We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"50th Birthday"” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wine Valley Inn & Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Frazier Park, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"50th Birthday"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

This was our 1st time staying at the Wine Valley Inn and we will stay there again!! The staff is so friendly, easy check-in and Check-out (Jennifer at the front desk was friendly and full of information!) and our room was great! They have an excellent Breakfast of scrambled eggs, sausage, hash browns,Coffee Juice and More. We Loved meeting Michelle during evening wine tasting. She is so full of vitality! They're location is great, right within walking distance of everything! We can't wait for our next stay there!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Congratulations on your 50th anniversary. We are glad you chose to stay at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages to celebrate such milestone. We are also glad to read that our team members shined for you during your stay. Yes, here at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages, we do offer a complete and free hot breakfast. Even though we are located within minutes from the main Solvang road, the traffic level to the property is minimal. Also, walking to any shop or restaurant requires less than a five minute walk. We do offer all our guests with free Wi-Fi service as well as parking. Thank you again for the wonderful review and we hope to see you again on your next trip to Solvang California.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    421
    225
    114
    58
See reviews for
237
617
31
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

My husband and I have stayed here several times over the years and have found it charming and excellent service. This time was a little different. I received a Manager's special email and I tried to call and book the room. I was put on hold not once, not twice but 3 times when I finally hung up and booked online. The room I had wanted wasn't showing online so I booked a loft - which was more expensive.

Note:These rooms are not in the main area, the are in the secondary building next to the parking lot.

The one we had faced the street and the noise, but also had a window that you could not darken so as the sun rose... so did we - as light poured into the bedroom space. The air conditioner did not work well and although we had someone come and "fix it" he said that it was old and that was about as good as it came on.

The loft has a bed upstairs and no bathroom (this was an unhappy surprise). The bathroom downstairs is split so that you sink and hair dryer are out next to the door and the bathroom/shower is in a tiny little area. Just a very odd layout and not something that feels comfortable.

Although I would stay here again, I would not stay in this outer area.It isn't as nicely appointed as the other rooms we have had there, and made our stay much less comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sassychase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
We would like to start by apologizing for the inconvenience you encountered while trying to make a reservation over phone and again for booking a room that you did not want to book. As a loyal guest to Wine Valley Inn and Cottages, we feel that we did not exceed your expectations like we always do, and for that we also apologize. We will try retrain our team members to take your name and phone number instead of having you wait. We hope you will be able to stay with us on your next trip to the city of Solvang.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

After staying many times at WVI we splurged on a cottage suite and what a fantastic experience. We were given #5, we had our own very private jacuzzi(super clean), separate small balcony(really quiet), and wonderful upstairs king bedroom. We didn't use the kitchenette (way too many great restaurants around Solvang area) but super clean and well stocked w/ utensils etc. We loved the downstairs living room, fireplace, & TV area. Really made our 25th Anniversary very special. Also, Hotel staff, house keepers, ground staff always working so hard to keep WVI looking beautiful!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kbSchwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Let me start by congratulation your on your 25th anniversary, and at the same time thanking you for deciding to stay with us to celebrate such a special event. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed cottage #5 and that the layout and condition of the cottage made your anniversary a more special one. As you have seen in your previous stays, we are located in the heart of Solvang, and are within walking distance to many restaurants, shop and wineries. Thank you again for the wonderful comments and again congratulations on your 25 anniversary.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

This was my third stay at The Wine Valley Inn. Previous visits were Father-Son gatherings. Loved the place so much I obtained a cottage my my wife and me for our 31st wedding anniversary. The room was spacious and clean and neatly appointed. Loved the outdoor private hot tub too. The staff are very friendly. We needed a vase for some flowers. They provided one! Jennifer (at the front desk) was especially helpful and friendly. We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: All rooms are clean. The Bordeaux Room was in the very back and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrMWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for been a returning guest and congratulations on your 31st wedding anniversary. It always brings us a joy when we read that valued guest such a yourself decide to celebration such special events with us. Thank you for the wonderful comments you have regarding our team members and regarding our nicely appointed and spacious rooms. We hope we can continued to be your place of stay when in the Solvang area.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Clean rooms & toilets
Friendly service: Michelle at wine & cheese hour, Javier at breakfast time: excellent at their jobs and beyond.
Delightful grounds
Workout room with restroom attached & drinking water

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoli M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for providing us with your feedback on your recent stay at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages, and thank you making that review a five-star review. We are are also happy to hear that our entire team members shined for your during your stay and that your stay at our Solvang property was a pleasurable one. Again, thank you for the wonderful comments and we hope you can come stay with us again when visiting the city of Solvang.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

This was my second stay here. The first time about 2 months prior was my friend and I we loved it so much we brought her mother & friend. Room, grounds & service all great. Already planning next trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your second stay at our Solvang property. We are extremely glad you are a returning guest and that since you loved your first stay at Wine Valley, for this your second stay, you brought along your friend's mother and her friend. As you were able to see, we are constantly improving the layout of our gardens, along with keeping all the rooms and customer service to a maximum level. We hope you enjoyed our free complimentary breakfast, Wi-Fi, and parking. We will be waiting for your third stay at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages.

Kindly,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Friendly service, clean and charming accommodations with rooms and villas spanning size and luxury. Nice options for sitting outside to enjoy a glass of wine or breakfast. Conveniently located and great for travelling with our two dogs.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank marlocm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for providing us with your review on your recent stay at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages.We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our property, and that our lovely accommodations was to your liking. Please know that we do offer all our guest with free complimentary breakfast, Wi-Fi, and parking. Our hot breakfast consists of scrambled eggs, waffles, hash brown, yogurt, freshly brewed coffee, orange juice and many more. We are located only minutes from many restaurants, shops and stores. We hope to see you again next time to visit the Solvang area.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
3.8 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Valley Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Valley Inn & Cottages

Property: Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Address: 1564 Copenhagen Dr, Solvang, CA 93463
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#5 Family Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wine Valley Inn & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Ynez Valley...scenic vistas, vintage charm. Located on an acre of meandering gardens with a Koi pond, the Wine Valley Inn offers old-world hospitality with a variety of accommodations for every taste and budget. The Wine Valley Inn is located in the Danish village of Solvang, within easy walking distance of many wine tasting rooms and within 20 minutes of more than 40 acclaimed wineries & vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Wine Valley Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wine Valley Inn And Cottages - a Broughton Hotel
Wine Valley Inn Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing