We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swiss Delight is all you need”

Olsen's Danish Village Bakery
Ranked #1 of 11 Dessert in Solvang
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Authentic Danish pastries and breads. Family owned by a Danish family from Denmark that moved to Solvang in 1970 bringing with them the families bakery recipes. These recipes were created by the current owner's Great, Great, Great Grand Father. Have a great day discovering our "Danish Village."
Reviewed 7 May 2014

If you like cakes on the light side, do get the Swiss Delight, which is an almond flour base meringue cake roll filled with whipped cream and chocolate shavings, rolled with toasted almonds...it's to die for--no, I mean, to live for!!!

1  Thank stepsinthesand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olsensbakery, Public Relations Manager at Olsen's Danish Village Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for the 4 Stars. We are glad you enjoyed the Swiss Delight and hope you come back again when you are in Solvang. The next time you are in ask for Bent or Susy the owners they would enjoy meeting you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

247 - 251 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

Just picked up some pastries on our way out of Solvang to share with family and friends. Everyone (including myself) truly enjoyed them.

1  Thank CalifSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olsensbakery, Public Relations Manager at Olsen's Danish Village Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for the 4 stars. We are glad you stopped on your way out of town and hope you will come back soon. Next time you are in ask for Bent or Susy, they would enjoy getting to know you and your friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We love the ambiance and friendly service. We each ordered a different danish and both were too sweet. Good coffee though, It is fun to sit on the patio.

1  Thank Anaundda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olsensbakery, Public Relations Manager at Olsen's Danish Village Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

So glad that you enjoyed the service and ambiance. We apologize if the pastries were too sweet for you. We really do try our best to satisfy all our customers. Perhaps next time ask for Bent and he can recommend items for you to enjoy that are not so sweet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This bakery and Solvang makes for a great break if travelling the scenic drive from Big Sur or Morro Bay to Santa Barbara. The apricot danish was flaky and can taste the use of fresh fruit without being too sweet. The Sarah Bernhardt was ok but was not spectacular as other items in the displays looked tastier. We also got a small box of assorted butter cookies to go which we enjoyed over the following few days.
There is limited free parking directly in front of the bakery but there is another free parking lot on the other side of the street.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Pinter17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olsensbakery, Public Relations Manager at Olsen's Danish Village Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you for your four star review. And yes there is public parking about a half block East on the other side of the street we hope to see you soon.
Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

By far the best cheese danish in Solvang. Flaky and the sweetness is just right. The Danish butter ring and the bear claws are our family favorites.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Helena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olsensbakery, Public Relations Manager at Olsen's Danish Village Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for the five star review we look forward to serving you in the future.
Olsens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Olsen's Danish Village Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Olsen's Danish Village Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing