We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good location but...”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Wine Valley Inn between Christmas and New Year’s. Overall, the stay was acceptable but we both felt we would try another hotel/inn the next time we are in Solvang.

As others have stated, the layout of this hotel is a bit quirky but seems to work. The location is very convenient to most of downtown Solvang and it is right around the corner from a great restaurant called the Fresco Valley Café. We stayed in a Tower Deluxe King room on the second floor, which turned out to be in the back of the property. There is an elevator in an outside hallway but it didn’t go up to our side of the hotel. We had to walk up stairs from the 1st floor, which wasn’t that big a deal but to some it might be a problem.

Our room was large enough with a king bed but there was only an armoire (which had small knobs and was difficult to open) with minimal drawer space. There was only one chair but enough space for a sofa and small table would have easily fit. Basically, we had to live out of our suitcases and hang up a few items – a dresser would have been nice. A plus was a half size refrigerator, a gas fireplace, and a large in room safe.

The bathroom was average size with a large shower but again there wasn’t much storage space. There was a large sink that was just a sink with not much counter space – a bit strange as it curved down at a slight angle to the middle. Items placed on the edge would roll down into the sink. Maybe they were trying to “upscale” the bathroom but this feature didn’t seem to work very well. A shelf would help here.

Breakfast was up to the standards of most Hampton Inn/Residence Inn type morning offerings and the eating area was nice enough and well tended. There is a nice lobby area and they did sell wine by the glass each evening but we were always out during the “happy hour” at other places so didn’t partake. When we checked in we did notice people sitting in the courtyard drinking their glasses of wine and they seemed to be enjoying this area. An aside here though is that you are in the “Sideways” wine region so great wine is all over the place (including many tasting rooms in town). Buy your own bottle and enjoy it in your room (the hotel provided wine glasses and a cork screw) or on the patios of the hotel.

Our two biggest negatives were the following: Thin walls and ceilings - there was a family stomping around above us loudly each morning and night. I think this was mentioned in previous reviews. Secondly, this hotel allowed smoking in the hotel rooms. There were signs around the hotel even stating (warning?) this. Most hotels we have stayed in at least have non-smoking rooms but apparently not at the Wine Valley Inn.

Our AAA rate was acceptable for our stay but in hindsight we might have spent a bit more to stay at Hotel Corque or one of the other higher rated (at least on trip advisor) area hotels.

Room Tip: If you need an elevator to access your 2nd story room, advise the front desk staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATC K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for providing us and future guests with a nicely detailed review on our property and thank you for deciding to stay with us during your Christmas/New Years celebration. Yes, we are centrally located in the heart of Solvang. We are walking distance to most shops and restaurants. Wine Valley Inn and Cottages is currently undergoing some renovation process, and it will take a few weeks for all the renovation process to be completed. The property is divided into different areas, the area/room that was provided to you was in the quiet area of the hotel, but it is unfortunate to hear that you had noisy neighbors during your stay; we apologize for this. All our rooms are spacious and super clean. We offer free Wi-Fi, parking and continental breakfast, which we glad to hear you enjoyed. Since your fist experience at our property was semi-satisfactory, we hope you can provide us with another opportunity at showing your the your first experience was a fluke. Thank you again for the feedback and we hope to see you on your next visit to Solvang.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    423
    231
    115
    59
See reviews for
241
629
31
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The Wine Valley Inn is off the main road in Solvang and within walking distance of the downtown. Rooms were sufficient and at a decent value for the money, and breakfast was free and good. Happy hour was advertised on check-in, but be aware that this is offered at an additional price.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for deciding to stay at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages on your recent visit to Solvang California. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our property and that the rooms were to your liking. Wine Valley Inn and Cottages is located in the heart of Solvang. We are walking distance to many shops, restaurants and wineries. We also serve full hot breakfast, which include oatmeal, fresh fruits, scrambled eggs, waffles, cereal, yogurt and many other breakfast items. We hope you will be able to stay with us on your next visit to beautiful Solvang.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Draper, Utah
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We have enjoyed the Wine Valley Inn property on three different occasions. We always look forward to returning! This time we stayed in the Tower Room. The ambiance is old world, but the amenities are quite modern. The buffet breakfast was delicious and even though the grounds are undergoing an overhaul right now, we look forward to returning when the remodel is complete. Another plus is the Inn's location. While the Inn is right next to the town's walking district, it sits back off the main street enough to remain relatively quiet. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walela64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
We are really happy to hear that your are a returning guest. That you have stay with us on several occasions and that every stay has been one of enjoyment and relaxation. As you were able to see on your recent stay, we are undergoing a few renovation processes, which we hope will be done in a few weeks. We ask for your kind patience as the renovation process will help all of us tremendously, as we will have better access point to all the rooms. The location of our property is ideal if you want to go for a walk in the morning as most shop and stores and within walking distance to Wine Valley. We will be waiting to see you on your next visit to Solvang.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Been there before. Unique rooms, not the usual hum drum looking place. Great indoor/outdoor fireplace, good breakfast, very accommodating and friendly. I always like a shower that's big enough for two!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bnewborn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for providing us with your feedback on your recent stay Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. We are happy to read that you are a returning guest, and that you fully enjoyed our free and hot continental breakfast. We hope you are taking advantage of our free Wi-Fi and we hope you are also partaking of our happy hour, that when compared to the happy hour of other hotels, is extremely cheap. Our team members are highly trained at providing the best customer service and we are glad to hear that all the hard training is paying off. Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We hope to see you next time to visit beautiful Solvang.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The hotel is in a good location and it was nice to walk around the town. The reception was very warm and welcoming. We had the queen chateau room, and the layout of the room is very cozy and cute. However, the walls were very thin. We can hear our neighbors coughing and talking. The floor creaked in our room. Our room was on the second floor. Around 11PM, the neighbor above us paced constantly for an hour. At midnight, we could not sleep, and knocked on the ceiling. I think he/she got the hint and stopped pacing. Thus, for our entire stay, we were whispering and tip-toeing in our room to avoid annoying our neighbors.

Our sons' room was a double room on the second floor in a different building. The floor seems to be better constructed, and we did not hear any creaking. If we stayed here again, we would book the double room for ourselves.

Room Tip: Choose the double room if you care about your privacy and the quality of your sleep. Do not choose t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoUET11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for taking a minute out of your busy schedule to provide us and future guest with your feedback on your stay at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. We are glad to hear that you liked our spacious and clean room, but we apologize for the inconvenience caused to you due to the thin walls of some rooms. Please let us know what area of the property you would like to stay on your next visit to Wine Valley so that you may have a better/quieter stay. We hope you were able to enjoy our free continental breakfast, parking and Wi-Fi. And again, we will be waiting to see you soon.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Dimas, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This was my first stay at Wine Valley Inn and I was very pleased. The staff is very friendly and always helpful! The rooms are spacious and clean, and have every convenience. Each is a little different, not a boring line of cooky cutter rooms. Some of our family stayed in one of the darling little secluded cottages which was large with a bigger fireplace and private jacuzzi.
A full breakfast was provided daily, and a cozy lounge with a wine bar in the evening. There are outdoor chairs and tables throughout the complex, and outdoor fireplaces in the courtyard.
Frances, Sandy and all other personnel made us feel like we were family! We will definitely return to this charming Inn. A short walk to shops and restaurants and a darling horse drawn trolley, too.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
We are delighted to hear of the amazing stay you and your family had while staying at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages during the New Years celebration. As you were able to see, we have rooms of all type for everyone's taste. Our full line of hot continental breakfast is fully stocked with items such as sausage, waffles, oatmeal, eggs, hashbrowns, fresh fruit, coffee, hot chocolate and many more items. We also offer free Wi-Fi and parking and are also located walking distance to most attraction places, shops and bakeries. Thank you again for the wonderful comments about our Solvang property.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We had one of the less expensive rooms, but still had a lovely little view. lt was in a nice location and would stay again, but make sure you get to breakfast by 8:30 as ran out of waffles and potatoes and didn't replenish, which was annoying! Also, if you like soft pillows, bring your own!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MountainAngel98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for providing us with you feedback on your stay at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. We are glad you enjoyed our rooms and the price of these rooms. Thank you for letting us know about the issue you had with the breakfast running out. This should never happen as we are always fully stocked with the breakfast supplies. I will talk to higher management so this does not occur again. Regarding the pillows, a quick call to the front desk could have provided you with new pillows. We hope you can reconsider staying with us next time you are in the Solvang area.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
774 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
888 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
243 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
3.9 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Valley Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Valley Inn & Cottages

Property: Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Address: 1564 Copenhagen Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2754
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#5 Family Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wine Valley Inn & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Ynez Valley...scenic vistas, vintage charm. Located on an acre of meandering gardens with a Koi pond, the Wine Valley Inn offers old-world hospitality with a variety of accommodations for every taste and budget. The Wine Valley Inn is located in the Danish village of Solvang, within easy walking distance of many wine tasting rooms and within 20 minutes of more than 40 acclaimed wineries & vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Wine Valley Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wine Valley Inn And Cottages - a Broughton Hotel
Wine Valley Inn Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing