wine Valley Inn so make yours special by choosing the right one for your likes. ........One last thing......our mattress was not comfortable at all...too old and gave us a backache. We told the manager and they said they'd look into it. I just called them to check and they said new mattresses for a few rooms have been ordered. I'm not rating them any lower for this because I trust they will fix this as comfort is of utmost importance for their guests. Enjoy!!

Room Tip: Request if you want a ground or upper floor, or a cottage..jacuzzi...patio. Best to book directly w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chattylori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
402 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

In planning our trip to the central coast wineries in California, I had to choose among Santa Barbara, Buellton and Solvang as the base while we were there for three days. The accommodations in Santa Barbara were much more expensive. Buellton and Solvang are very close to each other and both were very close to the wineries on our list. There were more choices in Solvang than in Buellton.

Solvang won because it looked so beautiful and is certainly unique. Other Trip Advisor reviewers let us know how utterly charming Solvang was! And they were right!!

We picked the Wine Valley Inn because if its website. It is on a quiet street and you walk everywhere in this little Danish village...or ride a "surrey with a fringe on top" bicycle for two or four!!

Our king bed rooms were very spacious and comfortable. There was a refrigerator in the room.

The hotel has suites and cottages. It also has lovely common areas inside and out. There are beautiful gardens and outside tables to enjoy a meal or a visit with friends. Near the clock tower was a lovely outdoor fireplace and upholstered furniture. It has a very nice parlor and a spacious breakfast room. There is a delicious breakfast buffet every morning. It is included with the price of your accommodations.
There is a daily wine tasting but you pay for that. It is very convenient and nice.

The accommodations are clean and nice though a bit thread-bare like the carpet in the coin areas and in our room. This did not diminish our pleasure at staying here, just an observation.

The entire staff was friendly and helpful during our stay.

We loved the town of Solvang. We enthusiastically recommend the town and Wine Valley Inn!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This was a great place to stay. We had a wonderful trip and the rooms were very clean and well kept. It was in a great location and the promotion we purchased with wine tasting was a great bargain. Only comment I have about the rooms was the mattresses were a little old and not all that terribly comfortable. We would stay there again for the price and location alone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tedmonds81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
774 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
889 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
0.1 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
243 reviews
3.9 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Valley Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Valley Inn & Cottages

Property: Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Address: 1564 Copenhagen Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2754
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#5 Family Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wine Valley Inn & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Ynez Valley...scenic vistas, vintage charm. Located on an acre of meandering gardens with a Koi pond, the Wine Valley Inn offers old-world hospitality with a variety of accommodations for every taste and budget. The Wine Valley Inn is located in the Danish village of Solvang, within easy walking distance of many wine tasting rooms and within 20 minutes of more than 40 acclaimed wineries & vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Wine Valley Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wine Valley Inn And Cottages - a Broughton Hotel
Wine Valley Inn Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing