We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stop for a bite - but have the right expectations”

Bit O'Denmark Restaurant
Ranked #26 of 69 Restaurants in Solvang
Price range: US$10 - US$22
Cuisines: Scandinavian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Dubai
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good stop for a bite - but have the right expectations”
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

We stopped there for a quick lunch on a Tuesday. Service was good and it never took more than 2-3 min to receive drinks, meals, or check after requesting it.

The place itself is quite old school and calls for a refurbishment.

Food was only average and you should be aware that it's not fresh cooked but rather heated. Even their speciality and - here on Tripadvisor highly recommended - meatballs were not prepared fresh (and this is most likely the easiest meal possible).

Overall rating is average; meals are quite expensive considering the fact mentioned above.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkusSchwarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    72
    37
    22
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Almost as good as grandma's”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Authentic danish food is available, and it's quite good!
The prices are fair, and the wine pour's are heavy :) nice combo!
Our service was excellent - and it's a sweet quaint atmosphere - I would go again for sure!
Being third generation danish american's who grew up on this food, we are a bit of a critical bunch - especially since we all still cook grandma's recipes. Our seasoning is different, but it was really delicious.

Thanks Bit O'Denmark - lovely time!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Schwenketta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't be hungry, thirsty, or in a hurry!”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This place is awful! The service is NON EXISTENT and the food is OK,... WHEN you finally get it. Never got a drink refill after they came half way through our meal. It smells old

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany7970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lonestarbt
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Menu looked great, service not so much ”
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We walked out around 3:20 pm today after being ignored for 10 minutes. The host, who seemed to be our waiter, acted upset with us because we requested to be seated in an area other than where a screaming child was throwing a fit. Too bad because the building had interesting history and the menu looked great.

Helpful?
1 Thank lonestarbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place to eat!”
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We went to Bit O'Denmark on New Year's Eve. Everything about it was lovely! The service was wonderful, the food was great! We tried the frikadeller (meatballs) and Danish sausage... Who knew we would love the red cabbage? I unfortunately forgot my blood test kit and PDA for my insulin pump in the seat. For me that's a huge deal! As soon as my husband returned they had it waiting for us. Great experience all around... We will definitely return the next time we're in Solvang.

Helpful?
Thank GinaLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Bit O'Denmark Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing