We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marzipan, butter and whipped cream”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Danish Mill Bakery

Danish Mill Bakery
Ranked #5 of 5 Bakeries in Solvang
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Danish, European, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Marzipan, butter and whipped cream”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Marzipan cookies were excellent.
Butter/whipped cream cookies ROCK.

Close to the hotel, people nice enough.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank rustyferrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    43
    14
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria Arizona
Level Contributor
88 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Delicious Danish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stopped in and picked up some baked goods to take home. The danish was great, filled with fruit and cheese.
People were going in to have coffee and bakery as there were small tables to sit and relax. I would recommend this bakery and visit again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank mhawks22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snohomish, Washington
Level Contributor
98 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Pastrys”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Were in Solvang on a short vacation. First time in the community and found this nice bakery. Everything in it looked solo delicious. So we tried some of their pastries and were not disappointed. If you are ever in the area swing by and enjoy, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JamesB17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
113 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A Nice Place for Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We were ready for lunch by the time we got to the Danish Mill Bakery. Their menu had the traditional open face sandwiches we were looking for. We tried the ham and also the roast beef. Both were very good and were served with an equally good potato salad. The service was friendly and it was a very restful place to eat.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
150 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Meh...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

After careful (and somewhat careless) consideration, we chose this bakery over our favorite, Mortensen's for our pastry purchase on our recent visit to Solvang. I won't call it a total disappointment. The cherry boat was very good, as was the sugar cookie and the macaroon. The lemon buttercream was a bit too rich for my taste, and the raspberry cookie was just ok.

But the reason we go to any bakery in Solvang is for the Danish waffle. An elongated pastry sandwich filled with raspberry sauce and whipped cream. On past visits, this bakery was closed for the day when we walked by. On this day it was open, so we walked in, had a look, and left to continue our Solvang stroll. We decided we'd give them a try instead of Mortensen's. So we dropped back in on our way back to the car and purchased the items I spoke about.

Back in the car, before we left for our hour-long drive back to our Pismo Beach hotel, my partner (the one with the real sweet tooth) decided to try the Danish waffle. A few minutes later I was inside Mortensen's, ordering the pastry he came to Solvang to get.

While the staff was nice, and the pastries were average, I'm pretty sure we've made our first and last purchase at Danish Mill Bakery.

If you are so inclined, please feel free to read my review of Mortensen's Danish Bakery titled, "Hands-Down, The Best Solvang Bakery".

I guess it's a good thing my partner decided to open the box and

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jvptravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Danish Mill Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing