We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine little motel, basic, clean, comfortable beds”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hamlet Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hamlet Inn
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fine little motel, basic, clean, comfortable beds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2010

Booked a room for my grown daughter and myself through AAA. Arrived over this last weekend (in the pouring rain) and found the room quite nice and extremely large. Two queen (king?) beds a writing table, a couch, tv on a stand, small fridge. Numerous individually-wrapped water cups (nicer than finding glass ones that you never know when they were sanitized last!). In the bathroom there was a separate shower with door. The wall heater in the room is a through-the-wall and right by the toilet, so you are quite toasty on cold, damp evenings if you need to spend any time in the bathroom. The water needs to run a bit before you get the hot water, as is the case in many older motels, but it does eventually arrive and is quite hot, so be careful to check it before you step into your shower. There were more than enough towels, and maid service came in every day and tidied up for us. Separate area to place your luggage on racks and there were enough hangers in the closet to hang the basics.

This motel is right off the main street and across from Paula's Pancake House (recommend breakfast there, save the coupon the motel gives you for a pastry and coffee for a later snack - one breakfast at Paula's is suitable for splitting between two people). It's an older motel, but was very clean and, again, a huge room with a six-footer couch. Was an easy walk to a nearby eatery (Frescos) that stays open until 9:00pm (everything else in town seems to shut early). Room rate on a Sunday/Monday night stay was considerably less than it would have cost on a Friday/Saturday night. Some road noise, but the town shuts early and the noise disappears. Parked our car directly in front of the room and didn't have to use it the entire time we were in town. Really good blackout curtains, too! Nice place for a get-away. You can just check in and then the hardest thing to do is decide what to do with your time until the shops open at 10:00am every morning. Will definitely stay there again if we pass that way - be sure to note the stork on the roof!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Momzillasd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    72
    45
    14
    6
See reviews for
46
107
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2010

After getting in to Solvang quite late we wer greeted by a friendly host and checked in with no problems at about 9pm. The hotel was really cute and the room we were in had recently been refurbished and was just like new. The bed was comfy, the shower was good and we had no problems getting onto the free wireless network. For breakfast we were given vouchers for the bakery across the road for a danish and a tea/coffee which was delicious. There was nothing bad about staying here and would recommend it to anyone travelling to Solvang.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyTravelBug3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2010

The second and third night in Solvange we stayed here and were pleasantly surprised. After a horrid experience at the Days Inn we were welcomed with courtesy and a lovely room that was very simple, but quiet. Each morning the staff took time to sweep the sidewalks, they repainted the parking lines while we were there and generally kept the palce tidy with a pride that was refreshing. I've never seen a bed turned down with such care. The carpets are a little to be desired, but overall great room for the money spent. They do not do a continental breakfast, but rather provide each guest with a coupon for a free danish pastry and coffe, tea, or milk at Olsen's Danish Bakery just accross the street. They also provided us with a dinner coupon for one of the local restaurants. Right in the heart of Solvang on the main road this quaint motel is a gem of a find for those who would rather spend money on shopping than hotel surroundings.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DGallatin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2010

I went to Solvang for the night with a group of friends. We had a great time staying at the Hamlet. The rooms are comfortable and the location is prime. Don't go expecting five-star accommodations, but for a roadside motel in a cool little town, The Hamlet is a great bet.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rickway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

Stayed one night on recent tour around wine country, reasonable price, room was clean, & spacious

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wrensnestred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinth, TX
Level Contributor
90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2010

We flew in 6/11 for kid's graduation from UCSB on 6/13. Lodging in and around Santa Barbara for graduation weekend averaged an obscene $287.00 per night which we were not willing to pay. Thanks to other Trip Advisor reviews, the Hamlet Motel was a perfect, relatively cost effective alternative on a weekend where every hotel/motel in that area jacks up prices.
The Hamlet Motel is a small, simple, no frills motel. We had room 8. Pretty good sized room with 2 double beds, a sofa, a small desk. Large shower. Small fridge. No coffee maker, no blow dryer, soap but no shampoo. Bed was ok. The large pillows seemed exceptionally hard until I discovered housekeeping had packed two small, flat pillows into one pillow case. Once I took the pillows apart it made for better sleeping. As far as cleanliness goes, it seemed fairly well kept up. My socks did not pick up any residue from the floors so I guess this means the carpet and bathroom floor were clean. The grates in the wall heater across from the toilet could definitely use a deep cleaning. Pretty quiet place. Just off the main drag but since Solvang rolls the streets up by 8:00pm traffic noise was not an issue.

They give you a voucher for coffee and a danish across the street at Olsen's that can be redeemed at any time. (think afternoon snack if you want something more substantial for breakfast.) I recommend the bear claws.

The location was fantastic. Across the street from Olsen's Bakery, Paula's Pancakes and Little Mermaid Cafe. Walking distance to virtually everything in Solvang. 10-15 minute drive to most wineries.

Related notes:
Little Mermaid restaurant was very reasonably priced and offered home style comfort food- tried it for dinner one night and would recommend. Paula's Pancakes has a cute atmosphere. It was a bit pricey and their "special" pancake is like a giant crepe. Locals recommended the upscale River Grill at the public golf course for dinner with a view. Rustic, lodge furniture, fireplace, and picture windows overlooking the mountains. Unrushed (slow) service with good entrees. Rack of lamb was outstanding. In regards to wineries, avoid Sunstone! The servers were rude, the wine was mediocre, and they do NOT let you keep the wine glass (every other winery includes the keepsake wine glass as part of your tasting fee.)

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sagacioustraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2010

I stayed here for my birthday after I went wine tasting in Los Olivos. It's a great place, it was peaceful, clean, and there are restaurants near by... I recommend it for sure. Good price too :)

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParadiseLover77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Solvang hotels
0.1 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.1 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.2 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamlet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamlet Inn

Property: Hamlet Inn
Address: 1532 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2608
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hamlet Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hamlet Inn is located in the heart of downtown Solvang. Within walking distance of shops, wine tasting rooms, restaurants, the Elverhoj Museum, PCPA Theaterfest, Hans Christian Anderson Museum, and minutes drive to world class golf courses, Chumash Casino, Los Olivos, Santa Ynez, and wineries. Our complimentary bicycles are perfect for getting around town whether you're wine tasting, shopping or both, it's a fun way to take in all that Solvang has to offer. Before going out to dinner, wind down in our gazebo, or play a game of bocce ball! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hamlet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamlet Hotel Solvang
Hamlet Motel Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing