We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Solvang
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“One night stay”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Hotel is pleasant and in a good position for exploring Solvang. The staff were very friendly and the wine tasting in the evening was pleasant. The room was a bit dark though and breakfast a bit limited in items available (e.g. very little fruit).

Room Tip: We had room 308, OK as long as you don't need a lot of light in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMikeJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our Solvang property. Please know that we take all feedback into great consideration, and I will bring your comments to our maintenance team so that they can add more lighting to the room you have just mentioned. As you were aware, we are located in the perfect spot if you plan on exploring the vast beauty of Solvang. We are walking distance to most shops, stores and restaurants. Our customer service is exceptional and we are always ready to serve our valued guests. Thank you once again for the wonderful feedback and we hope to see you next time to come visit Solvang California.

Kindly,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    425
    236
    119
    61
See reviews for
247
641
31
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northridge, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

In the last 5 years I stayed in this hotel half a dozen times. In average I had a very positive experience. If you want big comfortable rooms with nice big showers and fireplaces this hotel is a good value. Last time we stayed in hotel November 3, 2013 - service was very poor. I am not sure what had change. They doing outside remodeling, may be when they done things will go back to normal.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the back with less traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for been such a loyal guest to Wine Valley Inn and Cottages, and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your most recent stay. We are very happy to know that every time you stay with us you find the place more and more appealing. Please excuse us for the inconvenience caused to you on this last stay. As you became aware, we are doing small remodeling on the property, small remodeling that will go a long way with how the property will look and with how safe all of our guest will be and feel. Again, we are happy to know that you are a continued guest and that you enjoyed our property. We hope to see you once our remodeling process is complete.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We booked the room Village Tower Deluxe King, and to my surprise, it was like a suite in a 5 star hotel. The main bedroom was separate, had a daybed in the hallway, very large living room with fireplace and mini kitchen. The value of the room exceeded our expectations, although it did feel a bit outdated with the old green carpet look. The free breakfast (not continental) made up for the cold mornings and lots of sausage, scrambled eggs, waffles, hash brown, to grab 2nd and even 3rd plates if you wanted to stack up and skip lunch. There was construction as noted by other guests, and while eating at 8 am, you can heavily hear the construction. Had we been affected by the construction, we would have given a much lower rating. The staff was accommodating, but I felt they could have done better when I walked inside the bar area where they were serving their wine tasting. I did not see any staff members inside the bar area, so I must of waited 30 minutes or so before having to ask myself it I can have their wine tasting. The staff served wine to a couple next to the fireplace, but did not bother to approach me if I wanted wine. I did not even have a wine glass, which should be a red flag and since she did not even bother to say hi, or acknowledge that I may have wanted wine during the wine hours, I gave the star rating 2 stars. I should not have to ask for wine if others are being served nor should I have to walk my self to the bar to ask if they are still serving wine (which clearly they were).

Room Tip: If you can the tower rooms, they are much quieter and less foot traffic. Those rooms are like houses...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron_OC78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for taking a moment out of your busy schedule to provide us with your feedback on our Solvang property. As you know, we take all feedback into great consideration and thank you so much for bringing your experience to our attention. We will speak with the person that was working the Wine bar area that night and will retrained her on how to treat our valued guests. Again, please accept our apologies, as we are working hard on fixing this issue. By the way, we are happy to know that you liked the room. We hope you can reconsider staying with us next time you visit Solvang so that you might be able to see all improvements in customer service and upgrades of the property that we are currently making.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2013

What a great location. Our room was very comfortable and clean. The staff are friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the breakfast There was plenty of food for everyone. This was our first stay At the Wine Valley Inn. We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I really liked the Jr. Suite with a loft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
We are happy to learn that during your first visit to Wine Valley Inn and Cottages, you found our property to your liking. That our entire team members shined for you during your stay and that the customer service that you received during your stay will make you come and stay with us on your next trip to beautiful Solvang. Wine Valley Inn and Suites is conveniently located in the heart of Solvang California, where it only takes less than five minutes to any shop. It is quite a peaceful neighborhood and the hotel is a cute and quaint property. Thank you again for the wonderful review.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whittier
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I have stayed here three times and love the rooms and staff. This time it was going under some renovations since there was a management change but it looks like for the better as the breakfast was upgraded to include "hot" menu items so it satisfied our breakfast needs more than just the typical continental. We did have two issues this time which was no hot water after the first shower however that was fixed immediately. Also our door was sticking so it was not easy to get into. Neither of these items would deter me from staying here. It is our number one choice for Solvang.

Room Tip: The rooms in the tower have cooler architecture and are more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
We are glad to know that you are a returning guest and that this is your third time staying at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. We truly apologize for the issues that you encountered during your recent stay, but as you were aware, we are currently going a remodeling process of the entire property, and thank you for understanding. In the long run these improvements will make all of our guests feel more comfortable and safer. We are glad you noticed the upgrade in our free continental breakfast! Thank you for noticing and for your feedback!

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vegas
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

When making reservations we were never told that the hotel was under construction. Hammers banged from as early as 7 am until sunset. Stairways were blocked as construction workers sat on them empeding any foot traffic. Since my stay was non refundable I was stuck there. Otherwise I would have gone to a more peaceful location. After a seven hour drive I didn't get any sleep. If they would have disclosed their construction plans beforehand it would have been the honest thing to do.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VegasXL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Please accept our most sincere apologies for not notifying you ahead of time of the renovation process that is currently happening at Wine Valley Inn. Please know that the renovation process is for the better of all our present and future guest because by doing such improvements, we all benefit with better access points to the rooms and with a better conditions in every room. We really hope you can reconsidered staying with us once all the renovation process is complete so that you may see all the positive improvement we have made to our already clean property.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We just returned from a 3 night stay at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages. The check-in and check-out process was very easy and the staff who helped us were both very friendly and professional. We found our room to be clean and fresh when we checked in and every day when we returned from our sightseeing. The bed was comfortable and we were satisfied with the room amenities. The breakfast was substantial and we were pleased with the food choices. We did not visit the wine bar so I'm not able to rate that.

The only thing I would change/request is a light in the shower area. This wasn't a problem when showering in the morning/daylight hours. However, if showering at night it's very dark in there.

All in all we would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room towards the back of the property and it was very quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 661Cristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Thank you for taking a minute out of your busy schedule to provide us and future guest with your review on Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. We are glad to hear that our highly trained team members did not have you wait a long time while you were checking-in; that both check-in and check-out went smooth, and that overall, you found our rooms spacious and immaculate. Thank you for letting us know about the small issue you had with the shower light, our maintenance team member worked promptly at fixing that small issue. We hope you will be able to consider staying with us next time you visit beautiful Solvang California.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 11 in Solvang
795 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 11 in Solvang
906 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 11 in Solvang
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 11 in Solvang
253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
3.9 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Valley Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Valley Inn & Cottages

Property: Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Address: 1564 Copenhagen Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2754
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#5 Family Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wine Valley Inn & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Ynez Valley...scenic vistas, vintage charm. Located on an acre of meandering gardens with a Koi pond, the Wine Valley Inn offers old-world hospitality with a variety of accommodations for every taste and budget. The Wine Valley Inn is located in the Danish village of Solvang, within easy walking distance of many wine tasting rooms and within 20 minutes of more than 40 acclaimed wineries & vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Wine Valley Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wine Valley Inn And Cottages - a Broughton Hotel
Wine Valley Inn Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing