We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice management, but not worth the $$$”
Review of Hotel Corque

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Corque
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice management, but not worth the $$$”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

You can't blame the management for who can pay to stay there - but a few things to note:

1) There is a lovely lobby area with giant comfy chairs and a fireplace - its inviting and we stopped to enjoy the area coming back from dinner - however, the staff sits at desks somewhat close by, and with no noise control or sound absorbers- you are bombarded with the loud voices of the staff checking everyone in - literally sounds like they are yelling in your ear. My hair salon has sound absorbers all over the place so that the hard floors don't echo conversation - Corque could look into these. Or just check in people a little farther away at the counter? It's just set up poorly.

2) The lobby aside - let's get to the hot tub. When my son and I were heading down there at 7pm - he announced that there was someone smoking while in the tub. So, I called the front desk and asked if smoking was allowed - if they had said yes, no worries - we would have just waited it out. Their answer was this: "If it bothers another guest, we ask that they put it out" - Ok, I said - well I was going to go down with my son, should we wait? "No, I will handle it, " she said. But when I walked down into the lobby - she recognized me and said this "Oh - you called about the smoking? When you get out there- just tell them it bothers you and they will put it out." What? odd. The manager gave her a look, and she ran out to the pool area.... and I guess "Handled it" - in 2014, I say all power to the smokers, but in shared spaces, it just seems like a thing of the past. The trailer trash at the hot tub was gifting their selection of country twang on a portable speaker when we arrived, the young "lady" who I think was for hire - was tubbing in a see through lace teddy, and decided to sit outside the tub when we arrived to - I don't know - put on a show for my 8 year old? So - here is some of the peeps we ran into. I think she was pouting about the lack of smoking availability and knew we were the culprits. Gave my little one an opportunity to learn about the other side of the tracks - and some giggles later - so everything's an opportunity.

3) The room service staff was awesome. Quick, efficient - split an order between two rooms, as I ordered half of it for my folks down the hall - lovely, and coffee was excellent :)

4) The manager himself - was professional, friendly and very kind. I just think he needs to access some training for his staff.

The $330 a night price tag I would say is a bit high - having stayed at many 4star hotels for that same amount - there's an element of feeling like (while the rooms are nicely appointed) you are still at a motel like feel. Part of it is the crowd, and the rest is the under-educated staff. (management and room service aside).

I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Schwenketta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    232
    69
    22
    23
See reviews for
142
383
23
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Hills
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This is the second time we have stayed here and it won't be the last. The room is very clean, spacious and beautifully decorated. This hotel is convenient to Chumash Casino since it is owned by the Chumash tribe as well as local wineries and some great restaurants in the area. I only wish we would have gotten a room with a patio and view. Room 136 overlooks a parking lot with no patio, but we didn't spend much time in the room anyway since there is so much to do in the area. Should have made a reservation earlier for a room with a view during Valentine's Day weekend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 490JanetC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed here for a night on a road trip down the coast and absolutely adored this hotel. The service is fantastic and everyone working in the hotel friendly and professional. The front lobby is already classy and decorated in a very European manner, and the rooms are amazing. The bathrooms are spacious and come with a glass shower and two sinks (very practical for a couple!) We enjoyed the pool and spa space outside, which we were told had just been opened a few weeks previously and it was AMAZING. 5 star quality. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend to anyone looking for a spectacular place to stay on the trip down Highway 1.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmiFre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We were pleasantly surprised when we stayed at Hotel Corque. The property has been beautifully renovated with very nice touches. The rooms are visually interesting and very comfortable. Customer service was excellent. We highly recommend!

Room Tip: Wonderful hotel in Solvang!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loveandlight2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placentia, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Hotel Corque is edgy, upscale and totally accommodating to the discerning traveler.
From the trendy forward thinking guest reception to the delightful designer quality room and bath and breath taking views of the Mountains or the Danish Village, this reasonable priced boutique hotel is the most value -added I have had the pleasure to stay. The Root 246 restaurant, outdoor living patio and bar along with the room service, tea, water and coffee 24 hours a day, within your reach makes this a destination to relax and enjoy.
The staff is knowledgable and accommodating to early and late stays and will bend over backwards, from my experience. They are owned by the Chumash Tribe therefore have a free shuttle to the casino and spa at the Chumash Casino Resort and Spa.
Do not miss this Santa Ynez Valley experience at Hotel Corque.

Room Tip: Every room has a view of either mountains, pool or the Village. The elevator is secure with a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tahlequah, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Our first visit to Solvang, Ca was wonderfu! We had no idea where to stay and I checkd hotels online and read reviews before picking Hotel Corque. It was a wonderful place to stay, The rooms were large, beautifully decorated with a great bathroom. New reservations were treated to a fantastic breakfast buffet in the casino!!! Hope to get back next year.

Room Tip: If you want more room, opt for a King room with the double lavatory. The view on the front side is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Queenie599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury Park, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Called to make a reservation at Club Chumash, they were booked and referred me to Hotel Corque. Was very pleasantly surprised by the rooms which are very nice. Am very fussy about beds and bedding when I travel. The bedding was definitely upscale and I had a wonderful night sleep.
In the morning ordered room service, a full breakfast and another surprise came with it, instead of just plain toast there were Danish and Croissants along with the morning paper.
This hotel is definitely upscale and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doreen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
0.3 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
238 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
888 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
399 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
0.2 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Corque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Corque

Property: Hotel Corque
Address: 400 Alisal Road, Santa Ynez Valley, Solvang, CA 93463-3741
Region: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#2 Family Hotel in Solvang
#2 Business Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Corque 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Corque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corque Hotel Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing