We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel whilst with a tour during august 2013. I found the location was ok, solvang is very small so everything is within walking distance, it did have a convenience store opposite which was handy. The room was good, comfortable bed, clean and hot water. Our room was next to the road but its a quite town so the traffic did not cause any problem. The swimming pool was a nice bonus, with a small Jacuzzi. The included breakfast was great, including eggs, bacon, pastrys, cereal and a few other options, we did go in prime time and there was a slight wait for seats. Overall I think this is a great one night stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emilypeters92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Emilypeters92,

Thanks for staying with us, and for the great review. It's nice to hear that the location was ideal and that you enjoyed our services and amenities. If you return to the area in the future, please consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    175
    103
    34
    31
See reviews for
147
173
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Culver City, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

Before my stay I tried to call and no one called me back. When I got there the shower handle is broken and the shower got so hot I was burned. The beds are so uncomfortable I think I need to see my chiropractor. ...do not go there please!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lacey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Lacy H,

Thank you for staying with us. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced while you were here. Your feedback is very important and will be shared to ensure better future stays. Please consider staying with us again if you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Two friends from Orange County that enjoy food and wine as much as we do had offered to take us to Santa Barbara County Wine Country at the end of our three week visit to the USA, and made reservations for the four of us at Holiday Inn Express Solvang for two nights (July 24 and 25 - Rooms 112 and 114).

The hotel was almost exactly as one would expect of a Holiday Inn Express. Our bed was comfortable, with both soft and hard pillows on the bed. Bathroom amenities were as are on offer at most Holiday Inn Express properties, and I thought the towels were of above average quality.

When we returned to the property at 3:00PM on Thursday afternoon for a nap, our room had not yet been serviced. We were happy just to get fresh towels, but none were available for us at the time, but they were delivered later that evening, so no worries at all with this

Unfortunately, when we went to pack everything in to our friends' car (which was parked in the private lot under the Holiday Inn Express) on Friday morning, we discovered that their car had been broken in to (there were distinct finger, thumb, and hand prints at the top of the driver's door window), the trunk then opened, and a box containing five bottles of wine that we had purchased during our visits to wineries on Thursday had been stolen.

One of our friends went to the front desk to inform one of the staff of what had happened, and the reaction was of disinterest at best, but she did at least say "sorry". Calling the police would have been a waste of time, which was at a premium, as we had to return to LA for some business before our flight back to Australia - and there's no way the police would ever recover the wine for us.

While we can't actually "blame" the Holiday Inn Express management or staff for the burglary, the experience left us feeling violated and disappointed.

Let this serve as a warning (and a "lesson learned" for us): don't leave things of value in a vehicle.

Room Tip: Rooms could use with a refresh.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Charles S,

Thank you for staying with us. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your room with the amenities and that the towels were above average!
I am very sorry to hear about the wine that was stolen out of your car. We hope you return to our hotel. If you decide to visit us again I will have a bottle of wine in your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Solvang hotels

Level Contributor
191 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We have stayed at several properties in Solvang previously and made this booking at the last minute because we wanted to attend the acclaimed Theaterfest in town. Weekends are busy in Solvang so plan ahead.
The hotel is located on the edge of town as your approach Solvang from the freeway. It is in a convenient location and you essentially can walk to everything leaving your car parked in their underground garage.
The faux Danish architecture is similar to what you find throughout Solvang but the rooms themselves are standard fare. Holiday Inn is predictable so there shouldn't be any surprises.

Unfortunately, this hotel is in bad need of a refresh. The rooms are shabby; in our room the wallpaper was beginning to bubble and the bathroom had a moldy smell.

Solvang is a fun place to visit but I will view this hotel as only a convenient stopover to sleep; you will want to find things to do in Solvang and not hang out at the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Theroadwarrior12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Theroadwarrior12,

I’m disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. I just want to assure you that our Hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. I apologize that we fell below your expectations on this particular day. I do hope you decide to give us another chance for a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This is not your typical newer Holiday Inn Express. It really shows it's age. That being said, the hotel does have a few things going for it:
1- Saroja at the front desk. We travel the world and are elite members of several of the big chains. This woman is one of the best! Very friendly and helpful. When I had to make a call and use the breakfast room in the afternoon, she even turned down the a/c so that i would be more comfortable. Be sure to ask for her when you get there.
2- Location. A perfect location as you enter the town. You can walk to everything and leave your car in the underground parking.
3- The rooms are above average in size.
4 - Breakfast was pretty good, typical of these type of hotels...I hope you like your carbs!
Would we stay here again? Yes. I like to get frequent stay points, so this is the only "chain" in town I believe.

Room Tip: I would pick a room in the main building to be more convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear GregArizona,

We are glad you enjoyed staying with us on your week long trip. We have an amazing staff that really takes pride in providing a comfortable and clean atmosphere.I will pass this great rewiew on to Saroja as well as her Supervisor. We thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

The only way a hotel will get a "terrible" rating from me, is if an employee goes the extra mile to make it bad. This is not the case. However, I wouldn't recommend this hotel at all. The location is very good, the amenities are very poor. Solvang is a really beautiful place to visit and all over town you can see nice hotels/motels which look way nicer and better than this one. Service at check in is far from being "good" without going in detail. Avoid room 141 at any cost!! I wonder if the manager of this hotel would ever place their family in such a room. I always say, if it's clean, it's ok. Because of this we didn't move out but I wish I knew better ahead of arriving here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eddy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear Eddy S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your challenges while visiting us. I am sorry your stay was not of the caliber that most of our guests enjoy. I did take note of your comments about the room 141. We take these comments seriously as we are always attempting to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun City, California, United States
Level Contributor
455 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Boy has this place gone down hill fast. Service here used to be important. W arrived in the afternoon & checked in but there were no luggage carts.. I looked around & found the staff was using them for room upkeep (towels & such) I complained to the mgr & he said "they need them right now" What..? I"M THE GUEST. Unfortunately it doesn't end there. We drug our luggage to our rooms & went to dinner. When we returned to relax, we found our TV didn't work.. called the front desk at 8pm.. said someone would be up to look at it. Bout 11pm called again to see what was up.. new staff said all fixit staff home for the night Now I was getting a bit peeved. asked in the morning to change to a functioning room..

Breakfast was equally special.. there was a limited selection unlike most Holidays & instead of running the air to keep the place cool someone in their infinite stupidity decided to save a couple pennies & instead of running the air propped open the outside doors & a bird was flying around the dining room & kitchen. I know the b-fast is free but COME ON..!!

Came back after shopping & now they were full & we would again have no TV.. NO sorry.. NO discount.. just "It should be working" the next morning we checked out (ate b-fast in town) & went to the Marriott 10 minutes down the road to stay the other 2 nights we had planned for the area. To our surprise they were cleaner & $30 cheaper with a large pool, tennis court & fitness center.. oh & a porter brought our luggage to our room

If your looking for service & value.. look somewhere else. The staff & management here at this Holiday property only cares about taking your money

Room Tip: Go Somewhere Else.. the place is dirty & the staff is uncaring
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear Christopher W,

I would like to first thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your stay. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. We strive to ensure our guests receive the up most customer care and cleanliness during their stay. It is disappointing that you did not receive that while here with us.

Again, I apologize for all the inconveniences you experienced during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Solvang hotels
0.2 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.1 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kronborg Inn
Kronborg Inn
#7 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Solvang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Solvang

Property: Holiday Inn Express Solvang
Address: 1455 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2915
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Solvang 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come discover the preferred destination of travelers visiting the Santa Ynez Valley, the Holiday Inn Express Solvang. We are centrally located in the Danish Town of Solvang, walking distance to all of its major attractions. It is best known for its shopping, restaurants, chocolate factories and wine tasting rooms! Our hotel is centrally located within Santa Barbara County's Wine Valley. The Holiday Inn Express Solvang is within minutes to Vandenberg Air Force Base, renowned Wineries such as Firestone, Gainey, Buttonwood and Rusack. If you are a golf enthusiast then make the Holiday Inn Express Solvang your golfing headquarters. With our Monthly Golf Packages, you can golf at courses such as The Alisal River Course and La Purisima Golf Course.Our hotel is conveniently located just 30 minutes from the city of Santa Barbara, 20 minutes from Vandenberg Air Force Base and 30 minutes away from Santa Maria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Solvang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Solvang Hotel Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing