We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Gardens with water fountains”
Review of Solvang Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Solvang Gardens
Ranked #4 of 7 Solvang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I think the staff here is far and above some of the nicest I have encountered at a hotel.
I would suggest you get one of the lovely rooms that have a back door that opens out into the pretty garden. My husband and I only stayed one night here before moving on to Monterey to see our son. We would have enjoyed the garden more if we had been able to stay longer. Solvang is really, really quiet Monday through Wednesday. Even most of the restaurants are closed. So the hotel was quiet and very relaxing. Newly remodeled, very clean bathrooms. Breakfast was good. Nice and simple. Just cereal, danish, juice, coffee and tea. When it's a bit warmer you can sit out in the garden and enjoy breakfast (or maybe a picnic later in the day) as they have quite a few tables with unbrellas and chairs. Lots of trinkling water fountains throughout the property and gardens really adds to the relaxing atmosphere. Only reason I gave this hotel a 4 star rating (staff gets a five star) is because the bed (along with the not-so-great pillows) was way too soft. I tossed and turned all night because it gave no support and hurt my hips and my husbands back hurt all the next day. But you might like very soft beds so this might not be a bother for you.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beachlover32586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

124 - 130 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2013

My husband and I just returned from an extended stay at this amazing quaint place. Their website is very well done but the experience far exceeded our expectations. Our room was spacious and tastefully decorated with wonderful furniture and accessories. It looked like each room was decorated just as one would do in their own home, and all quite different from one another. The antiques and accessories were lavish and authentic. A delight to behold. The beds were comfortable, bathrooms spotless and quite unique. We had a great little kitchen and spacious dining area in our king suite. But the staff.....I can't say enough good things. They were friendly,sincere and honestly cared . AMAZING MANAGER AND STAFF .
The breakfast room was warm and full of healthy organic choices, complete with a little cozy fireplace and classical music.
The gardens even in February were extremely well cared for, beautiful to see and a delight in which to relax.
Highly recommended.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank coleen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

My boyfriend & I stayed for two nights. We were greeted by the owner who was extremely friendly and helpful. She let us check in early and choose our room, including free upgrades! The first room we looked at was a garden queen that opened up right into the back garden. While it was very nice we went with the room on the end that has a few steps leading up to it since it was larger and had a beautiful big bathroom (I think it is called the English Ivy on the website). It also had a mini fridge, couch, and coffee table. Breakfast included a selection of organic cereals (yum!) and pastries. The location was very convenient & in walking distance from downtown Solvang. The rest of the staff we encountered were helpful and friendly as well. I would definitey stay here again if coming back to the area!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank April H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Me and my mom went to Solvang at the beginning of September and we had great time. I booked the room online without any problems and despite getting there earlier than we said we were greeted by a very nice young lady and even got an upgrade to our room. She was always ready to help with anything that we needed. The room was really nice, we had a little kitchen as well which was great for couple of days that we were there, everything including the bathroom was clean, beds are very comfortable. We needed to use the phone the few times and we were able to take it to our room without any problems. The grounds are beautiful exactly like on the pictures and it was quiet too which was very important to us. We are definitely staying here the next time we come to Solvang.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jovana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Nice room, close to town (great for walking around this wonderful city), nice staff. My wife and I stayed here after a wine tour with Stagecoach Wine Tours. We enjoyed the Gardens on this property, the large suite like rooms they have, the friendly staff, and most of all the peace and quiet. it felt more like a nice bed and breakfast than a hotel - which for us was PERFECT. We would/will stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

This was our second visit to Solvang Gardens, each time we found the staff friendly and very helpful, the rooms are nicely decorated and clean. The Hotel is in a nice quiet part of town close enough to walk to down town, resturants and shopping. The grounds are lovely. They have spa services on site that I will try at my next visit. This is a great place to stay while visiting Solvang if riding in the Solvang Century, shopping and wine tasting.

Room Tip: All three rooms we have had were nice, do not think you could go wrong from a basic room to one of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Connie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Solvang is a town that has stepped back in time. The Solvang Garden Inn is in keeping with the feel of the community. The rooms are nice (we did have one of the suites) with modern bathrooms and comfortable beds. The front desk can give you ideas on the various things to do in Solvang and the surrounding communities. It is an Inn and its charm is in its quaintness. There is a lovely garden in back that is quiet and private. Great place to enjoy the continental brealfast and plan your day.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back have parking outside the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McWett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Solvang hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 11 in Solvang
839 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.4 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 11 in Solvang
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 11 in Solvang
288 reviews
0.4 mi away
Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn
0.3 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 11 in Solvang
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solvang Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solvang Gardens

Address: 293 Alisal Rd, Solvang, CA 93463-2803
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Solvang
Price Range: £66 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Solvang Gardens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique country inn with 24 individually decorated rooms. Unique, elegant and comfortable property. Secluded in a quiet residential area in the heart of Solvang. At walking distance to restaurants, shops and wine tasting rooms.In the wine country of Santa Ynez, Santa Barbara County. The property is within beautiful gardens, fruit trees and fountains. A true escape from the hustle of big cities. Rooms vary in sizes, some with fireplaces, kitchenettes and beautiful marble bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Solvang Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solvang Gardens Hotel Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing