We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retirement vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Retirement vacation!”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We've been staying in this area for over twenty years, the Wine Valley Inn is one of our favorites. The rooms are great, breakfast is more than satisfying but our favorite part of the stay is the wine bar! We met Michelle several years ago and she is gracious, knowledgeable about the area and so much fun to hang out with. We always make time on our visits to see her whether we're in the area or not. She is a great part of the Wine Valley Inn.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for been such a loyal guest to the Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. We are amazed to hear that you have been coming and staying at the Wine Valley Inn and Cottages for the past twenty years. And that one of the main reasons you come to stay at our Solvang property is the magnificent service that is provided to you by our wine receptionist. Thank you for the wonderful comments and we will be awaiting your next visit to Wine Valley Inn and Cottages.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    423
    231
    115
    59
See reviews for
241
629
31
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This is a dog friendly hotel and we are not but it was not a problem at all. Centrally located with friendly staff.Received some two for one wine tasting to use in town. It is nice to see businesses returning to Solvang. Stay includes breakfast, bed was comfortable and room was quite..We will be back.

Room Tip: Traveled with another couple and we both had clean quite rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for giving us a try and staying at our dog-friendly Solvang property. Even though our property is pet-friendly, we maintain all of our rooms in optimal condition, and always up-to-date. We also provide our guest with free Wi-Fi, parking and complimentary continental breakfast. Yes, we are centrally located in the city of Solvang, so walking to any shop, restaurant or bakery will only take minutes. Our team members always provide our guest with exceptional customer service and we are happy to hear that this was the case during your stay. We will be waiting to see you again on your next trip to Solvang California.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We have stayed at the Wine Valley Inn on numerous occasions. We love the staff, the rooms and the lovely environment. But the star of the show is Michelle, who hosts the happy hour wine bar. She is amazing and always makes us feel so welcome and loved! Michelle is such a fabulous host and she echoes what this establishment stands for: Hospitality at its finest. Thank you Michelle and the rest of the team, for a fantastic time as always. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Room Tip: The Village King is always our favorite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your very first review on TripAdvisor. We are happy to know that we are the first property you have reviewed. And thank you for been a repeat guest to Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. As you might be already aware we do provide all our guests with free Wi-Fi, parking and complimentary breakfast, which is composed of scrambled eggs, sausage, waffle, freshly baked danishes, yogurt, coffee, orange juice and many more things. Our team members do a wonderful job with the customer service and so do our wine receptionist. Thank you for the wonderful comments you have on our wine receptionist. We will be waiting for your next stay at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We had requested a quiet room prior to arrival, knowing that we would be leaving quite early the next morning. We were delighted to be given a room near the fountain and close to the cottages. We could sit outside and enjoy the lovely view of the cottages, plants, and outdoor fireplace. Our room was quiet and we enoyed our stay very much. Everyone was helpful and very friendly. We come here once a year from our home just one hour away and are never disappointed. It is wonderful to be in the quiet part of Solvang and yet able to walk all around at a whim. We also enjoyed the breakfast which is served early enough that we can enjoy it leisure before heading home. Also, great coffee and danish!

Room Tip: If you are getting a room with a king bed, request room 39. I felt like i was in a fairyland when I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Anaundda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank for choosing Wine Valley Inn and Cottages as you place of stay every time to come to visit the beautiful and quiet city of Solvang. We feel privilege to know we are your place of preference and that you travel a whole hour to reach our property. As you were able to experience during your stay, our hotel does offer free hot complimentary breakfast, Wi-Fi and parking and many shops are within walking distance of our hotel. Our team members are always providing an absolute great customer service and are always ready to assist you any time of the day. Thank you for the wonderful review, and we will be waiting for your return stay next year.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The "Inn" is nice enough, but definitely NOT worth the per-night cost! I wanted to have a lot great things to say, but really, there's very little that impressed me. I found the inn on a dog-friendly website and the person who initially answered the phone was extremely helpful but also a bit uninformed. For example, in trying to be helpful she tried to suggest that there was a way that I could save on the nightly rate by booking online. After much back and forth we both learned that whatever deal she thought she could give me was no longer offered due to change in ownership. That same night I spoke to a 2nd person - if she's not simply unfriendly by nature, then she was in a bad mood that evening. She had zero sense of humor and was less than hospitable. I should have known then to look elsewhere. However, I proceeded in making a reservation and I only found out upon arrival that I would not be able to get a 1st floor room (mentioned during my initial conversation with them) because the AAA deal I had was only for 2nd and 3rd. So...while I was requesting 1st floor (due to bad knees, which they, in all fairness did not know about), I was given the 3rd floor which is only accessible by elevator to the second floor and then a flight of stairs.

The toilet papers was on the floor. If you want to leave the door open in the bathroom, at least in room 310, it would hit your knees while you sit. There only seem to be two very small lamps and the bathroom light. The blinds to the courtyard can't be opened due to the string missing and the window lock works poorly. If anyone on the floor closes the door, especially the one immediately next to the room, #309, it sounds like a gun going off (it's loud). The bed and pillows are too soft - okay, that's subjective, however, if either person moves during the night, it WILL wake you up and the pillows are soft in a lumpy kind of way, not fluffy, you want to sink into them kind of soft. What was a desk is now being used as a kitchen counter for all the stuff they hope you'll be ignorant enough to pay a price of 300% the cost of the same item ANYWHERE else.
If most of the rooms are like #310, tall people beware. There are several angles for decoration or motif, which makes navigating the room something you have to be aware of while doing it. Finally, the A/C seemingly only cooled during the day. I know that sounds odd, but I can't figure it out otherwise.

I want this to sound like a fair assessment and say something nice about the Inn. I can say that it is a very central location and easy walking access to all of the downtown shops with a wide variety of restaurants and wine tasking bars in the vicinity.

I would only recommend staying here if you're able to get an extremely good deal.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 503mariah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for taking a minute out of your busy schedule to provide us and future guests with your review. And please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you encountered during your stay. We will need to speak with all our front desk team members so they can be aware of all the promotions that are currently going on at property so they can provide all our guest with adequate and accurate room information. Many of the issues you encountered with the pillows could have been taken care of if you could have called our front desk team members as they would have been more than happy to provide you with new pillow and they could have even helped with the A/C problem you encountered. We really hope you will be able to provide us with another opportunity at staying with us on your next visit to Solvang.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2014

To be honest, I was not a fan of the town (touristy) as a whole. The hotel was outrageously overpriced. Room was clean and large. Linens also clean but a little worn. Great shower. Horrible complimentary breakfast - not worth it. Completely made up of preservative freezer food. Required zero cooking. Staff was friendly but seemed fake and not well-informed about area activities. I asked about a hike and they sent me to the town's info station. Two nights for this cost over $600 with taxes.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPC120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for deciding to stay at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages on your trip to beautiful and quiet Solvang California. Yes, as you were able to see the city of Solvang prides itself with been a tourist town, as many shops and restaurants are within waking distance of the hotel. Here at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages, we do offer all our guest with free Wi-Fi, parking and complimentary breakfast. The breakfast includes freshly baked danish that we get from our local bakery every morning, waffles, cereal, yogurt, freshly brewed coffee, orange juice and many more delicious breakfast items. Our property is always kept in immaculate condition thanks in large part to our awesome team members and they wonderful job they perform. Thank you again for the time to provide us with your feedback on our Solvang property.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We planned on staying overnight at the Wine Valley Inn on our way back to Los Angeles from a motorcycle trip. Because of rain and thunderstorms further north, we were stuck and couldn't drive the motorcycle through the storms. We called with more than 24 hours to cancel the reservation and the manager said she could not do so. Instead, we were charged half the room rate for a stay we never had with more than enough notice for cancellation. The manager said we needed 48 hours. Unfortunately, 48 hours earlier it was sunny and we can't control the weather, or the inconsiderate customer service. We will be looking for other accommodations the next time we visit Solvang.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennkest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
774 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
889 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
0.1 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
243 reviews
3.9 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Valley Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Valley Inn & Cottages

Property: Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Address: 1564 Copenhagen Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2754
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#5 Family Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wine Valley Inn & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Ynez Valley...scenic vistas, vintage charm. Located on an acre of meandering gardens with a Koi pond, the Wine Valley Inn offers old-world hospitality with a variety of accommodations for every taste and budget. The Wine Valley Inn is located in the Danish village of Solvang, within easy walking distance of many wine tasting rooms and within 20 minutes of more than 40 acclaimed wineries & vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Wine Valley Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wine Valley Inn And Cottages - a Broughton Hotel
Wine Valley Inn Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing