We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time as good as the first”
Review of Meadowlark Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Meadowlark Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Solvang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I've been to the Meadowlark Inn before and when something is so wonderful you return!
The property is located on approximately 3 acres and is surrounded with grape vines, trees, and little country cottages.
Inside the little cottages are flat screen tvs. free wifi, gourmet coffee, wine glasses, beds with QUILTS small cute electric fireplaces that produce heat, spa quality accessories, and beautiful furnishings. The beds are old iron beds not a headboard attached to the wall.
Wait, it gets better! Margaret cooks a delicious breakfast. Yes you get fresh pastries from the wonderful Danish Solvang bakeries, coffee, juice, bagels, waffles, eggs, fresh fruit, AND whatever is the special that day. Saturday it was Stratta and it was delicious. Also served with a smile as usual.
AND it's dog friendly!
So needed to write this review to let everyone know that it's still the best place in the valley!!

Room Tip: All rooms are great. Some rooms have a giant in room jacuzzi tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buza831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

My parents lived in Solvang for 17 years. I can't believe we didn't know this secluded gem existed! The staff is very friendly and the property is beautiful. Ideal location if you don't want to stay in the town of Solvang which is barely 5 minutes away. Also, it is pet friendly and has ample acreage to walk a dog. Highly recommend this inn.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scampicoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Beautiful, peaceful and great amenities! Kelly and Margaret were awesome. Amazing homemade breakfasts, great value and a lovely room(s). Best stay I've had in Solvang in 20 years! The homemade breakfasts were a big surprise. I am used to a Danish and coffee at most places - first morning it was Belgian waffles with strawberries and whipped cream and the second day it was homemade carrot/kale Quiche! The Jacuzzi tub was awesome and because we weren't smack in the middle of town the quiet was perfect. You felt like family. I'll be back!!!!!

Room Tip: The Pinot room is amazing! Jacuzzi in living room!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Meadowlark Inn on June 1 and 2 for my birthday. WOW, I just don't know where to begin here. The Meadowlark Inn is wonderful. The grounds are peaceful and it is the perfect place to stay when you are visiting Solvang and/or the Santa Barbara wine country.

Brigitte, Margaret and Kelly are the best hosts I have ever had the honor and pleasure to know. Thank you all for making our stay and my BIG birthday celebration so special, memorable and truly divine!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denisemartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadowlarkinnsolvang, Owner at Meadowlark Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you, Denise and mark for your kind words. We all appreciate your kindness and loyalty and hope to welcome you back soon!
Our appreciation also goes to all our wonderful guests who have taken the time to write such great reviews, thank you so very much!!!
Brigitte and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We looked at several places online for a one night stay in the wine country. Came down to a choice between the Ballard Inn and Meadowlark. But the Meadowlark looked quite inviting from the photos and other revieiws, and was half the price so we booked it. We are extremely happy with our decision. My sister's room was huge, with a separate sitting area, and ours had a wonderful little private garden with hammock!

Margaret, who checked us, gave us a great recommendation for dinner. And in the morning the breakfast was tasty and served quickly. No complaints at all about anything. Ballard Inn may be great too for all I know but when we come back we'll make the same choice.

Room Tip: the king dolcetto has the sitting room and king cabernet has the hammock
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_Monger53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This B&B is very picturesque and cozy. Margaret and Kelly really make you feel at home. The breakfast was great. Even the coffee, which is almost never good in a hotel or b&b. Definitely the best value in lodging while staying in the Santa Barbara County wine country. Its just outside of town (Solvang), yet it feels like you are well removed from all that, and nicely tucked away in the countryside. We were in one of the rooms closest to the main road and we heard no traffic noise what so ever. Our only regret was that we were only there for one night. Gotta' get back there soon. Its a little bit of paradise.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomLag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We fell in love with Meadow Lark. Unfortunately we didn't have enough time to explore the wine country, other than a quick visit to Solvang but we thoroughly enjoyed our one nights stay and wished we had had much longer to enjoy the tranquility and peace of our room and garden (particularly the hammock and hot tub!). Service was impeccable and we received great recommendations of places to eat and chose The Mirabelle, which was divine. Room was beautiful, clean, spacious yet utterly cosy and warm. We loved every second. Great breakfast too.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kate78London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
1.9 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 11 in Solvang
827 reviews
2.1 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
2.2 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 11 in Solvang
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 11 in Solvang
278 reviews
1.8 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
421 reviews
2.0 mi away
Royal Copenhagen Inn
Royal Copenhagen Inn
#1 of 7 in Solvang
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadowlark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowlark Inn

Address: 2644 Mission Dr, Hwy 246, Solvang, CA 93463-9429
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Solvang
Price Range: £95 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Meadowlark Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meadowlark Inn is a one story inn with the amenities of a Bed and Breakfast. We are located on 2 rustic acres of expansive green lawns, beautiful gardens, fountains, gazebo, picnic and sitting areas. We offer complimentary wireless internet connection throughout the property. A light breakfast is included. Winery tours and spa services available. Well behaved dogs (one per room) are allowed in rooms with kitchens only (Rebbiano and Barbera). Dogs are not allowed in standard rooms or suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Meadowlark Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meadowlark Hotel Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing