We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Solvang
Fontana, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Charming Inn”
Reviewed 5 July 2006

We stayed in the loft and enjoyed our room. The lofts are perfect if you want a place to hang out with family or friends because the living room is downstairs with a couch, chairs, and TV while the bedroom is upstairs in the loft. The TVs were quite small, however. The other thing I didn't like was that the bathroom was downstairs, so middle of the night bathroom visits involved finding the way down the dark stairway. The rooms were relatively clean and nice. The pond and garden area in the middle of the cottages was charming, but the other rooms don't get to enjoy the view from their area. We also enjoyed the free continental breakfasts each morning. Breakfast included yogurt, cereal, hard-boiled eggs, pastries, bagels, and frozen pancakes or waffles in the toaster.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cinder8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    426
    236
    119
    61
See reviews for
247
641
31
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, CA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2006

We loved this inn! It was more B&B than motel. The room was large and had two levels, making it seem like a suite. The furniture and decor were nice, pretty new, it appeared. The bathroom was clean and bright, as well. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room had a refrigerator stocked with drinks (for purchase) as well as some food items for sale on a dresser. There was a small patio area with a table and chairs outside the room, also. The Inn has an elevator and a parking lot in back. It is two blocks from downtown Solvang. The price was very reasonable.

Helpful?
2 Thank Paula V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paso robles, ca
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2006

We chose the WVI because of a " manager's special"...$65 on a Thurs. wonderful value! We saw a show at the Chumash casino and retreated to Solvang for the evening. Split level room with large bath, Queen bed, and fold out couch with table. Outside sitting/eating area was great for morning coffee. This town rolls up the side walks after dark. Not much to do in town or at the Inn. This place is VERY QUIET. Breakfast was OK but why eat their store-bought bagels when there are fine Danish bakeries across the street? Strolled through town from the Inn and drove 6 miles to Los Olivos for Lunch. Wonderful mid-week getaway. Walkable to Solvang restaurants and PCPA theater. Five/ten minute drive to Chumash casino and town of Los Olivos.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank p12james
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2006

We book our room back on Jan 2nd to make sure that we would have a nice room. I booked it on their web-site and then later that day called to confim the reservation. We were to have the Deluxe Queen with a fireplace. The rooms on their website looked charming, some with 4 poster beds. When we arrived we were given a very small room with no fireplace and no fancy bed. (very standard). I went back to the front desk and told them that the room was not what I had reserved. The young man at the desk said there were no other rooms avaible until the next evening and that maybe he could put us up in the cottage for (1) night. He did and the cottage was beautiful! The next evening we were moved out of the cottage and given another room. It was what they considered to be the delux queen. Again it was nothing spectacular very standard. There were no other rooms open so we did stick it out for the next few days. I have posted some pictures so you can see what the delux room looks like. If you are planning a romantic time I would stick with a cottage. The delux room is very small and the showers are as well.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rjp1116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orinda, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2006

We decided to stay in Solvang in order break up our long trip to San Diego. I found the Wine Valley Inn on the Internet and booked their 2-story loft room at the Manager's Special rate of $69. It was well-worth that rate. Would probably have paid even more. Our room (#42) was very lovely. It felt like a mini-townhome with the living area and bathroom on the lower level and the bedroom with king-sized bed in the upstairs loft. It was nicely decorated, clean and comfortable. The location of the hotel is within perfect walking distance to downtown Solvang. The gardens around the hotel are beautiful and the deluxe separate cottages looked absolutely darling. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful, no problems whatsoever. If I had to say anything negative, it might be that the breakfast was just OK, some fresh fruit or fruit salad would have been nice. Also, their towels were thin and rough. Finally, the town of Solvang is not as lively as it used to be, probably a result of the economy. Shopping was disappointing. But, The Wine Valley Inn was terrific and we would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeeLee11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2006

Our long awaited stay in Cottage #2 started out as less than wonderfully. The downstairs decor was quite dated, and clearly had a "Daniel Boone" theme going on. I hadn't even checked the upstairs master before I called to ask for a cottage switch. Unfortunately, you have to book cottages weeks/months in advance for a weekend stay and of course, no other cottage was available. However, upon further examination of the entire cottage, I was quite satisfied. I stayed for 2 nights with some friends (all of whom loved it & can't wait to go back). French doors lead to a private deck & jacuzzi, treetop views, beautiful and spacious master upstairs also with French doors and small deck. Yeah, a bit rustic on the bathroom decor and downstairs floor, but can't even compare to Cottage #4 (first stay in Feb '06), which I thought was a nice upstairs cottage.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BruinBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 11 May 2006

Was pleasantly pleased with accomodations. Have paid more for less. People were very accomodating. Parking was a little sparce but over all it was a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 11 in Solvang
796 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 11 in Solvang
907 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 11 in Solvang
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#7 of 11 in Solvang
255 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
3.9 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Valley Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Valley Inn & Cottages

Property: Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Address: 1564 Copenhagen Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2754
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#5 Family Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wine Valley Inn & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Ynez Valley...scenic vistas, vintage charm. Located on an acre of meandering gardens with a Koi pond, the Wine Valley Inn offers old-world hospitality with a variety of accommodations for every taste and budget. The Wine Valley Inn is located in the Danish village of Solvang, within easy walking distance of many wine tasting rooms and within 20 minutes of more than 40 acclaimed wineries & vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Wine Valley Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wine Valley Inn And Cottages - a Broughton Hotel
Wine Valley Inn Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing