We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs to be remodeled the place is wearing down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Napa, California
2 reviews
“Needs to be remodeled the place is wearing down”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Although it was in a nice location and very convenient located in Solvang the place appears to be salvaged and needs updating and upgrading new beds etc. it appeared to be run down like most older motels in Solvang.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Capt1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    422
    227
    114
    57
See reviews for
237
623
31
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles, ca
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

My husband and I have stayed at the Wine Valley Inn for years. We had stayed there before, and had such a wonderful experience when we got married in Solvang five years ago, we booked out their whole hotel with our wedding party. Since then, we have made it a frequent stop to celebrate anniversaries etc.

However, in the past few years we have unfortunately noticed a significant decline in the quality of the service and the rooms. After their last renovation, it does not seem to have been maintained.

After a visit there this weekend, we were put into a damp, dark room, with poorly painted walls, chips all over the bathroom, chipped furniture, lumpy old pillows and mattresses, paper thin towels. I could have had a better night's sleep at the Holiday Inn or the Svedsgaard down the street. Not to mention that I am consistently disappointed by the customer service and dismissiveness of the staff.

As much as the Wine Valley Inn holds a special place in my heart as regards our wedding, I unfortunately think we will have to find somewhere new to stay in Solvang.

Room Tip: They are not really maintained as well as they used to be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olympicyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for staying at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages this past weekend and thank you for informing us of your experience. We are truly thankful that you decided to book with us the entire property five years ago in order to celebrate your wedding. Due to the comments you have on your recent stay, we feel that we have not exceeded your expectations, the way we did five years ago. We greatly thank you for the comments you have provided us with, as these comments will help us improve the condition of the hotel, as well as the condition of the towels, service, and overall room condition. We gladly invite you to stay with us one more time and give us one more opportunity at showing you that improvement is been made at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

I liked the Wine Valley Inn. Very welcoming people. Nice little wine bar in the lobby area. Decent breakfast. The room was clean and had a mini bar and refrigerator stocked. And, the prices weren't ridiculous. I wish the shower water pressure was harder but other than that no complaints, I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa81818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for the wonderful comments you have on your recent stay here at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. We are glad you liked our accommodations and that the customer service that was provided to you was to your liking. We feel that we have the lowest available rate in the city of Solvang, when compared to other hotels of the same quality as Wine Valley Inn. Our hot and fresh continental breakfast consists of scrambled eggs, waffles, hash brown, sausage patties, freshly brewed coffee, danish, fruits, yogurt and make more. Please be aware that we also have a wine bar reception every evening, where guest can enjoy a glass of wine and cheese. We hope you will be able to stay with us on your next trip to the city of Solvang.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We want to stay in Solvang for a night but it seems we cannot get two rooms in one hotel. Lucky for me, when I called, Wendy at Front Desk was very helpful.

ROOM: I had some room requirements (short walk to the elevator, roomy, near the entrance of the hotel) and she made sure the rooms we got were what we wanted. Good enough when we arrived, the connecting rooms (203-205) were more than what we expected. And to think one of them was a family room enough for a family of four with kids. If you will visit Solvang and you are a family or with friends, Rooms 203 and 205 at the Village Tower is good.

BATHROOM: Roomy, clean and easy for us to move around because there were no high tubs to hop on. Room 203 is for guests who are in a wheelchair by the way. I would suggest another table for the bathroom stuff.

LOCATION: Near shopping stalls in Alisal and a bakery nearby but you have to look for a good dinner place since most close at 0600PM. Walking distance to some shops but may take a car to go to main street.

BREAKFAST: It is complimentary and very much filling already for me but do go early as the seats get taken immediately especially when we were there... start of Summer.

SERVICE: Wendy was very nice and accommodating to our requests during reservations over the phone and the people at the front desk were more than helpful in locating the places you want to visit.

PARKING LOT: For those with cars, they have a lot of spaces in front of the hotel and at the rear which is secured. I don't think we paid anything extra for parking.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChloeMojica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you so much for the beautifully detailed review you have on our Solvang property. We are glad you decided to call and that one of our guest service representatives was able to provide for you the room that best fitted your family needs. As you saw during your stay, all our rooms are spacious, and are kept in optimal conditions due in part to the wonderful job our housekeeping department do. Please know that we offer all our guest free Wi-Fi, parking and continental breakfast. Breakfast is composed of scrambled eggs, sausage patties, waffles, yogurt, freshly brewed coffee, fruit, granola, oatmeal, and many others. we are located only minutes from the Solvang main street, which can leads to many restaurants, wineries and shops. Thank you again for the wonderful comments and we hope to see you again on your next trip to the city of Solvang.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

From the outside this hotel is lovely, especially the cottages. You can opt to stay in a room or a small cottage. We stayed in a room. They have quite a few places where you can sit outside. Unfortunately, I found the room to be very uncomfortable. The sink in the bathroom was shallow with a large faucet so every time we used it water splashed everywhere. The shower curtain was too short so water splashed all over the floor. The room was dark even during the day. The breakfast is included but it was like eating in a public school cafeteria. The sausage, hash browns & other things seemed like they were frozen & heated. The pillows & bed were also very hard, lumpy and uncomfortable. Our room was not cleaned on our first night then when I called and asked about it they said they would send someone but nobody ever showed up.
The location was very convenient and the outside of the building was very nice.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank likes2travel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for taking a minute out of your busy schedule to provide us and future guests with your feedback on your stay at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. As you were able to see on your stay, we do offer a different variety of rooms; our rooms vary from the standard room, to a loft. to a cottage. All rooms have different layouts and furnishing. We would love for you to get a loft or cottage so you can see that not all rooms are the same. We do offer free and hot continental breakfast to all our guest. The breakfast is composed of freshly brewed coffee, scrambled eggs, waffles, yogurt, oatmeal, danish (which we buy from our local bakery every morning), hot cocoa and freshly squeezed orange juice. We hope you will be able to stay with us again when you come visit the city of Solvang.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladera Ranch, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel was nice. I liked the location as my favorite restaurant in Solveng, The Green House is right across the street. You can walk anywhere in town from this hotel. We even walked to the town outdoor theater one evening. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for providing us with your feedback on your recent stay at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages. Yes, you are correct when you say that we are the ideal hotel when it comes to visiting the city of Solvang, as we are ideally located in the heart of the city. So walking to any shop, restaurant, winery or bakery will take one less than five minute walk. Please know that here at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages, we do provide all our guests with free Wi-Fi, parking and continental breakfast. The breakfast is composed of sausage patties, scrambled eggs, waffles, yogurt, cereal, freshly brewed coffee, and fruits among others. Wine Valley Inn and Cottages also has a "wine happy hour" every evening where guest can relax and enjoy a nice glass of wine and cheese. Once more thank you for the four-star review and we hope to see you again on your next trip to the quaint city of Solvang.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

This was my first stay at Wine Valley Inn. My daughter and I shared a King room on the 2nd floor. It featured a large living room with steps down to the bedroom area. Lots of space to stretch out. We also had a fireplace and a fridge. The overall ambiance was very European, lovely grounds with tables scattered among landscaping with outdoor fireplaces, water features. There were bikes available to borrow and breakfast was included, although we did not partake.
My only complaint is the softness of the bed. We tended to roll toward the middle. Otherwise, I enjoyed my brief stay and will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask about room types. We were on the main street but it was quiet. There are cottages available on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
We are glad to read of the wonderful experience you and your daughter had while staying at Wine Valley Inn and Cottages this past weekend. Yes, as you found out on your stay, all our rooms are spacious and are always kept in immaculate condition thanks in large part to the amazing job all our housekeeping members do. Our free and hot complimentary breakfast consists of scrambled eggs, sausage patties, waffles, freshly brewed coffee, cereal, and oatmeal, just to name a few. Even though we are located less then a minute from the main road, the traffic noise in minimal. We thank you once more for the wonderful comments and we hope to be your place of stay on your next visit to Solvang California.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
3.9 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Valley Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Valley Inn & Cottages

Property: Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Address: 1564 Copenhagen Dr, Solvang, CA 93463
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#5 Family Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wine Valley Inn & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Ynez Valley...scenic vistas, vintage charm. Located on an acre of meandering gardens with a Koi pond, the Wine Valley Inn offers old-world hospitality with a variety of accommodations for every taste and budget. The Wine Valley Inn is located in the Danish village of Solvang, within easy walking distance of many wine tasting rooms and within 20 minutes of more than 40 acclaimed wineries & vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wine Valley Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wine Valley Inn And Cottages - a Broughton Hotel
Wine Valley Inn Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing