We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 16 December 2008

We were so disappointed in the lack of attention paid to details. Obviously, management couldn't care less since they never contacted us after we mailed in our survey card.
The veneer on the leg of the bathroom vanity was peeling off. Only 1/2 roll of toilet paper--good thing we didn't get Montezuma's revenge, or there would've been a big mess. ALL of the towel edges were frayed--I have nicer towels in my rag bag. Door didn't shut properly--felt like a credit card could open it from the outside. Then locking it while in the room, couldn't get it to unlock--very dangerous situation in case of a fire. Window wouldn't shut. No instructions on how to use the heater nor were there any instructions on using the fireplace. Damper knob was broken/missing. Room was supplied with 1 2hr burn time log. Not enough for a romantic evening.
There was a decent continental breakfast and it is withing walking distance of all downtown Solvang. I just don't feel it was worth the almost $300 per night charge. Too expensive for an over-neglected room. Most likely we won't be returning and I'm telling everyone I know about our stay. I expect these kind of conditions in a Hotel 6.

  • Liked — Continental breakfast and fireplace in the room
  • Disliked — Lack of attention paid to neglected details
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DrkRaven79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    424
    231
    115
    59
See reviews for
241
630
31
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2008

Wine Valley Inn was a pleasant, clean upscale motel. It’s set back a block or two from the main drag but it still convenient, though there are closer options. The rooms have exterior access through multi-level landings. There are 3 stories of rooms but there is an elevator to the second floor only. Some rooms appear unusually shaped.

The inn was recently remodeled and looks nice, but the money was largely on surface level improvements. In our room I noticed this in the bathroom in particular. The shower was large and was tiled in stone. There was, however, a single showerhead so at least half the shower was really a waste. The showerhead also wasn’t well secured and leaked. The towel rack was also crooked. None of this affected the comfort of the room, of course. The bed was comfortable and well sized and the property was more modern and I think comfortable compared to many of the others in town.

  • Liked — n/a
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank anonymousninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, CA
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2008

My girlfriend and I are in our mid-twenties and recently spent 2 nights here. Overall, our experience was a good one and we'd stay at the Wine Valley Inn again. We'd also recommend it to people who are looking for clean, simple, and (relatively) inexpensive accomodations.

We stayed in a standard room with one queen bed. At $149/night, it was one of the most competitively prices rooms in Solvang (and surrounding areas). While I would've enjoyed a lower nightly rate, I also feel like I got my money's worth. Don't stay here expecting a 4 Seasons or Ritz Carlton experience. This is more suited to utilitarians who need a simple and clean place to stay and are using Solvang as their home-base to explore nearby wine country. I'd say this hotel is on par with a Holiday Inn Express.

Bed looked more like a full than a queen. The mattress was average. The bathrooms were clean. All the lighting is fluorescent, which doesn't make the room look as good as it could have. Note: the photos on the hotel's website were, clearly, professionally taken. Free HBO and wireless internet, which is nice. Breakfast consists of pasteries, cereals, unimpressive coffee, fruit and bagels. Same spread as Holiday Inn Express. Parking is easy and location is superb. Walls are thin and you can hear people walking around above you, but it's tolerable.

In short, if you're not high-maintenance and you just need a simple room while you explore the surrounding areas, then this is a good option.

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Disliked — Bed mattress
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank fatassasian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
124 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Wine Valley Inn for one night as part of a drive down the coast of California. We chose Solvang as one of our stops based on friends' recommendations. The town is cute and quaint, with a good sushi restaurant; however, we would not stay at the Wine Valley Inn again.

The stay at the Wine Valley Inn started out fine, with a smooth check-in and friendly staff; however, that is basically the only positive about this place, other than its outward appearance, which matches the quaintness of the entire town.

We stayed in a king bed room on the second floor of the hotel. As soon as we entered the room, I noticed a strange smell. The outdated furnishings and sink in the bedroom did not help the ambiance, either. Additionally, when we attempted to use the shower, the entire bathroom heated up to the point where we could hardly use the shower. Finally, the shower itself was so dark that we couldn't see anything. It was like showering in a cave, but in a bad way.

The staff did provide us with accurate directions to the sushi restaurant, and they were helpful and friendly with all of our requests.

I would not stay at this inn again until major renovations had been completed on the inside of the rooms.

  • Liked — the friendly staff, location
  • Disliked — the smell, the outdated furnishings, the horrible bathroom
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank YorkTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2008

We stayed at the Wine Valley Inn for 1 night during our tour of California. We stayed in a king size room with a large lounge area. It was nicely decorated throughout, very clean and very comfortable. There was a flat screen tv in the bedroom and the lounge. There was also a dining table and chairs in the lounge area. The bathroom was really nice with a walk-in shower. The complimentary continental buffet breakfast was excellent and was in a nice restaurant type setting. It was central for everything in Solvang but in a quiet locaton. Solvang is a lovely tourist town with Danish architecture and windmills and has great danish pastries. We were given free wine tasting vouchers which we used. We would definately go back. We wish we had stayed for longer.

  • Liked — excellent room, location, price
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosanScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2008

My husband booked us an overnight stay for our 5th anniversary, as we were traveling with our children, he made sure he called the Inn personally so we'd have enough room for a family of 6. When we got to our room, we noticed we only had towels for 2 and that evening, we tried to figure out how we were going to fit 4 children on the double sofa bed and chaise. My husband ended up going down to the office to ask for another set of sheets, the man at the desk seemed put out and didn't seem to believe him when he mentioned that he had called and was reassured the room would fit us when making the reservations! So, we had three children sleep downstairs and the baby up with us. As for cleanliness--our socks were BLACK within 5 minutes of being in the room with no shoes or slippers. Our shower had a gaping hole where the faceplate should have been attached (I had to remark that it was a good thing we didn't get more towels and make the kids shower) letting the water/spray into the wall. Check-out was 11, we went off to a bakery at 9:30 and came back to the room shortly after 10 to use the restrooms before traveling home only to find the maids were already in our room--we hadn't even checked out yet!!!! I was able to see why our socks were so dirty, they used a spray bottle on the carpet and to wash the floor they used the same spray with a hand towel covered broom. Overall, for the price, it was a good deal but I have stayed in Solvang many times and there are plenty of other places I'd pick first. (my husband meant well when choosing it for our anniversary but I think it was a miss!)

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — It didn't live up to expectations
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CA-Family-of-6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2008

We stayed in a two-story loft for two nights last week and really enjoyed it. Having the bedroom upstairs and the living room downstairs gave it the feel of being at home -- and was more spacious than a typical hotel room. We had a king-sized bed, and the living room had a sectional that two people could easily stretch out on. There were two negatives with the loft though -- the bathroom was on the first floor, so going in the middle of the night entailed a trip down the stairs, which was a little inconvenient, and there was no door on the bedroom (true loft) so you couldn't really watch tv in the living room while someone else slept in.

The hotel is in a great location -- 1 block walk to shopping, bakeries and restaurants. I liked that we weren't right on the main street, like many of the other hotels, because there was little street noise. However, make sure you request a room away from the central air conditioning unit -- it was about two doors down from us and very loud.

As other reviewers mentioned, the staff was adequate but definitely not friendly, and the free continental breakfast really wasn't very good -- pastries were not fresh and the waffles were tasteless. It didn't really matter to us, though, because we'd rather walk a few blocks and get fresh baked goods at a Danish bakery.

Some advice about Solvang that would have helped us the first night -- don't expect nightlife in town. Shops in Solvang closed at 5 ot 6 p.m., and the restaurants by 8 or 9. We really liked The Greenhouse in Solvang for lunch (both Danish specialties and American fare) and Grappolo's in Santa Ynez for Italian. Firestone Brewery in Buellton was also a nice place for a beer or no-frills meal.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Loud air conditioning unit, poor breakfast
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank writur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
776 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
890 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
0.1 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
243 reviews
3.9 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Valley Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Valley Inn & Cottages

Property: Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Address: 1564 Copenhagen Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2754
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#5 Family Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wine Valley Inn & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Ynez Valley...scenic vistas, vintage charm. Located on an acre of meandering gardens with a Koi pond, the Wine Valley Inn offers old-world hospitality with a variety of accommodations for every taste and budget. The Wine Valley Inn is located in the Danish village of Solvang, within easy walking distance of many wine tasting rooms and within 20 minutes of more than 40 acclaimed wineries & vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Wine Valley Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wine Valley Inn And Cottages - a Broughton Hotel
Wine Valley Inn Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing