We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best pumpernickel bread!”

Olsen's Danish Village Bakery
Ranked #1 of 11 Dessert in Solvang
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, European, Scandinavian, Danish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Authentic Danish pastries and breads. Family owned by a Danish family from Denmark that moved to Solvang in 1970 bringing with them the families bakery recipes. These recipes were created by the current owner's Great, Great, Great Grand Father. Have a great day discovering our "Danish Village."
solvang ca
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best pumpernickel bread!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is one of my favorite bakeries in Solvang! They bake excellent pastries and an assortment of Danish breads! I especially love the pumpernickel bread with sunflower seeds! Also their Butterring and other pastries, well I pretty much enjoy everything in the shop!! Also for special occasions they make cakes to order, be it a Danish style wedding cake or a wonderful birthday cake!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank janetwines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olsensbakery, Public Relations Manager at Olsen's Danish Village Bakery, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for the 5 Star Review. We would also like to thank you for your continued fine business and if we can ever do anything special for you please ask the staff or either Bent or Susy. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    113
    24
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best Bakery in Solvang!!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We LOVE this place! Everytime we pass through Solvang this is our "go to" bakery. We get a variety of different things. The service is always good. The selection is amazing & they have great prices. It's also conveniently located right on the main drag, Mission Dr. Enjoy!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ArizonaMarathongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olsensbakery, Public Relations Manager at Olsen's Danish Village Bakery, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for the 5 stars and your continued business. The next time you are in town and stop in ask for Bent or Susy they would enjoy meeting you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, CA
Level Contributor
215 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Swiss Delight is all you need”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

If you like cakes on the light side, do get the Swiss Delight, which is an almond flour base meringue cake roll filled with whipped cream and chocolate shavings, rolled with toasted almonds...it's to die for--no, I mean, to live for!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank stepsinthesand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olsensbakery, Public Relations Manager at Olsen's Danish Village Bakery, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for the 4 Stars. We are glad you enjoyed the Swiss Delight and hope you come back again when you are in Solvang. The next time you are in ask for Bent or Susy the owners they would enjoy meeting you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
182 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great pastries”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Just picked up some pastries on our way out of Solvang to share with family and friends. Everyone (including myself) truly enjoyed them.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CalifSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olsensbakery, Public Relations Manager at Olsen's Danish Village Bakery, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for the 4 stars. We are glad you stopped on your way out of town and hope you will come back soon. Next time you are in ask for Bent or Susy, they would enjoy getting to know you and your friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Danish too sweet”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We love the ambiance and friendly service. We each ordered a different danish and both were too sweet. Good coffee though, It is fun to sit on the patio.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anaundda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olsensbakery, Public Relations Manager at Olsen's Danish Village Bakery, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
So glad that you enjoyed the service and ambiance. We apologize if the pastries were too sweet for you. We really do try our best to satisfy all our customers. Perhaps next time ask for Bent and he can recommend items for you to enjoy that are not so sweet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Olsen's Danish Village Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Olsen's Danish Village Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing