We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, but some flaws”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
San Diego, California
1 review
“Decent, but some flaws”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Our tower queen room was basic but clean and furnished with everything we needed except the ability to get fresh air. The windows were designed not to open. Air conditioner worked well, but put out so much wind - aimed straight at the head of the bed - that we couldn't leave it on overnight, so the room was stuffy. (It also smelled a bit like fried food.) My husband got up on a chair to try to adjust the direction the registers were pointing, but one was stuck where it was, and moving the other didn't help much. The location of the hotel is great, the staff extremely helpful and pleasant, the breakfast is fine, though unexciting. But we wouldn't stay here again unless there was a room with acceptable ventilation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
We are happy to inform you that at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages, we offer all our guest with different variety rooms. And at the same time we would like to thank you for telling us the fallacies you found in the room that was provided to you. I know this is already late to mentioned, but you should have informed the front desk so they could have moved you to a different room. I will mentioned the things you have informed us to our maintenance personnel so they can work on those issues right away. Again, we do hope to see you again at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages as we have plenty of options to choose from.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    425
    236
    119
    61
See reviews for
247
641
31
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This visit we stayed upstairs in Rm 47. Room very nice; however if you want a view of the gardens rather than the parking lot..I would recommend booking Rm 45 or 46..right across the hallway. Rm 47 however is very quiet as it is on the end of that suite of rooms.
The staff was very nice as usual and be sure to ask for any coupons at check in for 2 for 1 wine tastings and they will provide you with several if they are available. Sometimes free tastings too. Also check the local wine info paper for more coupons. You should never have to pay for a full tasting with the coupons and this will save a lot of money if you go to a lot of wineries. As always, they have one of the best breakfasts anywhere...sausage, eggs, hash browns, etc. served on plates with real silverware and cloth napkins. All included. We wouldn't stay anywhere else. Our room rate this time was $95 before tax. This was June. Last time we stayed in Sept. and the rate was $75 before tax. We use AAA.

Room Tip: Upstairs Rm 45 and 46 face lovely courtyard...not parking lot. These are the standard type rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greensgirl46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for the wonderful comments you have regarding your recent stay at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. And thank you for your continued loyalty to our Solvang property. Please know that here at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages, we also offer all our guest with free Wi-Fi, parking and complimentary continental breakfast. Our breakfast is a full hot breakfast and in composed of items such as waffles, scrambled eggs, hash browns, freshly brewed coffee among other things. We are also located in the heart of Solvang and have the lowest rates one can offer. Thank you for the comments once more and we'll see you on your next stay at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2014

It is near everything in downtown Solvang. The staff is really friendly and helpful. I continually request the ADA compliant rooms since they have patios, are very comfortable and on ground level. Great room for the price.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for taking a minute out of your busy schedule to provide us and future guests with your feedback on our property. We are also happy to hear that you are a returning guest and that you are always provided with the room of your choice. As you have stated, we do have the most affordable room rate in the city of Solvang, while at the same time are located only minutes/walking distance from Downtown Solvang. Again, thank you for providing us with such a wonderful review and we will be waiting for your next trip to the city of Solvang.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Very impressed by wine country inn. The girls at the desk were so helpful. Loved location rooms breakfast all of it. We could walk from our rooms right into town. Rooms were so nice clean all the eminities were wonderful

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslynhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for providing us with your feedback on your recent stay at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. We are happy to hear that your enjoyed the great customer service that was provided to you by our amazing front desk team members. We hope you were able to enjoy our free and hot complimentary breakfast, as well as our free Wi-Fi and parking. Please know that we are located in the heart of Solvang, so walking to any store, shop or restaurant is within walking distance. Thank you for the wonderful comments and we hope you can stay with us on your next visit to Solvang California.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opelika, Al
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed in cottage 2 - and have stayed here before. It cottage is rustic, so don't expect luxury. #2 was built from an old barn; #1 from an old bank. #3 and #4 (I am told) are much more modern, but I have not been inside them. But, I would always choose #2 for the outside area. Downstairs is a large living room and kitchen and full bath (walk in shower, no tub). The back is all glassed in and has large double doors that open. Out these doors is a large area with a privacy fence, HUGE tree, private hot tub, plenty of seating. And a gas fireplace. Upstairs is the bedroom, half bath and small balcony with seating. Everything is comfortable - not fancy. The hotel puts out a breakfast; I personally would pass on the breakfast, but Paula's Pancake House is a block away. Staff is most helpful.

Room Tip: We have only stayed in cottage 2. We did have family in other rooms. They were comfortable. One...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
We are delighted to read you review and are amazed to hear that you know the entire story regarding the cottages, we here at Wine Valley provide for our guests. As you have seen on the numerous occasions you have stayed with us, all the rooms are always kept in great condition, and our front desk team members are always providing an amazing customer service. We thank you once more for the wonderful review, comments and history you have regarding our cottages.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Solvang is such a cute community to walk in. This is a great location to walk to shops, wine tasting and a brewery and charcuterie right across the street. Very short walking distance to danish bakeries. Only a few miles (if even that) from the Hitching Post II from the Sideways movie - a must stop.
The wine happy hour was nice, a little quiet on a Thursday evening...just how I like it!
The breakfast made it totally worth it - full breakfast eggs, sausage, hash browns, toast, waffles, etc...
We stayed in the loft room so cute and plenty of space to relax. If you are going to stay I recommend the loft room. But the cottages look cute too (I didn't see inside).
I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: loft room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for taking a minute out of your busy schedule to provide us and future guests with your feedback on your recent stay at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. You have stated correctly, Wine Valley Inn and Cottages is ideally located in the heart of Solvang. So walking to any shop or restaurant will only take a few minutes. Yes, our free and hot breakfast is a full breakfast as you have the options of getting scrambled eggs, waffles, sausage patties, yogurt, freshly brewed coffee and also freshly baked danish from our local bakery among other items. We hope you stay at our Solvang property was a pleasurable one and we hope you will be able to stay with us once again on your next trip to Solvang California.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan City, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed at the Wine Valley Inn with family and took the wine tour. Rooms were great and staff was excellent. Nice wine and cheese in the lobby after 5. A hot breakfast came with the room and it was good. The women who worked in the breakfast area were great and friendly.
I checked out and later discovered I had left my iPad in my room. When I called the hotel, they already had my iPad at the front desk for me.
The outside area is very pretty with vegetation, seating and fireplaces.
The wine tour bus picked us up at the hotel and the driver was great and knowledgable. The winery tastings were fun , especially having a delicious box lunch on the grounds of one of the wineries. Thank you for a great vacation.

Room Tip: We had a downstairs room just off the parking lot and it was pretty quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kk609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for deciding to stay at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages on your recent visit to the city of Solvang. We are happy to hear that our team members shined for you during your stay and that the conditions of our immaculate and spacious rooms were to your liking. Also, thank you for the great comments you have about our free complimentary breakfast. Great customer service and honesty is our number one priority here at Wine Valley Inn and Suites, and we are glad that your iPad was ready to be picked up at the front desk. We hope you can stay with us again on your next trip to the city of Solvang.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
795 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
906 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
3.9 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Valley Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Valley Inn & Cottages

Property: Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Address: 1564 Copenhagen Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2754
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#5 Family Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wine Valley Inn & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Ynez Valley...scenic vistas, vintage charm. Located on an acre of meandering gardens with a Koi pond, the Wine Valley Inn offers old-world hospitality with a variety of accommodations for every taste and budget. The Wine Valley Inn is located in the Danish village of Solvang, within easy walking distance of many wine tasting rooms and within 20 minutes of more than 40 acclaimed wineries & vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Wine Valley Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wine Valley Inn And Cottages - a Broughton Hotel
Wine Valley Inn Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing