We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great value Inn for an expensive town.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hamlet Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hamlet Inn
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Malaysia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A great value Inn for an expensive town.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013 via mobile

Hamlet Inn is a good option if you don't want to spend too much time at the hotel and explore Solvang instead. The hotel is perfect for that. It's price point is good for the area. No frills but very comfortable and also has all the basics. Wireless is free and it is good. The best feature of the hotel is the location which is right on Mission and jut opposite Paula's Pancake and Solvang brewery. The inn has no food options but you don't need it as
Everything is just a stroll away.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YongFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    72
    45
    14
    6
See reviews for
46
107
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

We went to Solvang on the spur of the moment one holiday weekend and decided to spend the night if we could get a room. This was the only room available, and knowing they could charge double on a holiday weekend, it wasn't inexpensive. The room was the most barren, stripped down room I've ever stayed in. It was clean, but that's about all I could say for it!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank PattiThousandOaks_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merced, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

we stayed for my girlfriends birthday very nice simple place quiet and right across from the solvang brewery and close to everything else they also have free bikes to ride around town if you get tired of walking we look forward to getting back we will stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ron4u12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

Modern decor, comfortable rooms with a friendly, knowledgable staff that can map out all of the towns spoils. Prime location and modest price made staying here a no brainer. Easily the best value I've found in Solvang.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ArcticBird23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

First, let's talk location. The Hamlet Inn is located in the center of town, making it perfect for walking to the local bakeries, shoppes and restaurants. The energetic and helpful staff offers tips on wine tasting routes, meals and information about unique local areas/events you might otherwise miss. Complimentary bicycles are available for cruising about town and you can even play a game of bocce ball near the gazebo area! Rooms are cozy, comfy and reminiscent of a European inn. One stay and this will be "your" spot in the Santa Ynez Valley!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Capezzana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

There is absolutely nothing bad to say about Hamlet Inn. Great location, it's inexpensive and offers the basic amenities. We will continue to stay here as everything else in Solvang is an over priced tourist trap. Free pastry coupons and bikes for free!? Who could resist this little gem of a great hotel?. Thank you Hamlet Inn.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nutters1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

We needed to be in Solvang, CA on business for four nights and usually stay at the Hamlet as its in the center of things there for us. When I phoned for reservations, there was no room available for those four nights, so we booked at another hotel. They told us there were new owners and the rooms have been completely remodeled. Out of curiosity, we went on line and discovered the decor to be very different from the previous, or that of any other hotel we have stayed at. We dropped by to check out the rooms to see if we'd want to stay there another time. We have never seen hotel rooms that were less inconvenient than these; no nightstands, no credenza, no place for toiletries in the bathroom, no table or desk, just a board attached to the wall under the window and a couple basic wooden chairs. No lamps, just a couple dim bulbs hanging on wires from the ceiling at either side of the bed. We were told that the decor is contemporary Danish Modern ala Ikea. If you travel with just a small soft bag and a toothbrush, the Hamlet will work for you, but it doesn't work for us.

Room Tip: Check out the rooms on line before calling for reservations.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
6 Thank Ric Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Solvang hotels
0.1 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.1 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.2 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamlet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamlet Inn

Property: Hamlet Inn
Address: 1532 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2608
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hamlet Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hamlet Inn is located in the heart of downtown Solvang. Within walking distance of shops, wine tasting rooms, restaurants, the Elverhoj Museum, PCPA Theaterfest, Hans Christian Anderson Museum, and minutes drive to world class golf courses, Chumash Casino, Los Olivos, Santa Ynez, and wineries. Our complimentary bicycles are perfect for getting around town whether you're wine tasting, shopping or both, it's a fun way to take in all that Solvang has to offer. Before going out to dinner, wind down in our gazebo, or play a game of bocce ball! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hamlet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamlet Hotel Solvang
Hamlet Motel Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing