We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“USED TO BE wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Westlake Village, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“USED TO BE wonderful”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2009

We had stayed at this Inn several times before and just loved it for all the reasons mentioned in other reviews .. BUT this trip was most disappointing because the whole place was rennovated with new decor which did NOT improve the charm that this place once had. Modern can be nice but this wasn't done well and the rooms seem dull and dreary now. The cleanliness has not been kept up .. and our stay for my husband's special birthday did not meet our expectations. Time to move on.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    422
    227
    114
    57
See reviews for
237
623
31
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2009

Great hotel with lots of character to it. Was great value for the money and was centrally located in the heart of wine country. Definately a hidden gem.
The rooms were clean, roomy and well appointed. Would definately come back again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZigZag5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2009

This is in the heart of Solvang, definitely lots of character even though its showing sing of age, yet very well maintained.. Large rooms with large bathrooms, that give you an apartment like feeling of being at home... Definitely would want to stay here again. Wineries are near by, I recommend visiting Sunstone which is like 3 or 4 miles away..

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carmat3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2009

We made a last minute decision to come to Solvang, so a lot of the hotels were booked for the weekend. We were able to get one of the last rooms at the WVI. It was a loft, with a King bed upstairs and a nice L shaped Queen/sleeper sofa downstairs. There were nice flat screen HDTV's both upstairs and down. The room was on the back side of the hotel and fairly quiet. The entire hotel, including our room, was spotless. The staff was very friendly. We experienced a bit of the slamming doors other reviews complained about, but the way the heavy doors shut themselves, even we were guilty of some slamming. We opted to skip the continental breakfast at the hotel (which looked ok) to enjoy the Danish pancakes at Paula's Pancake House instead. Everything in town was within walking distance of the hotel. One suggestion: the hotel could increase the temperature of the hot water for those who like a hot bath. The temperature while taking a shower was fine.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citrusave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2009

This is the second time I have stayed at WVI and each time for 10 days while I cycle around the valley. Have read some negative posts about this property but these people must be extraordinarily unrealistic. This place has a great staff, great atmosphere, one block off the main drag of Mission yet easy walking distance to all restaurants and attractions plus 100 yards from a small grocery store. Beautiful landscaped area surrounded by the cottages and rooms. Yes, some ceilings will let you know when a person above you is walking around but I don't really notice it. They've applied for an alcohol permit so expect a bar on the premises soon which I will welcome. Decent breakfast bar in the mornings. Charming place, will go back

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OhioCyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2009

I recently stayed here and have to say, the ambience of the place is great!
The grounds are gorgeous and just charming all around.
The rooms are a bit small though. We had a tiny little room with barely enough space for luggage! It did have windows that opened though, which was a big bonus - nothing beats fresh air in the mornings!
However, even though this place was billed as a non-smoking hotel, we had the distinct pungent stink of cigarette smoke fill our room on 2 different occasions during our one night stay, which was really disappointing.
We also had to endure the very loud conversation of people in the courtyard who ere out drinking and smoking from 5 in the afternoon until well beyond 11pm...which was a bit much, but not the fault of the hotel, obviously.

On the upside, the room we had was very affordable, and the front desk staff was very kind and accommodating, at least for the most part!
The one male clerk at the front desk was completely depressing, and we had to come down and request a town map which we noticed other guests were given straight away. But the female employees more than made up for this lack of attention. They were all phenomenal.
The beds were comfy, ample pillows, nice room decor, very cute despite the insanely small room size.

On the down side, the cleaning staff was soooooo rude. They began cleaning rooms as early as 7am, and the reason I know this is not because i was up at 7am, but because we could hear them loudly rolling their carts down the hallways and letting ALL of the room doors SLAM SHUT behind them. Definitely a rude awakening, and my biggest complaint. Nobody likes being woken up before they're ready to the sound of doors slamming shut every 5 -10 minutes, it was painful.
Additionally, we could hear the cleaning staff yelling to each other in the courtyard as well, also very early in the morning. I'm inclined to assume from this behaviour that this is commonplace and not unusual for our stay.
Sadly, this hotel is decent in every other way, but if you actually like to sleeep past dawn on your vacation, this place may disappoint!

Everything else is overlookable, but omg, the door slamming was insane, so be warned.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CasimirsCabinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2009

We stayed here last week for one night. We had a junior suite which was quite roomy. It had a nice bathroom with a large shower, These are the good things.
I agree with the other reviews of paper thin walls and noisy neigbors.
The most disgusting thing was the blood stains on the duvet! We called the front desk and the young man came up to the room with a new sheet. We told him it was not the sheet, but the duvet. He said "Oh that thing. I'll get you a new one" He returned a few minutes later with a new duvet that was all wadded up and he just threw it on the bed. When we inspected it, it had paint stains all over it. We ended up just trurning it over and using it. I noticed another reviewer said they had clothing ruined by fresh paint, so it must have come from that time period.
There was also a package of moldy beef jerky in the mini bar basket. YUCK!
When we got home, we got an email asking about our stay. I replied with the above mentioned items and never got a response. It appears that mangement just doesn't care.
We would not recommend this place or stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birdieboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
3.9 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Valley Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Valley Inn & Cottages

Property: Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Address: 1564 Copenhagen Dr, Solvang, CA 93463
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#5 Family Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wine Valley Inn & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Ynez Valley...scenic vistas, vintage charm. Located on an acre of meandering gardens with a Koi pond, the Wine Valley Inn offers old-world hospitality with a variety of accommodations for every taste and budget. The Wine Valley Inn is located in the Danish village of Solvang, within easy walking distance of many wine tasting rooms and within 20 minutes of more than 40 acclaimed wineries & vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wine Valley Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wine Valley Inn And Cottages - a Broughton Hotel
Wine Valley Inn Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing