We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner stop in Solvang”

Red Viking Restaurant
Ranked #31 of 78 Restaurants in Solvang
Cuisines: Danish, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Featuring a Danish and American cuisine menu offering service for breakfast, lunch and dinner. A Danish favorite and is a tradition in Denmark are the open-faced sandwiches, Frikadeller, Medisterpølse, Rullepølse and America's favorite sandwiches with a variety of sides, including burgers, club, reuben, and many more. We offer a full bar that includes local beers and wines plus a variety of your favorite cocktails. We hope to see you soon!
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

We had dinner here - looked around and we're attracted by the Danish food and relative late opening.

The food was good although service was a little patchy. Friendly little place - we had weiner schnitzel which was good value and served with vegetables (uncommon elsewhere in the USA)!

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank SandSteve3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bobby L, Public Relations Manager at Red Viking Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2016

Thank you for the 4 Star Review and your patronage. I will pass your feedback on to the staff. Have safe trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (512)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

211 - 215 of 512 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2016

Although this restaurant's service could be improved, the food was delicious! I ordered the combo sausage and meatball plate and my daughter had the danish sausage sandwich on pumpernickel. They have very reasonable prices and a reasonably priced buffet for those who are really hungry. The service, however, is not that great. I asked two times for another glass of water and never received it. Also, I never received the check so I just got up and went to the cash register to pay. If you are willing to look past the poor service, the food is great!

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Diana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bobby L, Public Relations Manager at Red Viking Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2016

Thank you for the 5 Star Review and your feedback. I will review with the owner's and staff. Have a great rest of the day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Solvang is dotted with Danish themed diners, and this isn't your best choice. Eggs were under done, toast was burnt, and the coffee was average. So why not go somewhere else? Life's too short for second rate breakfast.

Date of visit: January 2016
Thank metrazol
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bobby L, Public Relations Manager at Red Viking Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2016

Thank you for your feed back and patronage I will forward on to the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2016

At 3 pm on a Sunday afternoon the place was packed. We went in anyway, as a friend had suggested we try it.
The furnishings need an update and the carpet was like the most downtrodden part of a second hand store. Still, the Danish meatballs were large, firm (like sausage), and tasty. The red cabbage was limp, grayish, and too sweet. And the mashed potatoes were lumpy, in a good way, as they were not instant mashed. If you go, try to get a table in the front.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bobby L, Public Relations Manager at Red Viking Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2016

Thank you for your feedback and patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2016

Food was just average. ...general comments from the family was that my version of their meals was better and I'm no Masterchef. Ambiance non existent. I felt like i just wanted to get it over with and get out. Disappointing.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Marijana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bobby L, Public Relations Manager at Red Viking Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2016

Thank you for your feedback and patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Viking Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Red Viking Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.