We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable eating in an expensive tourist town”

Red Viking Restaurant
Ranked #30 of 77 Restaurants in Solvang
Cuisines: Danish, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Danish and American cuisine offering menu service for breakfast, lunch and dinner. In a hurry? We also offer an all you can eat smorgasbord featuring delicious cold and hot dishes including meatloaf, mashed potatoes, red cabbage, Swedish meatballs, cucumber salad, Italian salad, potato salad, pasta salad, coleslaw, beets, vegetable crudités, liver pate, American and Havarti cheese, cold pork Danish sausage, pickled herring cauliflower with curry mayo and more Danish. We offer a full bar that includes beer, wine and cocktails.
Reviewed 19 September 2017

We weren't expecting much but our food was tasty, plenty of it. Hubbys sausages could have been warmer but my fried chicken was hot and cooked well.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TaupoSheryll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olsensbakery, Public Relations Manager at Red Viking Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Thank you for the 4 Star review and your patronage. It is always good to hear that the RVR is more than people expected we will make sure to pass on to the staff. Have a pleasant and enjoyable day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 48 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2017

This is a crowded diner style eatery. Prices are reasonable. Food is acceptable. Good place for a family to eat.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lzubik0416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olsensbakery, Public Relations Manager at Red Viking Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Thank you for your feedback and patronage. We look forward to serving the many families that do gather in the "Danish Village." Have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

The fried chicken was ice cold, the buffet foods tasted stale and the bread was wrapped in a dirty cloth napkin, the meal was pricey and we will never eat there again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olsensbakery, Public Relations Manager at Red Viking Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thank you for your feedback and patronage. We will pass your information on to the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

We took our daughter and son in law here for dinner before attending the Solvang Theatre. Did not care for the buffet or meatballs; however, everything else was good. The Weinerschnitzel and red cabbage were delicious. We had good service and apelskivers for dessert. Yummy!

Thank Helen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olsensbakery, Public Relations Manager at Red Viking Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Thank you for your patronage and feedback. We will pass your compliments on to the staff have a safe and pleasant trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

Nice outside seating area and reasonably priced drinks. It's a good place to meet friends and pour a cold one when the rest of the town shuts down between 5-6 weekdays.

Thank Kauai-Biz-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olsensbakery, Public Relations Manager at Red Viking Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Thank your patronage and feedback. Glad you were able to unwind and hope to see you again. Travel safe!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Red Viking Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing