We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but wanting - room 202”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Solvang
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Were upgraded to a Junior Suite due to construction issues - an unexpected treat. Big wow factor with the room. Nicely laid out - fireplace, living area, big shower, King bed. We became disappointed with our overall stay experience, however, due to various irritants. These were: ongoing noise throughout the entire first night from the main floor sound system (dealt with following our complaint about it the following morning); a WIFI that is agonizingly and painfully slow (we had to go to other public internet access sites for this since we could get no satisfaction on this in any location in the hotel); a bedside radio that didn't work; no docking system for our mobile devices; far too much light in the room at night because the California shutters allowed too much light in from outside; and, staff that seemed distracted most of the time and not attentive enough overall. The potential for a great experience here exists, but it eluded us.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eastcoasterish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

We would like to extend our thanks for the feedback you have provided for us on our Solvang property. At the same time, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience you encountered during your stay. Please know that we take great pride in having satisfied guest with the service we offer them. It is unfortunate that we were not able to that during your stay. We are working hard on improving those issues you mentioned, and would like to invite you back so that you can see that your first experience at Wine Valley Inn was a of chance.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

744 - 750 of 1,228 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

My mother and had a wonderful experience. We felt as if we had been transported in time to Europe. The staff were friendly, available, considerate, caring and most of all they were professional. I am looking forward to returing soon!

Thanks,

Room Tip: Add the meal and wine package for an extra ordinary time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jirlesa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

We are glad to hear that you and your mom had a wonderful experience while staying at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. We are happy to know we were able to transport you back in time to Europe. Our team members are highly trained at providing all our guest with the best possible service as was the case during your stay. We are looking forward to your next stay at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Pros:
- Walking distance to local shops
- Quick drive to vineyards
- Outside decor charming
- Room set up pretty interesting (we stayed in a junior suite room with two levels - not a loft)
- Breakfast included
- Fireplace in room

Cons:
- LOUD. SO LOUD. Prior to staying here I saw other reviewers talk about the noise and wrote it off thinking that they must just be "old grumps". Well, I am only 27 and let me say I joined the old grump club this weekend. Our room was 212 so we had a lot of foot traffic all times of day. On Saturday at about 2:30am what sounded like a stampede came galloping in screaming, laughing, telling others to wake up. It lasted awhile. An unrelated Yelp review also from this weekend mentioned the same loud group woke them up. Calls were made but that doesn't fix the fact that I was woken up at 2:30/3 and up for another hour due to the noise. 0_o

- Dog Barking - While dog friendly would normally be a plus for me it's not when the walls are thin and the neighbors dogs keeps barking.

- Arrived at 5:30 and was told the room was not ready yet - had to wait another 30 minutes or so....this is 2.5 hours after check in starts.

- Called and asked for a second log for our fireplace and were told "I have a lot of emails to respond to so could you come pick it up yourself from downstairs"


I think had my expectations been lower I would have been happy with everything except the noise levels. The fact that this hotel is labeled a luxury hotel on a few of their profiles is to their detriment because it is not a luxury experience and ends up being a let down.

I would possibly stay here again in the future. (depends on purpose of trip).

I booked our stay about 60 days prior and all the cottages were already reserved.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Please accept our most sincere apologies on your experience at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. Even though we try to maintain a serene environment for our guests to enjoy, we cannot control how those guests are going to behave, but a quick call to our front desk could have easily solved this rowdy crowd, which brings me to your comment about the front desk personnel. The comment that was given to you when you called our front desk is not acceptable. This comment given to you does not show the professionalism we have to the needs of our guest. I will talk personally with the team member that worked that night, and will retrain such team member so that this never occurs again. Please accept our apologize for the inconvenience that you experience during your stay at Wine Valley. We hope you can give us another opportunity at staying at our property.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We are sorry to say that we were not happy with our room. We were told checkin was at 3p. We arrived around 4p and were told our room was not ready; that our room was on the 3rd floor and there was an elevator to the 2nd floor but that we had to climb to the third floor. Since no other rooms were available we had no choice but to accept. My husband is a dialysis patient so climbing was not an easy thing. We went and did other things while waiting for our room to become available. When we returned from our touring, we were given 3 keys. When we got to the 3rd floor, we had trouble with the keys not working. After much ado, we found one that worked. Then when we got into our room, we couldn't open the armoire because there were no handles on the armoire door. The room, although neat, smelled old. The next morning, when I went to take a shower, the water was cold. The water in the sink was very slow in draining. I just think that if we are going to pay $249 for a room, that it should all be in working order. The send night of our stay, when we tried to get into the room, the keys did not work so we had to call down to the desk for someone to come and open the door. The nice things to say are that your staff were very nice and the breakfast was very good. We can see that you are working on updating your hotel and hope that this critique is helpful. This was the first time in a long time that my husband and I could take a mini-vacation, and sorry to say that our experience was not up to par, staying at your hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Dorita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

We would like to thank you for taking a minute out of your busy schedule to provide us with your feedback. All feedback is greatly appreciated as it will helps us improve those areas where our valued guests see a need for improvement. All your input has been brought up to our maintenance team members and they will work hard on improving on those areas you have mentioned. Please provide us with another opportunity so you can see all the improvements we have made since your last stay.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

The property is well located, nicely maintained and staffed by friendly and very helpful personnel. The breakfast is included and very good (although I would like other jam flavor than strawberry). For the first time since we've stayed here they started allowing pets. There was a dog in the next room that was noisy most of the day and night - not pleasant.

Room Tip: The room with the duralog burning fireplaces are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Thank you for providing us with the opportunity to serve you while at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. We are happy to hear that you liked our property and at the same time, we are happy to know that you are a returning guest. As you already know, we now accept pets at our property, and please accept our apologies regarding the experienced you had with the neighboring room. As always we try to maintain a hospitable ambiance for our guests, but we cannot control how a pet is going to behave. What we can do is to try to tell the neighboring guest about the noise level of his pet, that is why a quick call to the front desk could have alleviated a few of the noise that was coming from the neighboring room. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

The rooms were large; however, some of the furniture was old and worn as was the carpet. The staff was very helpful and upgraded our rooms for a birthday that we were celebrating. We would stay at this place in the future

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Thank you for providing us with your feedback on your recent stay at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages, which is located in the beautiful city of Solvang. We truly value all your feedback and we will be working promptly at fixing the issues you mentioned regarding the carpet in the room you were provided. We hope that the small issues you encountered in the room that you were upgraded to did not tampered your birthday celebration.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This Inn is staffed by some of the friendliest people I have met in a long time. Very helpful with directions for our trip and great service. The room was very good with quality beds for a good rest. The breakfast was excellent and the property very well kept. Would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcbuchanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

We would like to thank you for taking a moment of your time to provide us and future guests with your feedback on our Solvang property. We also thank you for the wonderful comments you have about our front desk team members. We are also glad that you enjoyed our free complimentary breakfast, and as you were able to see, we do offer a hot breakfast every morning. We also offer free wireless connections in every room and parking is also free. Thank you again for the wonderful comments and we hope to see you next time you visit Solvang California.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 11 in Solvang
817 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#2 of 11 in Solvang
920 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#3 of 11 in Solvang
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 11 in Solvang
265 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
3.9 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Valley Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Valley Inn & Cottages

Address: 1564 Copenhagen Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2754
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#5 Family Hotel in Solvang
Price Range: £91 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wine Valley Inn & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Ynez Valley...scenic vistas, vintage charm. Located on an acre of meandering gardens with a Koi pond, the Wine Valley Inn offers old-world hospitality with a variety of accommodations for every taste and budget. The Wine Valley Inn is located in the Danish village of Solvang, within easy walking distance of many wine tasting rooms and within 20 minutes of more than 40 acclaimed wineries & vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wine Valley Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wine Valley Inn And Cottages - a Broughton Hotel
Wine Valley Inn Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing