We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in all aspects; looking forward to go back.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Mayaguez, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
365 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Excellent in all aspects; looking forward to go back.”
Reviewed 22 August 2010

I loved the town of Solvang, and the HI Express. It has an awesome location, and it's ver beautiful. No complaints.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golflover26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    175
    104
    35
    31
See reviews for
147
176
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
VA
Level Contributor
123 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2010

Stepping into this motel (with an "M" not an "H") is like going back in time to the days when vacationing with mom and dad meant driving somewhere and staying at what you now realize was a dumpy motel.

This place dates back to the LBJ administration and has only seen modest improvements since (including wireless Internet and flat screen TVs). Beyond that, it's retro all the way (I was disappointed not to see a "Sanitized for your protection" wrapper on the toilet). Retro might not be bad at a certain price, but not at $90+.

Beds were OK, but whenever someone walked upstairs you knew. Shower had the HIE showerhead on it, but the green tiles were from an era of the orange Howard Johnson's roof.

The only reason we chose this place was because it was on the way from SF to Santa Barbara and SB was very expensive. We should have paid. As for Solvang, it's a real 1960s tourist trap, with buildings and stores meant to replicate a Danish village. Maybe stop here for a few hours, but don't stay. Also, the HIE seemed to be the only chain motel in town. Can only imagine what the others are like.

If you want to show the kids what vacation was like when you were a kid, this is the place. Otherwise, drive on.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HonestReviewForU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman Oaks, CA
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2010

We were traveling with my husband and I, our 4 year old, and grandparents. We got a queen bed loft room which was large and a good layout for our family. Grandparents could have some privacy in the loft. The room had a small fridge and microwave which was nice. The room was expensive for what it was, $200 a night which was the AAA rate. Solvang hotels rooms are expensive on the weekends, but this still seemed a little high.

We checked in late Friday night. The sink in our room did not drain and the bath tub plug did not work, so no bath for our 4 year old and hard time washing hands and brushing teeth. We had only 3 bath towels, 2 hand towels and 2 wash clothes. Otherwise the room was clean.

We called in the morning to get the sink and tub fixed and for extra towels. Someone came during the day and fixed the sink and replaced the tub plug, but they had spilled water all over the carpet next to the sink which was soaking wet the rest of the weekend. They also did not deliver the towels. After another call, we got towels.

I found the front desk people to be helpful, but a little rude. For example, when I checked out, the woman at the front desk said nothing to me when I approached the desk and said I was checking out. I then asked to move our balance to another credit card and upon printing the receipt she said, "the receipt shows the balance on the new card." Those were her only words to me during the entire transaction. Additionally, when I called to have the bathroom issues fixed and towels delivered the front desk attendant said she would send someone to fix the bathroom problems, but she did not take care of towels. When I asked for the number for housekeeping, she then volunteered to call for me, but apparently did not because no towels arrived.

Breakfast was fine, but not great. Several cereal selections, a few hot selections that were not very good, good cinnamon rolls, muffins, bagels, and a nice selection of juices, tea, coffee, etc..

The hotel is in a good location, easy walking distance to town. Our room faced the back and was very quiet. I think it is a good option for traveling with extended family since the room layout is nice, but when traveling as a couple, I would stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShermanOaks70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2010

Our family consisted of younger grandparents, a child and a teenager. We all loved it here. The room was wonderful....a loft bedroom upstairs, 2 queen downstairs, sm balcony, micro & Fridge. What more could you ask for. Parking in attached garage.
Within walking distance of town. The staff was very professional and accommodating. A great stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank litaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chula Vista, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2010

My wife and I hurt ourselves upon coming into contact with the bed frame which was sticking our from the bottom of the mattress box by about 10".
Local staff acted on this immediately, but after repeated attempts to contact some sort of management via the "CONTACT US" button on various HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS pages, and a week later, I still haven't heard one comment from management.
Nice place but something like this should NEVER have been overlooked by the cleaning staff!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boiler1Maker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Solvang hotels

Hacienda Heights, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2010

nothing special from the outside but room was oversized and clean pool was small but fun breakfast was complimentary and very good not just coffe and toast but bacon omelettes etc. mini fridge and microwave in room.

had some key issues but all was good and would stay there agin if traveling with my family. in the heart of solvang walking distance to everything

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jami P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2010

We were looking for a reasonably priced hotel in Solvang; one where we could walk to everything. This was right at the start of the "strip", so that was fine. We chose the "loft" room, and it was HUGE. Two queen beds downstairs, and one upstairs. The upstairs loft had it's own TV, too. We were put facing the street. None of us slept much because of the street noise~remember, this is the main street in/out of Solvang, and residents/business deliveries go through here. We asked to be changed to another loft room, and were moved to the smaller building next door, facing some nice trees. The remainder of our trip we slept great! It was really nice having "elbow room". Never had a budget hotel with that much room! The room appeared to have a recent refurbishment, but you can tell it is old. We had trouble with the refridgerator working and one of the plugs next to a bed didn't work, so we had to choose between a light and the clock.

Both gates to the pool were broken. One was screwed closed, and unusable. The other one needed someone from the inside to open it (have no idea how the first person would have gotten in!). They never had towels, and we always had to ask for some. The pool was nice and warm, because it is heated.

Our room only had one set of towels for the four of us, so I tried repeatedly to call the front desk for more, but they never picked up. Had to walk over to the next building to go there and request them. They delivered them right away.

The continental breakfast was a big disappointment. Knowing you're in Solvang, you'd think they would have some pasteries that were better than those from Costco. Even the OJ was sour. We opted to eat breakfast in pasteries or restaurants, since we wanted to experience the danish foods. SOOOO glad we did!

They also had free WiFi, which was great. They had a computer for customer use, but it was only on a shelf in the lobby, so you couldn't sit and surf. It also blocked some sites, one of which was Facebook. My daughter wasn't very happy about that.

Would I stay there again? No. There are so many hotels/motels in the area, I'd probably opt for something different, just to check out another place. Where ever you stay, be sure to ask for a room not facing the main street!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tallpkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Solvang hotels
0.2 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.1 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
888 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
243 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kronborg Inn
Kronborg Inn
#7 of 10 in Solvang
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Solvang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Solvang

Property: Holiday Inn Express Solvang
Address: 1455 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2915
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Solvang 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come discover the preferred destination of travelers visiting the Santa Ynez Valley, the Holiday Inn Express Solvang. We are centrally located in the Danish Town of Solvang, walking distance to all of its major attractions. It is best known for its shopping, restaurants, chocolate factories and wine tasting rooms! Our hotel is centrally located within Santa Barbara County's Wine Valley. The Holiday Inn Express Solvang is within minutes to Vandenberg Air Force Base, renowned Wineries such as Firestone, Gainey, Buttonwood and Rusack. If you are a golf enthusiast then make the Holiday Inn Express Solvang your golfing headquarters. With our Monthly Golf Packages, you can golf at courses such as The Alisal River Course and La Purisima Golf Course.Our hotel is conveniently located just 30 minutes from the city of Santa Barbara, 20 minutes from Vandenberg Air Force Base and 30 minutes away from Santa Maria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Solvang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Solvang Hotel Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing