We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the apricot danish, skip the Sarah Bernhardt”

Olsen's Danish Village Bakery
Ranked #1 of 11 Dessert in Solvang
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Authentic Danish pastries and breads. Family owned by a Danish family from Denmark that moved to Solvang in 1970 bringing with them the families bakery recipes. These recipes were created by the current owner's Great, Great, Great Grand Father. Have a great day discovering our "Danish Village."
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This bakery and Solvang makes for a great break if travelling the scenic drive from Big Sur or Morro Bay to Santa Barbara. The apricot danish was flaky and can taste the use of fresh fruit without being too sweet. The Sarah Bernhardt was ok but was not spectacular as other items in the displays looked tastier. We also got a small box of assorted butter cookies to go which we enjoyed over the following few days.
There is limited free parking directly in front of the bakery but there is another free parking lot on the other side of the street.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Pinter17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olsensbakery, Public Relations Manager at Olsen's Danish Village Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you for your four star review. And yes there is public parking about a half block East on the other side of the street we hope to see you soon.
Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

243 - 247 of 389 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

By far the best cheese danish in Solvang. Flaky and the sweetness is just right. The Danish butter ring and the bear claws are our family favorites.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Helena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olsensbakery, Public Relations Manager at Olsen's Danish Village Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for the five star review we look forward to serving you in the future.
Olsens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I have lived in Solvang for 30 years. Bent Olsen, the owner, uses the original recipes of four generations of bakers in his family. It truly is the best and most authentic flavor of danish pastry in Solvang!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kris064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olsensbakery, Public Relations Manager at Olsen's Danish Village Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for the five star review we look forward to serving you in the future.
Olsens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We went to Olsen's Danish Bakery yesterday for the first time in probably 20 years! And the place is the same as it has always been. I bought the tub of cookies for my family and I to share. They are the most delicious and fresh butter cookies I have ever had. The woman who assisted me was so friendly and funny. You can tell this establishment caters to their patrons and appreciate your business.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bestshoeshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

All of their pastries are delicious! They have a huge selection and it's hard to decide because everything looks and is amazing!! We always get several containers of their butter cookies for friends and family (and us)!! They are heavenly!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PennyB263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Olsen's Danish Village Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Olsen's Danish Village Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing