We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”
Review of Hamlet Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hamlet Inn
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Pasadena, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Bottom line is that this is an average motel with a kitchy paint job. Your door will face a parking lot, and you'll hear everything that goes on in the parking lot. Fortunately it's Solvang, not much in the way of noise happens after 10pm unless you're at the bar across the street. The staff is friendly, the location is great, the bikes are a nice addition but the rooms are a great place to sleep off wine tastings, and nothing much else. This is definitely not a place where you stay to stay in the motel, but it does the job of sheltering just fine. I'm not sure if it was just our room, but the shower situation is somewhat funky, there is no lip between the shower floor and actual bathroom floor, so prepare to get things wet. That said, I'm really just nitpicking, if you're visiting Solvang on a budget, this is a great option. Things are clean, and the people are nice, just don't expect it to be a resort. You're paying Chevy money and getting a Chevy, not a Cadillac.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThunderWallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    73
    47
    15
    6
See reviews for
48
109
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

I booked through bookings.com and got a really good price ($69) but the worst room ever. There were better rooms empty, but I guess bookings.com has a deal where you get what you pay for regardless of better rooms being empty.

All rooms but two, #11 & 12, have big windows to the front. #12 (ours) had no window in the front at all, so it was quite dark inside. We had to get the camp chairs out of the van in order for both of to sit on something other than the bed. No breakfast, but there was a coffee maker I think.

The duvet had blood stains.
Front door window was single pane, thus the street noise was high.

Stayed the second night at Kongsberg for $71 with AAA - no comparison.

Stay away from bookings.com and Hamlet Inn

Room Tip: #11 # 12 s... Look at the room before paying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelerPaul18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southern cal
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Stayed only 1 night. Arrived early, were allowed to check in early. Helpful front desk (great lunch tip: Succulent Cafe). Clean no-frills room. Comfortable bed. Great central location! Solvang and the surrounding Santa Ynez Valley (loved Los Olivos) are beautiful. I'd definitely come again, and hopefully stay another night or two! Can't beat the price! (Don't miss the miniature horses at Quicksilver Ranch - we saw a 5 day old newborn...adorable!)

Room Tip: Across the street from the Brewery - the only place in town that is open late! No driving after a co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meenigeeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simi Valley, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

15 units with new comfy mattresses, wonderful bedding/pillows, hot running water (had to run it for a little while, it's still March with 49 degrees at night), roomy with sofa & great staff. Clean bathrooms & carpets look new. Danish modern furnishings are just the basic needs. Stayed in unit 01 upstairs overlooking the whole downtown street. All the restaurants & great shops nearby. A little gem with just what you need. I'd come here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Solvang is pretty, and the hotel is great. Located right in the middle of town, so there is no need to use your car. Lots of local restaurants and eateries, and plenty of shops to browse. Rooms were nice, unique and original. And whilst we were here only for one night, I think there would be no reason to spend an entire week here absorbing the beauty of the area!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lionsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antioch, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

I did a lot of reading up on hotels in Solvang, and The Hamlet Inn definitely has some of the best rates in town. This is not a cheap area to stay, so this hotel is a deal.

The Location I would give a perfect rating to. It's right across the street from the best bakery in town (Olsen's) and one of the few restaurants open late (Solvang Brewing Co.), and it's on the main street of Solvang.

The bathroom area is very home-like, but in a good way. The water pressure is great. The shower is not huge, but not small, either. It was good.

The bed was very comfy, as well. Good, fluffly pillows. The TV was mounted on the wall and there was a wide selection of channels. Free bike rentals, too! When we got there, the owner gave us a complimentary bottle of wine because it was our honeymoon and two wine glasses, which was so sweet :) The maid service was fantastic. They came no matter what time of day we left the room and once we had forgotten to remove our night-time clothes from the bed, and they folded them neatly for us :)

Downsides? There was really no other room decor. It isn't a hotel room you would be likely to photograph. Just two little bedside tables, a chair, and a little fridge underneath the closet area. No microwave, although we didn't ask for one, so you might be able to get one if you ask. I didn't mind that the area was sparse. It felt homey. The internet connection was terrible, but that seemed to be a problem with all of Solvang - the signals just aren't that great.

I was overall super satisfied with the price and the experience. If you're looking for a luxurious hotel experience, this isn't the place. If you're looking for a nice, clean, cheap, cozy place to stay and sleep while you're enjoying the rest of Solvang, this is the right place to go.

Room Tip: Room 12 has a bizarre shape, but it had good privacy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013 via mobile

Hamlet Inn is a good option if you don't want to spend too much time at the hotel and explore Solvang instead. The hotel is perfect for that. It's price point is good for the area. No frills but very comfortable and also has all the basics. Wireless is free and it is good. The best feature of the hotel is the location which is right on Mission and jut opposite Paula's Pancake and Solvang brewery. The inn has no food options but you don't need it as
Everything is just a stroll away.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YongFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Solvang hotels
0.1 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.1 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
898 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
247 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamlet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamlet Inn

Property: Hamlet Inn
Address: 1532 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2608
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hamlet Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hamlet Inn is located in the heart of downtown Solvang. Within walking distance of shops, wine tasting rooms, restaurants, the Elverhoj Museum, PCPA Theaterfest, Hans Christian Anderson Museum, and minutes drive to world class golf courses, Chumash Casino, Los Olivos, Santa Ynez, and wineries. Our complimentary bicycles are perfect for getting around town whether you're wine tasting, shopping or both, it's a fun way to take in all that Solvang has to offer. Before going out to dinner, wind down in our gazebo, or play a game of bocce ball! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hamlet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamlet Hotel Solvang
Hamlet Motel Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing