We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #3 of 8 Solvang B&B and Inns
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

This was a nice cosy inn with great service! The quaint design appealed to both my friend and I. It was within waking distance to anything. Having said so, if there could be a porter or an eatery within the hotel, it would be a good bonus. Cheaper to book via the Internet, so we are glad.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lareinang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svendsgaard, Guest Relations Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for staying with us at Svendsgaard's. Many of our local restaurants will deliver food to your room and we have one restaurant directly across the street open for lunch and dinner. We serve our breakfast each morning in the lobby or you are welcome to take back to your room. Hope on your next visit these handy hints will help and you can always ask our front desk for additional suggestions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    205
    85
    18
    21
See reviews for
111
183
22
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brasilia, DF
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The hotel is very simple, but quite comfortable. It is very close to the city center, which is very convenient - one can walk to all wine bars and tasting rooms without worrying about driving afterwards. Breakfast is ok, but they have very limited choice (basically danish pastries and bagels) and after a few days (we stayed for 4 nights) we got a bit tired of it.
Also, we went to the front desk twice to ask for information and the staff was not very attentive; we didn't feel very 'welcome' at their place. It was not a bad experience but I'll probably stay elsewhere on my next trip to Solvang.

Room Tip: Although some reviews here mention the noise, we stayed in the back of the hotel (room 9) and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danilo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svendsgaard, Guest Relations Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Hi Danilo,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us your four days in Solvang. I am so sorry our front desk staff was not as friendly as one would hope. A kind reminder from our General Manager will be given to the staff and thank you for your honesty. We hope your vacation continued to be joyous for you and your family.

Holly, Guest Relations Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Friendly staff, basic hotel. Clean, showing some age. Our stay was quiet, but the potential to be noisy was there - not entirely soundproof. Breakfast choices were bagel or danish pastry and juice/coffee. If you want a basic hotel that provides good value, Svendgaard’s will be fine.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lmhickey100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svendsgaard, Guest Relations Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Hello,

You were along way from home in Halifax when you visited in Solvang! Thank you for taking the time and giving us a review. We hope you enjoyed your visit with us and the surrounding area.

Holly, Guest Relations Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I treated my mom to a 3 day weekend in Solvang for her 70th birthday. We visited during the Wine Walk & Julefest. We were very happy with our stay at Svendsgaard's. The staff was very attentive & friendly. The room was a little outdated, yet clean and the beds were very comfy. I would suggest wearing earplugs if you are a light sleeper as this hotel is situated on a busy street. We were satisfied with the continental breakfast, it was fresh & convenient complete with Danish from the local Olsen's Bakery. The price was amazing compared to other hotels in the area. Best of all was the location, we didn't have to drive anywhere, we were within walking distance of everything in Solvang. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I would suggest requesting a room away from the busy Mission Dr.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank candlecraver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svendsgaard, Guest Relations Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Hello,

Solvang is a wonderful place to celebrate a birthday! We are so glad you and your mom were here with us to enjoy the town, Wine Walk and Julefest. And, yes it is nice to be able to park your car for a few days and just walk to everything. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon.

Holly, Guest Relations Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wurzburg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

It was my second, my husband's first visit to Solvang - and after a short late-afternoon stroll through Solvang, we suddenly stood opposite the Svendsgaard's Lodge. As we didn't want to leave the town yet, we asked for a hotel room. And were surprised when the lady told us the price. We couldn't help but take the room, which was absolutely gorgeous! The whole hotel is very charming, takes you back in time.
Moreover, Svendsgaard's Lodge is right at the center and in walking distance to all the sights in this beautiful little town.
If you're looking for a nice, cozy place to spend your holidays in Solvang: This is the place!

Room Tip: If you don't have issues going up stairs: There is that cute little room (queen) on the second/t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svendsgaard, Guest Relations Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Hi Kelly,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Svendsgaard's. It sounds like you and your husband had a great time in Solvang and the convenience of walking to dine and shop.
We hope you will make the Svendsgaard's "your home away from home" on your next visit.

Holly, Guest Relations Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We really enjoyed staying at this lodge. My husband and three young children and I stayed in the smaller room with two doubles and were very comfortable. It's a smaller to normal size room but there were two recliners that made it relaxing. The bathrooms were newly remodeled and very clean. I don't normally let my kids sit on hotel tub floors but I had no problem letting them do that here. They had a nice switch-on fireplace and a microwave and small fridge. The beds were comfortable enough but the pillows were thin. The location was wonderful. Convenient and with a great view of Solvang. The breakfast was served by an attendant and consisted of danishes from Olsen's Bakery, bagels, a few cereals, orange juice, coffee, tea and apples. The cheese danish was the best I've had in my life....but I don't get out much. We stayed over the Christmas break and paid $100/night for these rooms and felt it was a really great deal. All of the women at the front desk were really sweet. The pool was very clean but not heated - we saw a few people using the jacuzzi. I will most likely stay here again but maybe upgrade to one of the larger rooms or even one of the suites.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angellovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svendsgaard, Guest Relations Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for your extended review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you and your family again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollister, California
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

Room was such a great price $89 large king size bed, seperate room with fridge and microwave,another vanity room plus large bathroom. Fireplace in bedroom..great value..lady at desk upon checkin very sweet explained free breakfast,pool,jacuzzi, shop hrs,restraunts to us..room 26 had great view of pool..thanks for great stay walked to all shops etc definatley beats 2 other hotels in solvang ive stayed in..

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lopezhollister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svendsgaard, Guest Relations Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us in room #26. Yes, the gas log fireplace is a nice addition and we have 6 Deluxe King rooms with fireplaces and 4 large King Suites also with fireplaces. Thank you for taking the time to give us your positive review! Hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Solvang hotels
0.2 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
252 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
906 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
0.3 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn

Property: Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn
Address: 1711 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2624
Region: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Svendsgaard`s Lodge - Americas Best Value Hotel Solvang
Holiday Inn Solvang
Solvang Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing