We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Old World Environment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
1 review
“Comfortable Old World Environment”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

A beautiful setting and a very friendly staff. We especially enjoyed the evening wine and cheese with Michelle. The weather was great and we sat outside and drank our wine while watching the other travellers walk by.

Room Tip: Chateau rooms are the economy rooms, with the lofts giving some unusual layouts. The Village has ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerald c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for providing us with your first TripAdvisor review. We greatly appreciate your time while describing how you and company liked our rooms, customer service and wine tasting we offer here at the Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. At the same time, it is great to know that our customer service both at the Wine Bar and front desk was exceptional. As you were able to see during your stay, we do take great care with our property and for that reason you were able to see that we do take great care of our facility and are proud to have such a well cared property. We hope you will be able to stay with us on your next trip to Solvang.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    423
    229
    114
    58
See reviews for
239
627
31
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We really like staying here. Location is wonderful, it's a charming inn. We loved the breakfast served in the morning (wonderful lady taking care of everything). Our only concerns were the thin walls between rooms (could hear nose blowing, foot stomping from above, and voices clearly. We were in room 208 and had bright lights from outside our room beaming in all night-very bright! We had to pin up our bedspread to try and block some of it (however the window in this room is about 12 feet high). Beautiful window during the day time though. Other than those issues, we love staying here.

Room Tip: Great lot for parking in the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for providing us and future readers with your feedback on your recent experience here at the Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. We are glad to hear that you liked our room and the ambiance of our property. As you saw during your stay we are conveniently located to most attraction places, shops, restaurants and bakeries. We do offer free Wi-Fi, parking and hot breakfast every morning. Our breakfast is composed of scrambled eggs, waffles, sausage, yogurt, freshly brewed coffee, orange juice, and also freshly baked danishes which we buy from our local bakery. Thank you again for the wonderful review and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Solvang California.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This hotel was located centrally, The room was bright and open and the staff was very friendly.The wine and cheese was very nice and Michelle who was the friendly person serving us was very energetic and outgoing. I have only been here before for wine tasting but never stayed here but I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for taking a minute our of your busy schedule to provide us and future guests with your first TripAdvisor review. We are glad to hear that you liked your stay at our property as it is centrally located in the City of Solvang. Thank you for the wonderful comments you have regarding our awesome team member that works the wine area. We hope that this won't be your first time staying at Wine Valley, and therefore we hope to see you on your next visit to Wine Valley Inn and Cottages.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We had 2 different rooms for our stay. The good: The first room (216) was a large room with a king bed, fireplace, and sitting area. The bad: stains on carpet, I killed 5 fruit flies, and the bathroom looked like it was in the middle of being painted... Brownish walls with green paint along the bottom... Very strange. We actually liked the 2nd room better (33). It was seemed newer than the previous room, but it was smaller, but spacious enough. We booked the escape package and got a nice basket of goodies, but we did have to ask for it. The one complaint about this room was the noise from the adjoining room and the parking in front of the room. Nevertheless, we enjoyed our stay. We loved that we could walk everywhere and we did!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Romad79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
We are glad to hear that you chose to stay at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages largely because everything is walking distance for this property. And at the same time, would like to thank you for the feedback you have regarding some of our rooms. We do take into great consideration all feedback that is brought forth by our guests, as all feedback positive or negative helps the hotel greatly. But what helps us the most is the feedback which informs us of the things that we need to improve such as the comments you have mentioned above. We will look into improving the conditions of our rooms especially the paint issues you found with one of the rooms that was given to you. Thank you again for the feedback and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Solvang.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2014

When my wife & I showed up on Tuesday 4/15/2014 for our reserved stay ,as soon as I walked in the front office I said ,
Im home ,to the staff & and for good reason.My wife & I have been coming here for some time now & The allure of the charming place & Copenhagen drives cozy picturesque setting is charming within itself,A bit of old school Copenhagen is everywhere in the vicinity,but Wine valley Inn & cottages says more than that to us & in spades.Were treated like family ,by the staff,Jennifer & Sandy do & outstanding job to make sure your pillow is fluffed ,if you know what I mean .Jennifer & Sandy don't treat us like quest,they treat us & others like family.I like that.Its not a job to them ,its a pleasure to make sure our stay is pleasureable.Thank you all so much for another great stay,& well see yous in june .Thanks Jennifer & Sandy I really mean it!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DominickToscano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank for providing us with such a wonderfully detailed review on your recent stay at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. We are extremely glad to hear that you are a returning guest and that during your every visit you are treated like family by our team members. We hope to and your family take advantage of our hot breakfast, and Wi-Fi. As you are already aware, all our rooms are spacious and are always well kept by our housekeeping team members. We will joyfully be waiting for your next visit to Solvang.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Segundo, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We always stay in Wine Valley Inn when visiting Solvang. Our room was just really cute and quiet! Receptionist staff always friendly...However, the queen bed mattress needs to be replaced. It time!!!
Breakfast as always was perfect with hot meals and choices.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for been a continuous guest to Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. And thank you for the great comments you have regarding our spacious and always immaculate rooms. As you were able to see during stay, we do offer several types of rooms here at the Wine Valley; rooms for families, single person and couples. We are walking distance to many places that the city of Solvang offers and are always attentive to our guest needs. We will look into replacing the bed you have mentioned. And we hope to see you once more at Wine Valley Inn on your next visit to Solvang.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Beautiful rooms (love the fireplace), but what rocks is the service: Vanessa and Corenna, thanks so much for being so helpful and accommodating!! Coastal drivers FYI: this place will take you half an hour off course. Pretty drive, but good to know

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SurfGirl310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to provide us and future readers detailing the great service that was provided to your by our fabulous front desk team members. It always brings us great joy to hear of the great service that our guest are offered every time they stay at our property. Please know that we do offer an ample selection of hot and free complimentary breakfast, Wi-Fi service and best of all, we are open twenty four hours a day so that anything that you might need during the night can be attended to in a speedy manner. We hope you will be able to stay with us again on your next visit to Solvang California.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
3.9 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Valley Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Valley Inn & Cottages

Property: Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Address: 1564 Copenhagen Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2754
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#5 Family Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wine Valley Inn & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Ynez Valley...scenic vistas, vintage charm. Located on an acre of meandering gardens with a Koi pond, the Wine Valley Inn offers old-world hospitality with a variety of accommodations for every taste and budget. The Wine Valley Inn is located in the Danish village of Solvang, within easy walking distance of many wine tasting rooms and within 20 minutes of more than 40 acclaimed wineries & vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wine Valley Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wine Valley Inn And Cottages - a Broughton Hotel
Wine Valley Inn Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing