We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #3 of 8 Solvang B&B and Inns
Zurich/Switzerland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“good deal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We had a comfortable stay at this motel, located within walking distance to the quaint, kitschy shops & restaurants of Solvang. The rooms are old and could do with a remodeling (especially the bathroom and carpets), but on the other hand you get a spacious room at a very good rate (and the bed was comfortable, with good quality sheets). The wifi only worked in the lobby, but we didn't mind because that is a nice place to hang out. We enjoyed the continental breakfast which you can order at a kitchen counter in the lobby (which is great, that keeps the space clean and stops fellow travelers from raiding the buffet..). All the staff are very friendly and helpful. All in all, a place we can recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SweetCountryWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svendsgaard, Guest Relations Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your recent stay with us in Solvang. We appreciate your comments and are in the process of updating our bathrooms. We hope you will visit us again soon.

Holly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    193
    82
    18
    21
See reviews for
101
178
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
182 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Located in the heart of Solvang. I was unsure about staying here, but the accommodations were decent and the continental breakfast very nice. Price was surely right as we usually stay at a property a block away that wanted three times as much for a room. Shower could use an update. Parking very easy. Really enjoyed our stay and will definitely return to this motel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CalifSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svendsgaard, Guest Relations Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your recent stay and taking the time to give your review of our property. We are happy you chose to give us a try and hope you were pleasantly surprised at our affordable option when staying in Solvang.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Our room is HUGE with loads of floor space, a super king sized bed, two armchairs, table, large chest of drawers, two bedside tables and mini fridge, microwave and coffee make in unit. Plus a separate dressing area with counter, sink and mirror and also a large wardrobe!

The bathroom is spacious with a largish shower, although the shower head is very low which proved a challenge for my 6foot+ boyfriend! lol The hotel even has a pool and a jacuzzi, which we enjoyed relaxing in until 9pm :-)

Our room price included a continental breakfast, which we didn’t get to try as we had a very early start - even though breakfast started at 7am! We couldn’t get the Wifi to work on our UK phones which was the only disappointment of the stay :-( But the bed was comfortable and the air con worked very well and ensured we had a great nights sleep. The old lady behind reception was really lovely, a good laugh and very helpful - a real asset to the hotel and made us feel immediately at home.

We paid approx £65 a night, which makes this hotel one of our best value rooms for our trip up Pacific Coast Highway. Our only regret is that we didn’t plan to stay longer in Solvang as it looks a delightful place to spend some time and this is a really nice place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svendsgaard, Guest Relations Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Sounds like Solvang was a destination you enjoyed on your recent travels! Thank you for staying with us at Svendsgaard's and we are happy you enjoyed the friendliness of our staff and your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

This is a very good accomodation at extremely reasonable rate- you can't beat the overall value here and proximity to town is excellent.. It's an older facility but the room was super-clean and comfortable. I was on the ground floor at the rear, away from the main highway which proved to be very quiet. The staff here is very friendly and helpful. 2 thumbs up, I'd most definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: consider a room at the rear of the facility for quiet stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bill92057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svendsgaard, Guest Relations Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Affordable Hospitality is exactly what we try to achieve at Svendgaard's with a warm and friendly atmosphere. Many of our guests call us "their home away from home"! Thank you for your recent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

This was such a surprise.Svendsgaard's Lodge was one of the best motels that we stayed at during our recent vacation to the west coast. Although the rooms aren't cutting edge, this is more than made up for by the quality of this motel and its location.Solvang is a fantastic place which deserved more than a one nights stay.The kids loved the pool and should we return to the area this motel will be top of our list to stay at.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svendsgaard, Guest Relations Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Svendsgaard's on your recent visit to Solvang. It is a great time to visit and enjoy our pool and jacuzzi after a long day walking around town and visiting the local wineries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

This is a cute little place in a cute little town. The ladies at the front desk where very nice and helpful. The room was clean and pretty spacious. They offered a continental breakfast in the morning which was nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JackJack6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svendsgaard, Guest Relations Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Our location is wonderful for walking and enjoying Solvang and we are happy to hear you did just that! Thank you for your recent stay and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fullerton, California, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We love to visit Solvang, but had never stayed at Svendsgaard's Lodge before. This is our new favorite place in Solvang. The room was huge. We even had a small dining area that was separate from the sleeping/sitting area. The price was low considering all the room had to offer. We had access to the pool from our room. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for the king room with the pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svendsgaard, Public Relations Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your extensive review of your stay with us at Svendsgaard's. My guess of the " lady enjoying the pool" on a colder day, must have been one of our Canadian guests. We have many "snowbirds" that Winter with us! We hope you can visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Solvang hotels
0.2 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.2 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
0.3 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn

Property: Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn
Address: 1711 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Svendsgaard`s Lodge - Americas Best Value Hotel Solvang
Holiday Inn Solvang
Solvang Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing