We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid choice in Solvang”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Solid choice in Solvang”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Solvang has changed so much over the years - gone from Danish patries to wine. Their are so many choices of accommodation as well. This place is in a good location. The room was big and clean. The price was fine - what you would expect to pay in Solvang. The staff were completely friendly. There was even a wine hour I think, but we didn't go to it. Nothing wrong with this place at all in our opinion, but nothing to write home about either. We have stayed at other places in Solvang and would probably choose those over this one just because they're a better bargain, but not because we didn't enjoy staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldsRoyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for taking a minute out of your busy schedule to provide us with your feedback on Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. We are glad to hear that you really liked our spacious and always clean rooms and that the service that was provided to you was friendly and courteous. We hope you were able to enjoy our free complimentary hot breakfast and that our fast Wi-Fi was a delight. The Wine Valley Inn and Cottages is located at the heart of Solvang, so walking to any store, shop or restaurant should take you no more than five minutes. Thank you again for the review.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    423
    231
    115
    59
See reviews for
241
629
31
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Simi V
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Comfortable, clean room. Very nice location with easy access and good walking distance to all shops. Enjoyed the included breakfast which had a good variety. Especially appreciated the fresh fruit. Sandy at the front desk was very helpful and cordial as were all of the employees we encountered. We would definitely book here for another getaway. We took the wine vineyard picnic tour and would highly recommend it.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
We are glad to hear that we could be your getaway place during your recent visit to the beautiful city of Solvang. And we are also glad to hear that you found our spacious rooms to be comfortable and clean. We do take great pride in the cleanliness of our property and your feedback brings us, and lets us know that we are doing a excellent job in that aspect of our Solvang property. As you were able to see, our complimentary breakfast, which is a full hot breakfast consist of oatmeal, cereal, waffles, sausage, eggs, yogurt, danishes, freshly brewed coffee, hot chocolate and tea among others items. Thank you for the wonderful comments you have about our team members, and we hope that on your next visit to Solvang, you will decide to stay at our property once more.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Our trip was awesome! this was are third time staying at Wine Valley. Each time we have had a different room. This time we had a cottage and It will be hard to go back to any other room. Room 4 is incredible! We had our food delivered...we did not want to leave the room.
The staff, Correna (spelling?) in particular was great. We'll be back soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ravelarde v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
We are glad to hear that you are a repeat guest and that on your most recent visit to Wine Valley Inn and Cottages, you fell in love with one of our cottages, to be more exact, cottage number four. It also brings us such a joy to hear that during your every stay, our front desk team members shined for you; that our team members go above and beyond to assist you with any request you may need. We will be waiting for your fifth visit to Wine Valley Inn and Cottages.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

This is an attractive hotel in a good location, with pleasant enough rooms and an pleasing courtyard garden. And they provide an adequate breakfast. But the business shows clear signs of uninspired management. After a long drive, guests do not appreciate being sent away and made to line up repeatedly after 3pm, because their rooms aren't ready. Having late checkout guests is understandable, as is not having rooms ready, but why not check in guests anyway and keep their bags for them, offer them coffee or wine, but don't sent them wandering around town! Another sign of managerial failure is the numerous minor repairs that need doing. It looks like communication between management and staff is poor. A manager who cares about his/her hotel and staff could make this a great place to stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Reasonable_Fellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for providing us with your review on our property. Please apologize us for the inconvenience of having you wait while your room was cleaned. It is unfortunate to hear that you were sent away from the hotel while your specific room was cleaned. Again, we apologize. We have discussed the tardiness with which rooms are been cleaned and given to guest. This is something that should never happened as we do promise all our guests a check-in time of 3:00PM. We hope you were able to enjoy your stay at our property; that our continental breakfast was to your liking and that the location of the property was what made you stay at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We had a Living Social deal which included a wine basket and 2 for 1 wine tasting locally. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and comfortable. I do wish the windows opened as it was warm in the room even on a winters day. We did turn on the air conditioner to help us sleep. Too bad we could not use the fireplace as it would have made the ambiance more enjoyable. We did not understand why the door opened on the side toward the railing at the end of the walk as it made it difficult to enter the room especially with luggage. Had the door opened the opposite direction would have made much more sense. Avoid parking in the rear as the birds can make quite a mess of the car you are traveling in. Enjoy the complimentary cheese and crackers and the price for a glass of wine is about average. The complimentary breakfast included scrambled eggs, sausage, hash browns, cereal, milk, coffee orange juice, fresh fruit, and bread for toast, I am certain I have not included all that was available. All in all, a nice property. We will return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19Steven56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA JOLLA
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Clean room, huge comfy bed, clean bathtub that I actually went in every night with my toddler, amazing breakfast, beautiful garden and grounds, super friendly and hardworking staff (always cleaning something), and big rooms! My toddler just loved cruising around and I loved sitting in the courtyard with a glass of wine in the sun. Very impressed for such a great price! Id definitely stay here again and again. We are looking into renting one of the cottages.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KRISTA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We bought a Living Social deal which was a great value. The main part of the hotel is very cute, the room we stayed in was interesting....it felt like getting up to Sleeping Beauty's room. Lots of stairways, narrow walkways and finally up to a tiny little room on the roof level. The room was very comfortable, but the pillows were inconsistent, the TV outdated and the towel rack was crooked. Little things that stuck out at me (someone who works in a hotel) that might not have bothered someone else.

The staff at the front desk was extremely nice and cordial, it is located in the heart of Solvang and there is a great tasting room directly next door with outstanding wines so the location was awesome.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clasiebroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for taking a minute out of your busy schedule to provide us and future guest with your feedback on your recent stay at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. We are happy to read of the kind comment you have about our room and how you compared it to Sleeping Beauty's room. As you were able to see for yourself, our rooms are spacious and are always kept clean by our housekeeping team members. We would like to ask you for a bit a patience as we are beginning to start the remodeling process here at our Solvang property, and the few issues that you were able to perceived will be fixed, as is the case with the outdated televisions. We hope that on your next stay at Wine Valley Inn, all our remodeling process will be finished so that you might enjoy fully your stay at our property.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
774 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
888 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
243 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
3.9 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Valley Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Valley Inn & Cottages

Property: Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Address: 1564 Copenhagen Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2754
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#5 Family Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wine Valley Inn & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Ynez Valley...scenic vistas, vintage charm. Located on an acre of meandering gardens with a Koi pond, the Wine Valley Inn offers old-world hospitality with a variety of accommodations for every taste and budget. The Wine Valley Inn is located in the Danish village of Solvang, within easy walking distance of many wine tasting rooms and within 20 minutes of more than 40 acclaimed wineries & vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Wine Valley Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wine Valley Inn And Cottages - a Broughton Hotel
Wine Valley Inn Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing