We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #3 of 8 Solvang B&B and Inns
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Interesting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

The Danish style is appealing but once inside this place is definitely outdated. Beds were uncomfortable but the rooms were clean and quite. Wifi was spotty had to move around the room to get the best reception. Spent most of our time touring the town and surrounding areas so was a ok place to spend the nite. Price was good.if you are not picky and enjoy a Danish setting here you go. Staff was nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    193
    82
    18
    21
See reviews for
101
178
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Checking the GPS on my car we saw a cluster of Hotels in Solvang. What a surprise to find a Danish community and town. The hotel was dated and the room furnishing reminded me of my apartment from the early 90's. It was very clean and the smiles from the staff added to the charm. The price was right and I was happy to stay here. The next morning, I passed on the breakfast and went instead for a stroll to one of the towns bakery's.

Room Tip: I had the room with the balcony over the pool, it took awhile for the AC to cool, but if you had chi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey Park, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

I've been coming to Solvang since I was little and have always wanted to stay a night. I see reviews saying this place is outdated. Compared to contemporary places, yes. However, people have to understand that most of the hotels in Solvang have been there for over 20 years. If you understand this, you will understand that staying at Svendgaard is a good deal. It's so close to everything. You start at one end of town and can walk to the other.

The front desk ladies were so sweet and kind. They pointed out different restaurants and let us know about the farmers' market. They informed us of everything possible having to do with the room and pool.

The room may be outdated compared to many, but it was clean and spacious. The sheets and towels were clean. I saw that they will be doing bathroom upgrades. That would make the rooms better. Yes, walls and floors are a little thin. Again, they've been around for awhile.

The pool and jacuzzi were relaxing and clean. Asking for towels was easy since the office was right outside the gates.

The breakfast was cute. It isn't buffet style, but it was nice. Both attendants were so nice and accommodating. The Danishes were not from Costco but from an actual bakery. The breakfast area was quaint.

If you want a newer hotel, Svendgaard is not for you. If you want to experience Solvang and its history, this is the place to stay.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank LoveSummerRoadTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svendsgaard, Guest Relations Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your extensive review of your stay with us at Svendsgaard's. Our property was built by Mr. Svendsgaard's in 1969.Many of the hotel/motel properties were built in this same era with a few older ones from the 50's and early 60's.Than there was another boom of hotel/motels built in the late 1970's and 1980's. There have been some major overhauls on a few of the larger properties in town and that is appealing to those who are looking for a "city type" or upscale stay with the equal price attached. Our affordable hotel is unique with the our gas-log fireplaces in some of our suites and rooms that are each different in size and layout. As stated in earlier responses we are remodeling our bathrooms slowly one by one. Many that stay with us such as yourself are pleasantly surprised and become our regular guests making us their "home away from home".

We appreciate your patronage - Holly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We have been staying here for over forty years and when we had our young children it was particularly great because many of the rooms have full kitchens with extra beds. With just the two of us I would now prefer a decent bed and pillows that don't hurt your neck. This place is clean but, in need of a complete overhaul. With Priceline we have stayed in Four star hotels that aren't as expensive as this place. We stayed here last year and I said,"never again" but, my husband is very sentimental and we tried one more time. The staff is extremely nice and If I had little ones I would maybe chose this again.

Room Tip: If you have a large family ask for room numbers 51, 52, or 55.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clarkelmft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svendsgaard, Guest Relations Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your review and patronage over the many years.

Holly and the entire Svendsgarrd's Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

The lady who checked us in was very helpful and gave us good information about the area. Our room was nice and clean and large, and had a fireplace. We didn't try it because it was warm. But we will be back when cooler weather sets in, then we will try it. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the price was great. Thank you so much!

Room Tip: We had room 2. It was great. We didn't really try fitness center and didn't bring kids...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank babe19691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svendsgaard, Guest Relations Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give a review on our your stay with us at Svendsgaard's. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in Solvang. Our fireplace rooms are a nice addition in the Fall and Winter months, so we hope you will return later in the year to enjoy. I would recommend either 24,26,27,32,56 or 57 with the gas-log fireplaces. Just a note of clarification, we do not have a fitness center on our property so you didn't miss out.
Thank you again, Holly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bossier City, Louisiana
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night in a deluxe king. The room (linens) were clean, though the carpet could have benefited from a shampoo. All the furnishings and fixings were very dated but functional. Couldn't complain for a 1 night stay, though fairly expensive but so is the rest of Solvang on a Friday night. I'd try somewhere else rather than stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ian71037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svendsgaard, Guest Relations Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Hello,

We are thankful for your recent review. Friday and Saturday nights in Solvang are the busiest time as I am sure you are aware. Many guests request our deluxe kings with fireplaces and are very happy and surprised at the size of the room. Yes, we have the "in style" linen of triple sheeting, bed scarves and no comforter/bedspreads as this is now " industry standard". We are very sorry you felt we are dated - we are in the process of installing granite counters in all our bathrooms. Some of our architecture is "Danish" in the rooms with the carved valances etc... and that will be our forever trademark. They were hand done by one of the local danish carpenters when the hotel was built. Also, the wooden tables in the lobby were made by this same gentleman.

Thank you, Holly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
158 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Svendsgaards does have a great location and the rooms are large and clean. However we had a corner room so we had streets on two sides. There is a surprising amount of traffic on Hwy 246 and it goes on until quite late at night. We thought this would be solved by turning on the window a/c unit when we went to bed, but it made so much noise, there was no way to sleep with it on. If you are going to stay here (and the price makes it attractive), request a room at the back of the property. You will still be facing the main street, but you should be far enough back, that the noise should not be too much of a bother.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the front of the hotel, especially the corner rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CAKath2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svendsgaard, Guest Relations Manager at Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Hello,

Thank you for staying with us at Svendsgaard's. Our quiet little town has seen an increase in traffic and we do apologize. Efforts have been made with changing out to a more sound proof type of window. The rooms in front have an amazing view of town and are requested by some of our repeat guests. However, if you are an extra light sleeper, I would suggest booking a room off the street or wearing ear plugs to sleep more soundly if you prefer the view in the front looking towards town.

Thank you again - Holly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Solvang hotels
0.2 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
0.3 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn

Property: Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn
Address: 1711 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Svendsgaard`s Lodge - Americas Best Value Hotel Solvang
Holiday Inn Solvang
Solvang Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing