We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“comfortable, clean and friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Copenhagen Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Copenhagen Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Solvang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Fe Springs, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“comfortable, clean and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

I have been staying at the Royal Copenhagen Inn for many years now. It is reasonably priced and a good value for the area. It is always clean and it is centrally located with an easy walk to the main street of Solvang and all the shops. I recommend staying there and you will see what I mean.

Room Tip: upper rooms are more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    161
    49
    15
    6
See reviews for
104
147
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We stopped here for a night while driving down the coast. When we arrived the lady at the front desk was very welcoming and friendly. Our room was nothing special but it was clean and that was really all I cared about. The property itself is cute just like the rest of Solvang.
I would definitely recommend staying here if you need a decently priced place that is clean and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cloakofstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

We have stayed here many times and highly recommend this hotel. The location is perfect, the rooms very comfortable, and the breakfast is quite nice, with cereal, fruit, danish pastries, and toast. The gardens are very lovely, and the entire place feels very well managed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JanetfromCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

We were impressed at how clean this motel is and we would definitely stay here again. It is within walking distance of everything and the rooms are reasonably priced. They provided us with a free wine-tasting coupon at a nearby tasting room which was a very nice perk. The desk staff were friendly and helpful, making us feel welcome.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PPP68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Stayed here for a Solvang Double Century bike ride. The next morning all I really wanted was a nice hot shower. Unfortunately the water heater for our building was on the blink and there was no hot water. The front desk locked their door and turned the answering machine on for the phone so they could avoid our complaints. Another guest who was trying to check out of his room in a different building saw me waiting outside the closed lobby and let me shower in his room. Horrible customer service. At a minimum they should have let us shower in another room or rented us a room in another hotel to shower. I will NEVER stay here again. They did refund the cost of one night's stay but only after I complained. I don't think others got a refund because they just left

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bopsarino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rci2009, General Manager at Royal Copenhagen Inn, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are so sorry for the lack of hot water during your visit last year. We also regret that the compensation provided at that time was not enough to resolve the problem. We really strive to ensure that our guests always leave happy or at least satisfied that every effort was made to resolve any problems. A lot has happened in the past year. We have upgraded our water heaters. We have also expanded the hours of our front office. Previously, the front desk was only open from 8am to around 10pm which is likely why the door was locked when you went to the office. Our front desk is now open 24 hours so that we always have friendly staff on hand to take care of our guests’ needs. Again, your input is much appreciated as it is comments, like yours, from our guests that enable us to learn and improve. We hope you will give us another chance. You may contact me directly at 805-688-5561. Thank You. Seyde Garcia General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

I stayed here with my family for the second time and it was a wonderful experience. The rooms seem to have been newly renovated and are spacious. The rooms were clean, the person at the frontdesk extremely helpful and nice. The location and decor of this hotel is wonderful. Will definitely stay here again when I visit Solvang again,

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JegrealSanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles, ca
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

I just spent the night at the Royal Copenhagen Inn for New Years Eve. I was very comfortable in my room, and it was very clean, which is super important to me. I was in an upper over the pool, and I found the room to be in better shape than my friends that had adjoining rooms in the front. Their room looked a bit more worn. The bed was pretty comfortable, for a motel room, and again, very clean room. The room was slightly dated, but I didn't mind because it wasn't terrible, bad design and furniture.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kamarillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Solvang hotels
0.1 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.2 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
0.1 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Copenhagen Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Copenhagen Inn

Property: Royal Copenhagen Inn
Address: 1579 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2655
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Copenhagen Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Copenhagen Inn is located in the heart of Solvang, surrounded by its finest shops, restaurants and bakeries. The Royal Copenhagen will have you believing you have traveled to Denmark. The Inn is built in the traditional style of a village, or neighborhood, with the outside of the buildings being exact duplicates of the buildings found on a street in Copenhagen. Escape into the old world grace and charm of the Royal Copenhagen Inn, located downtown in the Danish village of Solvang. We are small enough to provide personal service and our professional staff will make you feel like royalty.Our rooms are all decorated in the Danish tradition and are more spacious than your typical hotel room. The rooms come with a large walk-in shower and each is different in its architecture. All rooms have cable TV, AC, coffee makers and refrigerators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Royal Copenhagen Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Copenhagen Hotel Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing