We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average is Good!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Copenhagen Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Solvang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2013

My wife and I along with some 50 plus members of a Southern California Mini Cooper Car Club (SCMM) did a yearly run to Solvang. A majority of the members stayed at the Royal Copenhagen Inn. Some members did not. Since the hotel did not allow for a one night stay. Only a two night minimun. Something to consider.

Having arrived late. 10:00pm the front desk person gave us a warm greeting and was very helpful in directing us to local restaurants which were open that time of night and were within walking distance.

We stayed in Room 208 which had a pool view on 2nd floor. This hotel accepts dogs and has a garden area for them.

Our room had a king size bed and large bathroom. Wifi, cable and small refrigerator. Wifi cuts out, cable does not have HBO etc. One good thing is the free fresh danish served in the morning along with coffee, tea and other continental breakfast treats etc.

Overall the hotel rooms are starting to show their age. But so is Solvang. It's suppose to look like an old town. LOL.

Although, we only stayed 2 nights. The hotel was clean and well maintained. Even though we did not use the pool. The service man cleaning the pool said the water temp is kept at 82 degrees year round.

The Royal Copenhagen is on the main drag and is walking distance to all restaurants and shops and is well worth staying for 2 nights.

Recommended Stops in Solvang: Root 246 for dinner. 420 Alisal Road. Outside dining, Walking distance from hotel
and Fresco Valley Cafe 442 Atterdag Road. Outside dining. Walking distance from hotel.
Music and Wine. The Mole Hole 1656 Mission Drive. Walking distance from hotel. Limited seating. Good wine bar.

Room Tip: Being on the 2nd floor the only noice came in the morning from water pipes." People taking show...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SamHuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

215 - 221 of 375 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

My husband our two kids and our dear corgi and I stayed at The Royal Copenhagen Inn for 3 nights in November 2012 and we're getting ready to return. It's quaint and clean. The beds could have been more comfortable but the location is great.Walking distance to shops and restaurants.It's not brand new it was as pictured. The service is friendly and kind. The continental breakfast has lovely pastries. What impressed us most was the enclosed Secret Garden where our dog could run unleashed. It really made our stay. In general Solvang is dog friendly. Many shops have water bowls outside and several offer dog biscuits. The pool was clean and the water was clear. They also have a life size chess and checker game in the pool area. This provided great bonding time for us as a family. Isn't that what family vacations are for?

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyzreadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed at the Royal Copenhagen Inn for three days during Labor Day Weekend. We arrived Friday evening and checked out Monday morning. The hotel is located right in the middle of Mission Street, which is one of the main streets and has a lot of restaurants and other hotels. Copenhagen drive, which also has a lot of restaurants and shops is just a 2 min walk. From the outside, its very clean and cute.

We had a king room and it was basic, but clean. The rooms are definitely older and could use a little bit of upgrading. New carpets would be my first suggestion. Our room had a giant A/C unit, but wasn't really placed in the best spot. It was close to the door and the bathroom, so it cooled those two areas more than the rest of the room.

I liked the look of the hotel on the outside and it is a good option if people are just looking for a place to rest their heads.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAli2Everywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This hotel is adorable. It's older and certainly not fancy, but it's charming and right in the center of everything. Our bed was comfortable and I slept like a rock. We spent one afternoon in the pool which was small, but never crowded and really nice.

As for the details, no room service. Not much food on site at all, but there is a little fridge in your room. They offer a free continental breakfast. No in-room movie rentals... nothing like that. Very basic. The A/C unit in the room worked remarkably well though. We will go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jennphonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

My husband, our dog, and I stayed here at the end of July. The outside is very cute and quaint, like a little Danish village. The rooms were okay, dated and worn but clean,,,although the bathroom was a little dingy around the edges.
The continental breakfast was good with pastries from a local bakery. The staff was friendly.
Our favorite part was the secret garden where we were able to take our dog for some off leash play. It was peaceful, clean (except one time we had to clean up after someone else's dog), and nicely landscaped. We ended up staying a second night and had to move to a different room. This worked out well because the room we moved to was an upstairs unit and was much quieter. I think the people above us on the first night were letting their kids run relay races for half the night.
We did find it ironic that as pet owners we had to sign a form saying we could be kicked out if our dog was too noisy. I don't think we heard one barking dog the whole time, but we did hear a lot of screaming kids.
We will stay there again if we make it back to Solvang.

Room Tip: Make sure and ask for an upstairs room if you don't want to risk being kept awake by the people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CollenF913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed here on August 23rd.  On the positive side, the pool was great, the continental breakfast was typical, but with good Danish, and the location was an easy walk to town.  But the bathroom floor was dirty, there were disgusting stains on the sheets and no piece of furniture matched any other and looked like they came from a flea market.  And the internet speed is the slowest i've seen in a long time -- almost unusable.  We wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlesFremont_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

For the past 10 years about 12 of us go to Solvang the middle of August on a Sunday, Monday and Tuesday. Six of those years we stayed at the Royal Scandinavian. It was then purchased by the local Casino and changed to The Corque. (I wrote a review on that hotel) long and short we stayed there for two years but were priced out of the new hotel. We then tried one year at the Holiday Inn Express, didn't like that place at all. This year we tried the Royal Copenhagen Inn. We were not expecting anything great put since the price was only $89.00 a night we said we will try it. Check in was easy and our room was right across from the office room 129. You can park right in front of your room which makes its nice for unloading the car. The rooms are dated but very clean and the bed was comfortable. They provide you with a Refrigerator, Free WiFi, Iron and hair dryer. So we were very satisfied with our room. The Inn is very expansive so you don't feel closed in. The pool area was fabulous. Every night we always get together for happy hour, we bring snacks and wine sit around the pool area and talk. Other hotels sometimes you couldn't get a table because others were sitting there but at the RC they had plenty of tables and chairs. Yes it is a dog friendly place and they do have special rooms for pet owners so you don't have to worry that your room will smell of dog. They are supposed to keep the dogs out of the pool area but people don't and the hotel did not enforce it. As long as the dog didn't go into the pool or use the area to do it's business, we didn't care that the dog was there. We didn't have the free continental breakfast because their are such good breakfast restaurants in Solvang but I did have the coffee which was good and hot. We all loved the RC and this will now be our new yearly place to go. Oh and it's only about 2 blocks from all the shopping areas on Copenhagen street.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TereseW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rci2009, Public Relations Manager at Royal Copenhagen Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post. So glad you enjoyed your stay...We look forward to your visit next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Solvang hotels
0.2 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#2 of 11 in Solvang
919 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 11 in Solvang
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 11 in Solvang
265 reviews
0.3 mi away
Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn
0.1 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#3 of 11 in Solvang
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Copenhagen Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Copenhagen Inn

Address: 1579 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2655
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Solvang
Price Range: £72 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Copenhagen Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Copenhagen Inn is located in the heart of Solvang, surrounded by its finest shops, restaurants and bakeries. The Royal Copenhagen will have you believing you have traveled to Denmark. The Inn is built in the traditional style of a village, or neighborhood, with the outside of the buildings being exact duplicates of the buildings found on a street in Copenhagen. Escape into the old world grace and charm of the Royal Copenhagen Inn, located downtown in the Danish village of Solvang. We are small enough to provide personal service and our professional staff will make you feel like royalty.Our rooms are all decorated in the Danish tradition and are more spacious than your typical hotel room. The rooms come with a large walk-in shower and each is different in its architecture. All rooms have cable TV, AC, coffee makers and refrigerators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Copenhagen Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Copenhagen Hotel Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing