We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“China or Solvang?”
Review of Viking Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Viking Motel
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“China or Solvang?”
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Although we were visiting Solvang, we stayed at the Viking Motel..which is owned by a Chinese woman who barely spoke English, was very rude and only seemed to care about how much money she could get for room, which was over-priced. The place wreaked of fish and chinese food. Once in the room, it was old and dirty and the blankets didn't seem to have been washed in years. Just shaking out the blanket because of the smell of dust made a dust storm in room. And, asking for help from the maid - she didn't speak English, she spoke only Spanish. I had to use my own blankets. I would not stay here again and would not recommend it.to anyone. If you want to experience Solvang, don't stay here - it's more like staying in China, or Mexico.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    20
    20
    4
    14
See reviews for
14
27
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

As another review states this is what happens if you don't book. I called into the reception and was offered room 2 at the special rate of $99.00 plus tax for one night. I thought this was good until I saw the room. Wall paper comming off the walls, dirty and very dated.

To be fair I did get a full refund.

If I were you I would spend the extra money for another hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gazandboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Solvang hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

My wife and I stayed 2 nights ($150 a night) here this last weekend. We stayed in room #112 (King Bed). The room was a little dated (circa 70's) but clean. The bed was very comfortable. we were walking distance to food,shops etc.. If you dont want to spend an arm and a leg at one of the other hotels ($300 a night and up),and would like to save your money for buying wine. Then this is the hotel for you. I would not hesitate to stay here again. If your wife wants everything new and fresh, then this is not your hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We have stayed here 3 years in a row with our two greyhounds, attending the annual
Solvang Greyhound Gathering. The motel is in a greyt location; quiet, very close to a
large empty lot where we can walk the dogs. You get a voucher for a basic breakfast
at a nearby Danish bakery (pastry with coffee or tea). Staff is friendly, helpful and they
remember us from year to year. Rooms have wood floors (instead of carpet) which is
very good for dogs. They are on the small side, as this is an older small motel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jazz-Molly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park
1 review
Reviewed 19 December 2011

I can't rate this place as I have not yet stayed here, though i will be staying there this coming Friday. I have a timeshare in Solvang but won't be available until Saturday night so I decided to book this place so I don't have to drive on Dec. 24.

I've stayed in Solvang in the past and have driven past this place about 10 years ago and even looked at the rooms inside and thought that for the price, the rooms were clean and in a great location. I've stayed at some of the more expensive motels, inns and hotels in Solvang, yet I suspect that this place will be perfect for my purpose, wich is to avoid driving on Christmas eve!

Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This is what happens when you don't make reservatons in advance. The only room available for my wife and I and our 6lb yorkie was at the Viking Motel. We paid $149.40 for a room that was out of the 60's. Loud music all night coming from rooms at the other end of the motel. Management didn't shut it down. Room was clean, but small and noisy: would not recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: Don't Stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We visited Solvang & Santa Ynez very regularly and always stayed here. It was a perfect budget option with clean, pleasant rooms in a great location. The owner was always very accomodating and friendly too.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglishGirl-AngelM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Solvang hotels
0.1 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.2 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
243 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
890 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
0.1 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Motel

Property: Viking Motel
Address: 1506 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2608
Region: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Viking Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Viking Motel is part of the celebrated Danish culture in Solvang. It was originally built in 1920 by Danish immigrants and was called "The Little House." Over the years it has been a honeymoon cottage, a boutique and a doctor's office. The palm trees in front of the motel were planted in 1922. Today, the historic Viking Motel offers comfortable, affordable accommodations with a flavor of old world charm. Conveniently located, the Viking Motel is close to many of Santa Barbara County’s attractions including Solvang’s Scandinavian Shopping Village, the Hans Christian Anderson Museum, the Chumash Indian Casino Resort and some of the Santa Ynez Valley’s finest wineries. Now under new management, the recently refurbished Viking Motel welcomes both American and International visitors to Solvang, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Viking Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Solvang
Viking Motel Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing