We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best danish in Solvang”

Olsen's Danish Village Bakery
Ranked #1 of 11 Dessert in Solvang
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Authentic Danish pastries and breads. Family owned by a Danish family from Denmark that moved to Solvang in 1970 bringing with them the families bakery recipes. These recipes were created by the current owner's Great, Great, Great Grand Father. Have a great day discovering our "Danish Village."
Solvang, California, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best danish in Solvang”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

By far the best cheese danish in Solvang. Flaky and the sweetness is just right. The Danish butter ring and the bear claws are our family favorites.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olsensbakery, Public Relations Manager at Olsen's Danish Village Bakery, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for the five star review we look forward to serving you in the future.
Olsens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    114
    24
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Solvang, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best Bakery In Solvang”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I have lived in Solvang for 30 years. Bent Olsen, the owner, uses the original recipes of four generations of bakers in his family. It truly is the best and most authentic flavor of danish pastry in Solvang!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kris064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olsensbakery, Public Relations Manager at Olsen's Danish Village Bakery, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for the five star review we look forward to serving you in the future.
Olsens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Cookies!! Friendly staff!!”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We went to Olsen's Danish Bakery yesterday for the first time in probably 20 years! And the place is the same as it has always been. I bought the tub of cookies for my family and I to share. They are the most delicious and fresh butter cookies I have ever had. The woman who assisted me was so friendly and funny. You can tell this establishment caters to their patrons and appreciate your business.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bestshoeshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumont, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Yummy!!!”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

All of their pastries are delicious! They have a huge selection and it's hard to decide because everything looks and is amazing!! We always get several containers of their butter cookies for friends and family (and us)!! They are heavenly!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PennyB263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
142 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

WOW! is all I can say about the choices and the tastes we had at this bakery. It was difficult to choose but, we had another cup of coffee and chose again. The cinnamon roll is superb, the strudel was marvelous, the danish was out of this world and the butter cookies melted in your mouth. They have tables inside and out, boxes of cookies that you can take home and a small gift shop in the next room. They do a steady business and everyone takes their time since there are 5 (count them - 5) cases full of their goodies.
They also have a website and you an order online.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Olsen's Danish Village Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Olsen's Danish Village Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing