We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Awesome Awesome”
Review of Meadowlark Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Meadowlark Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Solvang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Awesome Awesome Awesome”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

From the instant you check-in you know that this is a special place. The warm greetings and the special attention from the staff I'd like to say were the best part, but from the grapes growing on the fence in the entrance, to the charming rooms (ours had a huge jacuzzi tub with separate bedroom and bath) with vaulted ceilings, wine glasses, dishes, microwave, coffee maker and FOUR POSTER BED with a QUILT, it's hard to say what the best part is!!!

And what a cook! Quiche and frittata for breakfast, along with fresh cornbread, English muffins, bagels, oatmeal, eggs, juice, coffee, cereal... what a magical place.

Thank you Meadowlark for a great stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are great but the Pinot suite was the BEST!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buza831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    63
    20
    8
    4
See reviews for
37
158
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
winchester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on our honeymoon trip. Beautiful setting very peaceful and lovely gardens to relax in.
Our room was lovely, very clean and a great shower. Nice touch having some wine glasses in the room and also a fridge.
Breakfast was good and the ginger cake delicious.
Wish we'd had more time here to spend relaxing. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fionie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here for in anniversary weekend escape.
The service was excellent as soon as we booked it.
We arrived late on a Friday night and were so delighted by the room. We stayed in the Pinot suite. It was perfect. We also booked the romance package and wine tour package. Our wine and glasses were waiting for us when we arrived, paired with the jacuzzi tub made for an excellent wind down after a long drive.
The complimentary breakfast was great, more than one might expect, and we got to enjoy it in the bright and charming dining room while looking out on the peaceful gardens.
We were picked up at 11am for our wine tour by Brigitte (I may be spelling that wrong). She was instantly friendly and such a pleasure to have as our guide. We visited four unique and fantastic wineries. Excellent wine in beautiful settings.
Our romance package 1 hr massages were scheduled at 5. We arrived back at the Inn with time to relax before our masseuses knocked on the door. The massages were out of this world amazing. Seriously. Amazing.
We then had dinner reservations at 7:30 at Mirabelle's restaurant. Oh my goodness! That place is so cute and perfect for an intimate, romantic dinner. The food was phenomenal and the service was impeccable.
Finishing the night off with a stroll around Solvang made for the perfect end to a perfect day.

I highly recommend staying here and definitely book some of the outstanding packages. The rates are beyond fair for the product. I was initially concerned that we may have jammed too much into one day but at no point did we feel rushed or unhappy with our day.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kendra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Went to Santa Ynez valley for wine tasting and relaxation. We stayed at the Meadowlark Inn and it was wonderful. It's located outside of touristy Solvang, which was so nice. The room size wasn't huge, but it was fine with us. The bed was really comfortable. We loved lounging on the grounds. The breakfast was quite good. The staff was kind. We have not one complaint. We will absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Studio City
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We originally booked a weekend in July, but had to cancel three days in advance, because of work conflicts. I guess I should have read the fine print, because it said the entire fee was non-refundable! I could have called my credit card company to file a dispute but since I planned to just change my reservation but not cancel it, I assumed (wrongly) it would be a simple matter to work out.

The manager of the Inn explained that I could use the two nights in the future, but only during the week, despite the fact I had paid for a Fri/Sat stay. I offered to pay an additional fee, to stay THREE nights in the future, if they would just let me stay there on a weekend, but they said "no". I understand their reasoning.

Weekends are when EVERYONE visits Solvang, so my cancellation left them with a financial burden. But making me come during the week, doesn't seem an equitable trade to me. Why not charge me a 20 percent cancellation fee or allow me to book three nights?

We ended up trading our two week end nights, for one week night. So we spent over $400 for a room that should have sold for less than half that. Walking around Solvang on a Thursday night, is like one of those episodes of the Twilight Zone, where a man searches the deserted town, desperate for human companionship. Absolutely desolate.

That being said, the inn is a cute place. The pool is small and always in the shade and the rooms need updating. But the trees/garden is gorgeous and breakfast really good (bean burrito, fresh fruit, hard boiled eggs, oatmeal, juice, coffee, toast, cereal and pastries). The bed was nice and firm and had a four poster frame. The room was very quiet, in fact one of the quietest nights we've ever spent on a vacation. Our place had an attached living room with a jacuzzi tub which was fun. Strangely, no shampoo or bubble bath was supplied and we had one bar of soap to carry around from the bathroom sink to the shower and in the other room, tub.

The cable tv worked well, but was displayed on a computer monitor a little larger than the laptop screen I'm writing this review on!

As other reviewers have explained, this is NOT actually located in the town of Solvang, but on the way to Los Olivos. We took our bicycles on the trip and a bike path is within 100 yards of the Inn, so we could pedal to town or the countryside. However, if you want to stay someplace where you can walk to the lovely theatre or shop, stay at the Kronenberg Inn. We would have avoided this whole scheduling mess if we had originally booked there but it was full!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Mark V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadowlarkinnsolvang, Owner at Meadowlark Inn, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
I apologize for not being able to please this guest, but I am happy that he did enjoy his stay in the Pinot Suite. We are a small inn and we have a financial responsibility to our staff and vendors, so last minute cancellations affect us greatly. As a courtesy we offered a complimentary 2 night midweek stay in the future as we can understand that having to pay for a room and not using it is a hardship. In addition we upgraded the guest to a suite and a late check-out during peak season.
The guest booked a weekend stay through booking.com, the cancellation policy is clearly stated on their website, see below.
(Cancellation: If canceled or modified up to 7 days before date of arrival, a fixed amount of USD 25 will be charged. If canceled or modified later or in case of no-show, the total price of the reservation will be charged. ) In addition we paid a commission to booking.com for this reservation which was originally made for June.
Solvang, like other cities has several residential areas than expand beyond the downtown area. We are located on 2 acres in a residential area with a Solvang address, less than 2 miles from downtown.
As a sustainable property, we use dispensers for shampoo, conditioner and bath gel and they are located on the shower wall. A quick call to the front desk could have eliminated this issue.
I would like to thank the guest for the kind words about our property.
Brigitte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Just spent the weekend here for the first time (my BF chose so i was a little iffy) but was pleasantly surprised. Aside from the fake plants and color of lavender, it was spacious, clean, quiet and right outside of town. Loved the kitchen and even the huge tub in the middle of it! Bed was quite comfy. Breakfast was a lovely bonus if you don't want to break the bank at Paula's for a danish pancake on day 2. Would stay again, heck i would swing by for some of the delicious chocolate chip cookies they leave on your bed :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The inn is 2 miles outside Solvang in a lovely quiet area with nearby ranches. It is an older building that is very lovingly maintained. Breakfast is described as light, but there was a very nice fresh fruit salad, excellent granola, bagels, eggs and great coffee. We had a kitchenette with an oven, full refrigerator, microwave, etc. You could stay here and tour the wine country to the north. It's only 25 minutes from Santa Barbara. A very nice weekend getaway.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llamalover22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
2.1 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
1.9 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
1.8 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chumash Casino Resort Hotel
Chumash Casino Resort Hotel
#2 of 3 in Santa Ynez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadowlark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowlark Inn

Property: Meadowlark Inn
Address: 2644 Mission Dr, Hwy 246, Solvang, CA 93463-9429
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Meadowlark Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meadowlark Inn is a one story inn with the amenities of a Bed and Breakfast. We are located on 2 rustic acres of expansive green lawns, beautiful gardens, fountains, gazebo, picnic and sitting areas. We offer complimentary wireless internet connection throughout the property. A light breakfast is included. Winery tours and spa services available. Well behaved dogs (one per room) are allowed in rooms with kitchens only (Rebbiano and Barbera). Dogs are not allowed in standard rooms or suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Meadowlark Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meadowlark Hotel Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing