We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brought the dog along”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Mission Viejo, CA
Level Contributor
99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Brought the dog along”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We spent two nights at the Wine Valley Inn this past week. When we booked we noticed that they accommodate pets, so we brought our dog along. It saved us boarding him and spending a couple hundred dollars (they charged $50 for the pet stay, which is reasonable). We found many of the shops in town welcomed the dog inside, which was a nice surprise.

The hotel seemed to put all the people with dogs in one building off to the side of cottages, which was fine.

The room was clean and had amenities like a refrigerator, safe, coffee machine. Also a very nice selection of soaps, shampoo, etc.

Breakfast was in the main building with very generous hours of 7 am to 10:30 am every day. Food was plentiful and tasty.

Nightly rate was great for a perfect location. Plenty of parking in front and behind the hotel.

Will be back!

Room Tip: If you bring a pet along, don't expect to be in the special rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MVCA0Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Thank you for providing us with your feedback on your recent visit to Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. Yes, our property is pet-friendly as we know that for some of us, our pets are part of our immediate family. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our ample breakfast options. Our rooms are also very spacious and are always in immaculate condition as our housekeeping team do a great job with the cleaning process. Thank you once more for your wonderful feedback and we will be waiting for your next visit to Wine Valley Inn and Cottages.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    423
    229
    114
    58
See reviews for
239
627
31
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Just returned from a quick trip to Solvang with friends. We selected Wine Valley from the internet. Hotel staff Frances and Sandra were excellent. We had a couple of hours to kill after check-out time before our transportation arrived. I asked if we could store our bags and wait in the warm and toasty guest relaxation area. They did me one better and offered to open a unoccupied room for our waiting pleasure. Now that is customer service that's difficult to beat. Beautiful Old World charm backed by contemporary New World service!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
We are extremely happy to hear of the wonderful experience you encountered while at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. Thank you for the magnificent comments you have regarding our team members. We hope you were able to enjoy our free complimentary hot breakfast, Wi-Fi and parking. As you were able to see, our rooms are spacious and have a nicely stocked honor bar and again the great service that our team members provide is what makes us the pride of Solvang. We hope you can stay with us next time you visit Solvang.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilo
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Our first visit to Solvang. The property is located in the heart of Solvang, convenient walking distance to the numerous shops and restaurants in town. Check in experience was straightforward. Our room was on the ground level on the back side of the property. On-site parking was free.

The room was clean, comfortable and nicely appointed. Nice honors bar in the room. Our room was large enough to have a small sitting area to relax and read. There was a passage door to the next room. The walls are not completely sound proof. Only one minor annoyance was the closet was way too small.

There was nightly wine and cheese social opportunity. Very quaint sitting area in front of a fireplace. Complimentary breakfast was ample and featured fresh hot entrees, not mere microwaved pastry and cold cereal.

Had an enjoyable two-night stay and would recommend this hotel. Might be a good idea to call ahead and check on room details as it is apparent that the rooms are of different sizes and layout.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IslandTraveler777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you so much for deciding to stay at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages on your first visit to Solvang California. We are glad that you liked our spacious, clean and well appointed rooms. As you were able to experience during your stay, Wine Valley offers different variety room types to all its guests. We also offer free Wi-Fi, parking and hot breakfast. Our customer service is awesome, as we have very friendly team members who are highly trained with customer service. Thank you again for the wonderful comments and we hope to see you next time you visit the Solvang area.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I booked an overnight stay for my parents on Friday December 13, 2013 as they were going to an event near by that evening. They explained to me their horrible experience and I could not just let this go. I am posting this review not only on this site but on as many as possible in order to prevent anyone else from wasting their money on this place.

My parents explained to me that after arriving at the hotel the check in was a complete disaster with the front desk clerk not having a handle on the guests. She was completely confused and even though a manager was close by she/he did not step in to help and allowed her to continue to sink. She made a mistake with checking in a couple by giving them each a room when they only booked one. She then just handed my parents the spare key and informed them it was on the third floor. Not only was the room a double when I booked them a king chateau room listed as on the second floor but the elevator was broken and they had to climb three flights when one of my parents isn't able to easily make it up stairs due to a hip problem. Not wanting to waste any time with the already disastrous front desk they trekked up. had they been told it was on the third floor AND that the elevator was broken while at the front desk they would have requested another room.

They were unable to figure out the heating situation and were only given two scraps of wood for their "roaring fireplace". They called multiple times to the front desk in order to get some help to turn on the heat or get more wood but no one ever answered or returned the messages left on the voicemail. My mother has an arthritic condition which is made worse by the cold. She informed me that it was so cold she could not sleep and could not reach the front desk, rather than climb down the stairs and take the chance that no one would be available thus making the trip up and down the steps pointless and painful she braved the cold, slept two hours and took an extra hot shower in order to reduce her arthritis pain. When they were checking out they spoke to a new front desk clerk and explained to them their horrible experience to which she said "oh yeah, that girl is new. She's only been here 6 months". Um, 6 months is plenty of time for a learning curve in customer service and is not an excuse. They were told that the hotel would mail them a $60 hotel credit for a future stay. Not being a confrontation person my mom did not make any additional request.

After their horrible experience why in the world would they ever return? This $60 credit that still has not arrived is a complete waste because they will not spend one single cent at this place ever again. I am going to call and call and call until they agree to either refund what they paid or be given a complimentary second stay to do over this one. Don't expect much from this place, its clear they don't know what they're doing.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Krystal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We have been coming here for the last 5 years, at least once a year and absolutely love this place! It's quaint, recently remodeled and an exceptional value. Breakfast is a nice inclusion to the rate and the evening wine tasting is always nice as well. I have always encountered super friendly staff and recommend this place to everyone headed up to the Solvang area. Rooms for every price point and traveler. Location is ideal.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shellyourbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
We are glad to hear that you are returning guest. That you have been doing this for the past five years and would like to thank you for your loyalty to Wine Valley Inn. Yes, currently, we are undergoing small remodeling in order to provide a better, cleaner ambiance for all our guests. Our free breakfast includes scrambled eggs, waffles, sausages, oatmeal, and many more. We hope that you are able to take full advantage of our free Wi-Fi, and parking. Again, our room rates are really affordable and our family-friendly hotel is located at the heart of Solvang California. We will be waiting for your visit on your next trip to Solvang.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden Grove, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I was very pleased with my stay at WineValley Inn. My experience was amazing since my first call to the Inn. I talked to Frances, she was very helpful with checking availaility, prices, promotions, packages and all the information I needed for my reservation. She made me feel comfortable enough and I went ahead and made my reservation.

I loved the location, I totaly enjoyed my stay at Wine Valley Inn. I will return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 556Jose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
We are extremely joyful reading the awesome review you have regarding Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. Thank you for the wonderful comments you have about our front desk team members. All of our team members are highly trained at providing an absolute best customer service, which we are glad you had during the process of making your reservation. We hope you took advantage of our hot complimentary breakfast, which is composed of scrambled eggs, sausages, hash-brown, freshly squeezed orange juice, coffee, tea, hot chocolate and many more breakfast related items. We hope you will be able to stay with us next time you visit the Solvang area, and thank you for feedback.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Overall the hotel was pretty quaint and charming. The room itself was adequate, the beds much more comfortable than the more expensive hotel we stayed in the night prior. The carpeting looked pretty cashed and the bathroom was small. My main complaint is that at 6'3" the showerhead was somewhere between my chest and belly button (Danes are supposed to be tall, not little people). It is two weeks before Christmas so the whole town is done up for the holidays but this place is a bit late in the game, workers putting up decorations while we stayed and there was some terrible grinding construction going on for which they handed out flyers when we checked in (would have been nice to indicate this at the time of booking). That being said, the room was quiet at night.

We arrived just in time for "wine hour" but were disappointed that this actually meant you could purchase wines in a room off the lobby. All the other hotels on our stay had complimentary wine in the lobby in evenings and one even stuck an extra bottle in our room for free. They could at the very least give you a welcome glass upon arrival. The "manager's special" we booked included vouchers for wine tasting... these turned out to be two for one which still was $10-15 at the local places... I suggest people head up to Paso Robles area as the tastings there are not only on the vineyard itself but are complimentary for 3-5 wines and the awesome B&B we stayed at in Cayucos (On the Beach) gave actual vouchers for free or deluxe wine tastings that were far superior. If you do wine tastings in Solvang, I highly recommend Calilove, good wine and a great owner/wine maker (Luke) made things very enjoyable.

In summary, this is not the Ritz or even close but at least it is not a tourist trap like some of the other hotels and is in a great location to enjoy the town of Solvang.

Room Tip: The cottages look way more accommodating than the normal rooms but I bet they are a lot more expensi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Solvang California. We are glad you had a relaxing stay at Wine Valley and that you found our beds to your liking.We hope you were able to enjoy our free Wi-Fi, parking and complimentary hot breakfast, and we are happy to know that our team members shined for you during your stay. As you were able to see, we are currently undergoing a remodeling process, that in the long run will improve the condition of our entire property to all of our valued guest. Thank you again for the feedback you have on Wine Valley Inn and Cottages.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
3.9 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Valley Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Valley Inn & Cottages

Property: Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Address: 1564 Copenhagen Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2754
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#5 Family Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wine Valley Inn & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Ynez Valley...scenic vistas, vintage charm. Located on an acre of meandering gardens with a Koi pond, the Wine Valley Inn offers old-world hospitality with a variety of accommodations for every taste and budget. The Wine Valley Inn is located in the Danish village of Solvang, within easy walking distance of many wine tasting rooms and within 20 minutes of more than 40 acclaimed wineries & vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Wine Valley Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wine Valley Inn And Cottages - a Broughton Hotel
Wine Valley Inn Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing