We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A trip back to my Finnish roots” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elverhoj Museum

Elverhoj Museum
Ranked #6 of 53 things to do in Solvang
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Housed in the former home of a Solvang family, this musuem is devoted solely to Danish culture and the Danish-American experience.
oregon
Level Contributor
107 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A trip back to my Finnish roots”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

Until we visited here my husband was not aware I had some Finnish blood coursing through my veins! A lot of good history and museum quality pieces to be seen here. Loved the painted cupboards in the kitchen.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank barbararob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    35
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Olivos, Ca
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“The beating heart of Solvang”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

A must-see stop in Solvang for intelligent visitors, the Elverhoj (elves on a hill) Museum chronicles the past of the Viking village and features ever-changing exhibits of current art as well. Helmed by lifetime local Esther Jacobsen Bates, the charm and warmth of this small cultural gem will change Solvang skeptics into true believers. Kids love it too. Voluntary donation, well worth it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank valleynotebook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemet
Level Contributor
219 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Worth the hunt!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

My wife and I made a mid-week visit to Solvang to get away during Spring break. We went here because we knew this would be a place less crowded and free of the college crowd. On Tuesday, we went into town from our motel in Lompoc and saw the road signs directing us to the museum. Located in a residential neighborhood south of Mission (Hwy 246), we discovered a great place to learn about the city which was founded in 1911 by a group of Danes who came to the U.S. to find a better life.
Along with some interesting exhibits, there is also an intriguing exhibit of paintings by local artists. This exhibition area changes it's contents from time to time, so you may find something else when you visit.
Be sure you check their days/hours of operation. The museum only opens Wednesday through Sunday. If you want to know about the development of the area, budget up to 2 to 3 hours to see everything. You can see things in less time, if you just want to see the exhibits quickly.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tmgreen777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

If you are visiting the City of Solvang and want to know more about its Danish heritage than the pastries and souvenirs that abound, you could visit this Museum. It is off the beaten track and is housed in a former private home with the addition of an art gallery with changing exhibitions. Excellent gift shop of quality items.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“An unexpectedly charming museum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

We wandered into this delightful museum on a rainy day, and it was the highlight of our trip to Solvang. The museum guides were wonderful storytellers, and were so very welcoming. There is no fee, but donations are accepted, and deserved. This museum houses some very unique items, and shows a slice of Danish life and culture. The green kitchen walls, covered with panels of painted flowers was worth the trip alone! Whether you have an hour to spare, as we did, or even longer, as we wished we had, this museum is a must see if you visit Solvang!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Debru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Elverhoj Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing