We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty & Clean, but TOO LOUD...Paper-thin walls!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Solvang
Reviewed 3 January 2009

Quick summary: Quaint outside. Crisp, clean and stylish, inside. Far too noisy--you could hear every sound.

The long version: We love Solvang, and this is the first time we stayed at the Wine Valley Inn. The overall look of the hotel is quite nice and quaint on the outside and modern and crisp, but cozy, inside. There is part with a motel-style set up and then, in the back, an adorable group of little cottage style, two-stories in back.

Our room was small, but nicely decorated with a crisp modern feel with a granite counter top in the bath area and it wasn't overdone. Room had a very comfortable bed, linens, pillows, etc. Everything was clean and well put-together. The only thing that gave away the age of the room was the ancient thermostat and the paper thin walls. We had Room 32--31 and 32 may have been the worst possible rooms in terms of noise, as they are the most immediate toward the parking area and on either side of an open air hallway with a staircase. We could hear every conversation and step of every person coming or going from their rooms. Quiet conversations and normal volume would come into our room as though we had no door. The room has a double door option that can be used to join it with the room next door and the gap under the door was big, so the light from the next room would enter. Also, when the occupants of the neighboring room would blow their nose, we could hear it like they were in the room with us. The people upstairs, though surely not elephants, sounded like them when moving around. Our neighbors couldn't have been too happy with use, either, as we were with our baby, who would periodically announce her need to eat. By about 11:00pm, thankfully, people were pretty quiet and not too many coming or going. But at, 2:30am, a few women were returning from their night out and laughing and talking like they were in a real hotel with real walls. Not a nice way to wake up in the middle of the night.

Even though it was a visually pleasing place, the lack of insulation from noise is a deal breaker for us. Maybe an upstairs room at the end of the hall, facing the back or side would have been better in terms of noise from people passing by and upstairs occupants, but it still would have the capability of being as quiet as a better insulated, newer hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank MamaZBayArea_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,072 - 1,078 of 1,240 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2008

This was our first trip to Solvang and we were both VERY excited. We chose this place because, in the photos, it looked very clean and the decor was crisp and modern.

Although the staff was friendly, the exterior was lovely, and the lobby/lounge areas were cozy and inviting, the room was one step above a motel 6. I don't expect any hotel room to be spotless, but this room smelled like an ex-smoking room. The linens were clean, but the bathroom and tub had small hairs all over. The room was TINY, we had enough space for the queen bed, two chairs, the tv and our suit cases. Also, we were in a ground floor room that sat directly accross from the housekeeping gate so we had the banging and clanging of the staff all day. Our upstairs neighbors sounded like they were rearanging furniture in wooden shoes every time they moved, and the "ladies" next to us were partying late into the night.

Also, even though it was a non smoking room, the patio outside had an ashtray stand setup so our room contantly smelled like cigaretts from the people around us. Finally, when the smokers were NOT huffing and puffing, I was unable to open the windows for some fresh air because the handles were stripped and could not be turned.

I don't want to give the impression that this was a horrible stay, but I was expecting better, especially for the cost and in a town with SO many choices.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keltroncybo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2008

My wife and I have stayed at the Wine Valley Inn (WVI) numerous times before this stay (12/19/08) and were fairly pleased (8/10). We have referred numerous other friends and family members to the WVI (at least 12 different couples).

This stay, however, stunk from the get go. As we trekked the three flights of narrows staircases we brushed along side walls that were freshly painted. There were no signs posted to alert anybody to the wet paint.

Two men's coats (Claiborne), a men's Van Hussein dress shirt, a women's DB purse ($400), a women's coat (donna karen), and four other articles of clothing were ruined. Our luggage was also damaged, but the hotel management was unwilling to compensate us for our loses. Instead, the clerks gave us towels to 'dry off' the paint. What a great help that was (sarcasm)

Things got worse . . . our t.v. and t.v. control did not work. We did not get a fire log for our fireplace (we bought our own), the soap trays were broken, the beds were made for midgets (my feet hung off the edge of the bed)

Needless to say the response from management was subpar - we were not fully reimbursed for our losses - and we will not be staying at the WVI ever again.

Stay at the Wine Valley Inn at your own risk. We have vacationed in Solvang for the last ten years and are very family with the service standard of the area. The Wine Valley Inn demonstrated an inability to service its customers at a satisfactory level.

This was the most disappointing stay we have ever had in Solvang.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank jgsb2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2008

We were so disappointed in the lack of attention paid to details. Obviously, management couldn't care less since they never contacted us after we mailed in our survey card.
The veneer on the leg of the bathroom vanity was peeling off. Only 1/2 roll of toilet paper--good thing we didn't get Montezuma's revenge, or there would've been a big mess. ALL of the towel edges were frayed--I have nicer towels in my rag bag. Door didn't shut properly--felt like a credit card could open it from the outside. Then locking it while in the room, couldn't get it to unlock--very dangerous situation in case of a fire. Window wouldn't shut. No instructions on how to use the heater nor were there any instructions on using the fireplace. Damper knob was broken/missing. Room was supplied with 1 2hr burn time log. Not enough for a romantic evening.
There was a decent continental breakfast and it is withing walking distance of all downtown Solvang. I just don't feel it was worth the almost $300 per night charge. Too expensive for an over-neglected room. Most likely we won't be returning and I'm telling everyone I know about our stay. I expect these kind of conditions in a Hotel 6.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DrkRaven79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2008

Wine Valley Inn was a pleasant, clean upscale motel. It’s set back a block or two from the main drag but it still convenient, though there are closer options. The rooms have exterior access through multi-level landings. There are 3 stories of rooms but there is an elevator to the second floor only. Some rooms appear unusually shaped.

The inn was recently remodeled and looks nice, but the money was largely on surface level improvements. In our room I noticed this in the bathroom in particular. The shower was large and was tiled in stone. There was, however, a single showerhead so at least half the shower was really a waste. The showerhead also wasn’t well secured and leaked. The towel rack was also crooked. None of this affected the comfort of the room, of course. The bed was comfortable and well sized and the property was more modern and I think comfortable compared to many of the others in town.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank anonymousninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2008

My girlfriend and I are in our mid-twenties and recently spent 2 nights here. Overall, our experience was a good one and we'd stay at the Wine Valley Inn again. We'd also recommend it to people who are looking for clean, simple, and (relatively) inexpensive accomodations.

We stayed in a standard room with one queen bed. At $149/night, it was one of the most competitively prices rooms in Solvang (and surrounding areas). While I would've enjoyed a lower nightly rate, I also feel like I got my money's worth. Don't stay here expecting a 4 Seasons or Ritz Carlton experience. This is more suited to utilitarians who need a simple and clean place to stay and are using Solvang as their home-base to explore nearby wine country. I'd say this hotel is on par with a Holiday Inn Express.

Bed looked more like a full than a queen. The mattress was average. The bathrooms were clean. All the lighting is fluorescent, which doesn't make the room look as good as it could have. Note: the photos on the hotel's website were, clearly, professionally taken. Free HBO and wireless internet, which is nice. Breakfast consists of pasteries, cereals, unimpressive coffee, fruit and bagels. Same spread as Holiday Inn Express. Parking is easy and location is superb. Walls are thin and you can hear people walking around above you, but it's tolerable.

In short, if you're not high-maintenance and you just need a simple room while you explore the surrounding areas, then this is a good option.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank fatassasian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Wine Valley Inn for one night as part of a drive down the coast of California. We chose Solvang as one of our stops based on friends' recommendations. The town is cute and quaint, with a good sushi restaurant; however, we would not stay at the Wine Valley Inn again.

The stay at the Wine Valley Inn started out fine, with a smooth check-in and friendly staff; however, that is basically the only positive about this place, other than its outward appearance, which matches the quaintness of the entire town.

We stayed in a king bed room on the second floor of the hotel. As soon as we entered the room, I noticed a strange smell. The outdated furnishings and sink in the bedroom did not help the ambiance, either. Additionally, when we attempted to use the shower, the entire bathroom heated up to the point where we could hardly use the shower. Finally, the shower itself was so dark that we couldn't see anything. It was like showering in a cave, but in a bad way.

The staff did provide us with accurate directions to the sushi restaurant, and they were helpful and friendly with all of our requests.

I would not stay at this inn again until major renovations had been completed on the inside of the rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank YorkTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Solvang hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 11 in Solvang
839 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 11 in Solvang
931 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 11 in Solvang
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 11 in Solvang
275 reviews
0.3 mi away
Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Valley Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Valley Inn & Cottages

Address: 1564 Copenhagen Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2754
Region: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#5 Family Hotel in Solvang
Price Range: £77 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wine Valley Inn & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Ynez Valley...scenic vistas, vintage charm. Located on an acre of meandering gardens with a Koi pond, the Wine Valley Inn offers old-world hospitality with a variety of accommodations for every taste and budget. The Wine Valley Inn is located in the Danish village of Solvang, within easy walking distance of many wine tasting rooms and within 20 minutes of more than 40 acclaimed wineries & vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Wine Valley Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wine Valley Inn And Cottages - a Broughton Hotel
Wine Valley Inn Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing