We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Solvang
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We have been staying here for over forty years and when we had our young children it was particularly great because many of the rooms have full kitchens with extra beds. With just the two of us I would now prefer a decent bed and pillows that don't hurt your neck. This place is clean but, in need of a complete overhaul. With Priceline we have stayed in Four star hotels that aren't as expensive as this place. We stayed here last year and I said,"never again" but, my husband is very sentimental and we tried one more time. The staff is extremely nice and If I had little ones I would maybe chose this again.

Room Tip: If you have a large family ask for room numbers 51, 52, or 55.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clarkelmft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svendsgaard, Guest Relations Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Hello,

Thank you for your review and patronage over the many years.

Holly and the entire Svendsgarrd's Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

138 - 144 of 437 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

The lady who checked us in was very helpful and gave us good information about the area. Our room was nice and clean and large, and had a fireplace. We didn't try it because it was warm. But we will be back when cooler weather sets in, then we will try it. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the price was great. Thank you so much!

Room Tip: We had room 2. It was great. We didn't really try fitness center and didn't bring kids...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babe19691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svendsgaard, Guest Relations Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give a review on our your stay with us at Svendsgaard's. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in Solvang. Our fireplace rooms are a nice addition in the Fall and Winter months, so we hope you will return later in the year to enjoy. I would recommend either 24,26,27,32,56 or 57 with the gas-log fireplaces. Just a note of clarification, we do not have a fitness center on our property so you didn't miss out.
Thank you again, Holly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed here for 1 night in a deluxe king. The room (linens) were clean, though the carpet could have benefited from a shampoo. All the furnishings and fixings were very dated but functional. Couldn't complain for a 1 night stay, though fairly expensive but so is the rest of Solvang on a Friday night. I'd try somewhere else rather than stay here again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Ian71037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svendsgaard, Guest Relations Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Hello,

We are thankful for your recent review. Friday and Saturday nights in Solvang are the busiest time as I am sure you are aware. Many guests request our deluxe kings with fireplaces and are very happy and surprised at the size of the room. Yes, we have the "in style" linen of triple sheeting, bed scarves and no comforter/bedspreads as this is now " industry standard". We are very sorry you felt we are dated - we are in the process of installing granite counters in all our bathrooms. Some of our architecture is "Danish" in the rooms with the carved valances etc... and that will be our forever trademark. They were hand done by one of the local danish carpenters when the hotel was built. Also, the wooden tables in the lobby were made by this same gentleman.

Thank you, Holly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Svendsgaards does have a great location and the rooms are large and clean. However we had a corner room so we had streets on two sides. There is a surprising amount of traffic on Hwy 246 and it goes on until quite late at night. We thought this would be solved by turning on the window a/c unit when we went to bed, but it made so much noise, there was no way to sleep with it on. If you are going to stay here (and the price makes it attractive), request a room at the back of the property. You will still be facing the main street, but you should be far enough back, that the noise should not be too much of a bother.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the front of the hotel, especially the corner rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAKath2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svendsgaard, Guest Relations Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Hello,

Thank you for staying with us at Svendsgaard's. Our quiet little town has seen an increase in traffic and we do apologize. Efforts have been made with changing out to a more sound proof type of window. The rooms in front have an amazing view of town and are requested by some of our repeat guests. However, if you are an extra light sleeper, I would suggest booking a room off the street or wearing ear plugs to sleep more soundly if you prefer the view in the front looking towards town.

Thank you again - Holly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Svendsgaards has a great location. It's in an average price range. It is small but quaint. Don't tasked their advice on food choices however, they sent us to the most disgusting food I've ever eaten in Solvang, and told us it was the best place in town. Everyone in our party got sick. So either they have compromised taste buds, or they think it's funny to send tourists their.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jmccormack2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svendsgaard, Guest Relations Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Hello,

First of all let me thank you for taking the time to write a review. We always appreciate the feedback! I am so sorry for the restaurant recommendation. We would not send you somewhere we didn't like, so if you have the chance please call the front desk ( I work Sunday during the day) and let us know confidentially which restaurant you were sent to so we cannot repeat our mistake.
Hope to see you again -
Holly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed here for the second time to parlay a PCPA performance. Both times have been treated with friendly and helpful staff who have been willing to upgrade at no additional cost. Rooms, although dated, are spacious and clean. Pool is also clean and inviting. Price point for Solvang makes it a no-brainer.

Room Tip: Ask for room 59.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gracie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svendsgaard, Guest Relations Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Hello,

PCPA is a wonderful reason to come and enjoy Solvang! Even after 35 years of many visitors enjoying Solvang's outdoor plays it seems to still be a "bit of a secret". We are glad you find our rooms affordable and we are currently working on upgrading our bathrooms with granite counters and ordering new chairs, etc.... We hope to see you again soon and thank you for your review!

Sincerely, Holly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

After one night, we decided we'd love to stay one more night. They found us a different room and transferred our bags from the old room to the new one while we enjoyed the day.

Lovely Danish pastries from a Solvang bakery for breakfast + other items.

While it isn't a posh place, the price was wonderful for Solvang. Very clean and pleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mar12Ty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svendsgaard, Guest Relations Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. Yes, we often move luggage from one room to another if you extend your stay and your room has been specifically requested by another incoming guest. We like offering this service so your day is enjoyable and uninterrupted. And yes, your description of us as not a "posh place" is correct. We would describe ourselves as "family friendly" , always clean and consistent with an affordable price. Our hotel staff in housekeeping, maintenance and our front desk have been with us averaging 15+ years.
Sincerely, Holly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Solvang hotels
0.2 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 11 in Solvang
269 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 11 in Solvang
833 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 11 in Solvang
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
0.3 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 11 in Solvang
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 1711 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2624
Region: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Solvang
Price Range: £72 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Svendsgaard`s Lodge - Americas Best Value Hotel Solvang
Holiday Inn Solvang
Solvang Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing