We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it and Brigitte is Great!”
Review of Meadowlark Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Meadowlark Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Solvang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2014

It's a wonderful place to stay. The rooms are very nice and like home. The area is absolutely stunning. Check in, buy a bottle of wine at the front desk, and schedule a massage. What more could you want? Also very convenient to winery's and sits nicely between a couple of really cute towns. Lots of good restaurants. Also a coffee shop and grocery within walking distance.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBMemphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014

This was our ninth stay at the meadowlark... it keeps getting better The breakfasts are great, the staff is friendly, and the biking around the areais perfect... we'll be back again next march for another ten days.

Room Tip: get one of the hot tub rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank docdonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I only found this property on Google maps. Lucky for me. It is quiet ,peaceful, clean, comfy and serves a great breakfast. I had a queen room loved the hot lamp is the bathroom for after the shower. The lights twinkle in the trees at night. The staff great you like an old friend. This is vacation even on my trip for work. I only wish I had more time to sit under the big oak, light a fire in the big pit at night swim and just do nothing. Very close to the casino should you be in town for a show without the crowds.

Room Tip: I like to try different ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler32722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

My girlfriend and I needed a break and decided to meet halfway between our homes. This B&B was very friendly, had great varieties of breakfasts, very comfortable beds, loads of room inside, and was clean, quiet and peaceful. We were both recuperating from surgeries, so were looking forward to a very relaxing catch-up time. We enjoyed the fountains outside, the fireplace inside, and the tranquility of the grounds. We were close to Santa Ynez and Solvang, both having lovely shops and dining, and even took a drive to have dinner on Pismo Beach. Location was great, and staff super helpful and friendly. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Our room had two queen beds and was still very roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Perfect because it is exactly what we wanted. Our friends have stayed here before and the place is just what we wanted. 12 of us on this trip. This trip we wanted to be low key. We liked it here because we could take advantage of the BBQ, picnic benches and fire pit.

Pro's:
Very relaxing setting
New windows made for a quiet room
Bed was great
Very quaint Breakfast room, all the guests felt relaxed and open in conversation
Very large center courtyard for reading/wine tasting/ gearing up for a bike ride
Great 4 mile hike route behind the property
Owner was always around to answer any questions

Con's:
Dated bathrooms (sink/counter/toilet)
Toilet would take 3 to 4 minutes to refill, looked really old/used.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

My wife and recently stayed here for one night, and had a fantastic time. The overall charm of the place is apparent when you turn off of Hwy 246. The rooms are very clean, well taken care of and extremely comfortable. Breakfast was equally fantastic, with some homemade granola and a personal frittata made fresh when you sit down to eat. The staff quickly made us feel like we were family, we will definitely be making return trips in the near future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonSchroeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Our long weekend stay was perfect until the last morning. We had been at the casino until late and were looking forward to sleeping in. However, when the maid showed up to clean the room next door early Sunday she carried on a loud conversation (on her cell phone it seems since we didn’t hear another voice) for well over 30 minutes. Other than that, I can’t really say anything terribly bad about this place – and from other reviews I’ve read, we were in just a basic room. It’s certainly not the Ritz Carlton, but it is way more charming with a slower, relaxed atmosphere and I didn’t have to sell my firstborn to stay here. We look forward to coming back in the Spring or Summer when we can enjoy the beautiful courtyard!

Pros:
Great staff (well, except for that one maid…)
Very clean rooms and grounds
Lots of hot water
Decent towels
Hairdryer
Good-sized room
Comfy bed with extra blanket
Wi-fi worked well
Refrigerator
Convenient parking
Quiet – minimal road noise even in front room
Brightly lit sign is an easy landmark to spot at night

Cons:
Drastic shortage of outlets for today’s electronic driven world
Small shower
No exhaust fan in bathroom
Toilet takes forever to fill (over 3 minutes, which in the middle of the night is quite annoying)
No facial tissue
Room needs a second nightstand
Overstuffed pillows were uncomfortable
Only one luggage rack (seriously, who comes here alone?)
Thin walls – could hear the sounds of the conversations next door
Breakfast just OK – too many oatmeal/granola type foods (but if Wifey was writing this review she would rate this a Pro)

At best the A/C-heater unit would blow cool air so we used the electric heater stored in the closet. We were warned not to use it on the same circuit as the TV or the wall heater. We mistakenly assumed that meant when they were running. So we turned the TV off and plugged in the heater. It worked great until early in the morning when it shut off. I’m guessing the refrigerator compressor kicked on and blew the circuit breaker. No problem – I just plugged it into the outlet behind the coffee maker and had heat again. And the next morning all we had to do was let them know and they reset the breaker. This is not a complaint – just a note to use the correct outlet so you don’t look as stupid as we did.

Room Tip: Lower numbered rooms get the morning sun and higher numbered rooms get the afternoon sun at their fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
1.9 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 11 in Solvang
827 reviews
2.1 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
2.2 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 11 in Solvang
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 11 in Solvang
279 reviews
1.8 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
421 reviews
2.0 mi away
Royal Copenhagen Inn
Royal Copenhagen Inn
#1 of 7 in Solvang
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadowlark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowlark Inn

Address: 2644 Mission Dr, Hwy 246, Solvang, CA 93463-9429
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Solvang
Price Range: £93 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Meadowlark Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meadowlark Inn is a one story inn with the amenities of a Bed and Breakfast. We are located on 2 rustic acres of expansive green lawns, beautiful gardens, fountains, gazebo, picnic and sitting areas. We offer complimentary wireless internet connection throughout the property. A light breakfast is included. Winery tours and spa services available. Well behaved dogs (one per room) are allowed in rooms with kitchens only (Rebbiano and Barbera). Dogs are not allowed in standard rooms or suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Meadowlark Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meadowlark Hotel Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing