We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious homecook food”

Mustard Seed Restaurant
Ranked #45 of 69 Restaurants in Solvang
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
1 review
“Delicious homecook food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Delicious split pea soup with lamb to die for. Never seen my mom clean a plate before A+. Plate came with lamb, rice vegetables and gravy. Food so good, feels like good ol' home Cooked foods

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jjaquias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    25
    24
    12
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just keep walking !!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

The first thing to say is that they automatically add a 15% gratuity to the bill for just two people.This really gets my goat as I feel that it should be up to the diner to decide if the meal and service warrants a tip. The food was absolutely awful like something a teenager would whip up for themselves. Their salad was dirty green leaves red cabbage one soggy slice of tomato and nothing else. The meal and service did not deserve a tip so I can only assume that this is why they add it on. We had simple burgers which were dripping with grease and the presentation was terrible. The meal was so bad that we left most of it.There are lots of lovely eateries in Solvang this is not one of them!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fordixkas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendora, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

My daughter and I ate there and it was delicious. We both had sandwiches and they made it the way my daughter requested. Great place to grab a quick lunch.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank PamRiech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vista, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great food...great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We were in Solvang on a busy Saturday in July. We had a late lunch/early dinner; so the restaurant was not crowded (this is a great time to eat). The menu selection was good; our server friendly and very attentive. The ambiance was so so....this is clearly one of the older establishments in Solvang...but it was clean. Our food was excellent....the server recommended the lamb shanks; and the Danish Combo. We ordered both, as well as the wiener schnitzel; everything was great and we have no complaints with our food or service. We would recommend the Mustard Seed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santee
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Comfortable, Casual Place for Lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

I travel to Solvang often; it's my weekend getaway destination. Most often, my dogs accompany me, so I have the challenge of finding dog-friendly restaurants. I decided to give The Mustard Seed a try. It has a nice patio area in the front where patrons can dine with their dogs. The owner took my order, and we had the opportunity to chat a bit. It was a friendly, enjoyable environment. I had a tasty lunch, and they even prepared burger patties for my dogs. The next time I'm in Solvang, I will go to The Mustard Seed again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SDTrekkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Mustard Seed Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing