We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern decor moved into an old Radisson”
Review of Hotel Corque

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Corque
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Solvang
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Modern decor moved into an old Radisson”
Reviewed 9 February 2011

Okay, okay...it wasn't really a Radisson, but it was reminiscent of one. We stayed here many years ago when it was called the Royal Scandavian Inn. Solvang does not have a lot of large hotels, so this one is larger. It's 3 stories and has over 100 rooms. I went back last summer with a group of girlfriends and, from the site, thought were staying at a new swanky boutique hotel. Particularly for the price (approx. $350), I expected a little more. Once I arrived, I realized it was the hold Radisson-esque hotel I had stayed at nearly 10 years before, just with a new paint job and more modern furniture. The bare bones of the place still looks a bit dated. Regardless, it served its purpose and, as opposed to other accommodations in the area, is modern, which is a plus for me. It was enough of a plus that I decided to stay there again this past weekend (price this time was lower, likely due to the season).

Breakfast is free and available in a self-serve "hospitality suite" on the second floor. Basically, a table set up with bagels, toast, cereal, fruit, juice, and coffee. Nothing fancy, but I suppose adequate if you're in a rush and don't want a full sitdown breakfast. The sign on the door said that the hotel is discontinuing breakfast in the near future, and will be available through somewhere else for $17-21/pp. The hotel does not have room service, but does offer a delivery service of boxed meals during limited hours.

Other stuff: the place has a pool and spa, although it's outdoors and somewhat dated looking. There's a big parking lots with ample parking. Rooms have coffeemakers and limited bottled water.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meheartsthevacays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    236
    70
    22
    23
See reviews for
145
401
23
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2011

I'm working with the hotel to host wedding guests, and they've been enormously accommodating and helpful. Bobbie, the sales manager, couldn't possibly do more to calm a perpetually freaked-out bride. Not to mention, the rooms are gorgeous and they have a terrific restaurant on the property—which is in the heart of Solvang, nestled among all the cuteness. Seriously, they've been a godsend.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FarinaLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

A few years ago my husband and I wanted to do a weekend getaway in Solvang. Upon checking Tripadvisor, we decided on Hadsten House b/c it had the best reviews and the highest ratings. To be in the main Solvang area, your choice of hotels (especially nice ones) are very limited. Anyways, more recently we decided to go up for a night and was going to book Hadsten again until we saw that Hotel Corque was somewhat recently renovated and looked pretty good in photos. The Travelzoo special sealed the deal for us. $99 on a Friday night, how great is that?

The hotel is located behind the Mission and at the beginning of the cute town. It's a much better location than Hadsten. The lobby was beautiful. Modern, but with a cabin/lodge feel to it. The rooms were clean and updated, and the bathrooms great as well. Our room had a nice view, but we did face the parking lot. No big deal. My only complaints are that the room balconies are all close to each other so you can hear people as if they're right outside your window. Someone was also smoking pot nearby bc the smell was saturating our room. Bleh. Anyways, other than that, I highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keyser_soosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2010

I work at a boutique 4 star hotel in Huntington Beach so when I travel to another hotel, I find myself being very picky. From the moment we checked in we had the most wodnerful weekend! Marissa at the front desk checked us in and was so polite and so sweet but genuine. Any questions we had, she was so accomadating. We went on a slow weekend and got a really great rate for about $109/night and they comp. upgraded us to the most beautiful room! Large living area, gorgeous soaking bathtub, and a darling balcony which overlook the amazing hills in san ynez. The hotel room was clean and everything was upgraded. Dark wood floors, comfortable bed, great style and modern bathroom. Even a wine rack in room =) I cant thank this hotel enough for giving ua a romantic, quite weekend away. My boyfriend grewup out there so we will be visiting very often and we will be staying with you everytime! If you want a nice getaway that is new, modern, cozy and fun... you have to stay here!

Thank you so much!
C&C

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptianCassady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2010

Pros:-
- Great location, reasonably central but not on the main drag. Perfect for cruising the surrounding wineries
- Beautifully designed and appointed rooms; very comfortable and relaxing
- Helpful reception staff
- Complimented by the excellent Root 246 bar/restaurant next door
- Nice looking pool complex (not tried - too cold!)

Cons:-
- Very average breakfast included; arrangements didn't match the above at all
- Pricey - you pay for the investment that has been made.....

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toaster803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
so cal
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2010

we stayed here in october 2009 and thoughly enjoyed out stay. we figured after a year it might have lost some of its luster but it was just as nice a year later. a room was not available when we arrived at 2 pm and they offered to hold our bags while we went out for a bite to eat. we left the desk for a few minutes and as we were walking back they called out to us that they did have a room available. maybe my previous good review helped them find me a room:) anyway, great room, really great comfy bed nice tv and bathroom.

the only complaint i would have about this hotel is the continental breakfast and the area in which it is served. if you're not going to put any effort into something, just don't do it at all. both times i have been here, the food is either empty or close to it, coffee is out and it is just a mess the tiny room where it is kept. it is just very unappetizing to say the least. really, save your stomach space and go to paula's pancake house instead.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ob23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Show me the money...had a four day stay, check out early 3rd day with the manager in charged, billed for three days..Corque collected 4 days??? called hotel talk with manager, email from hotel credit will be on monday statement..did show -up. called monday talk to another manager told credit will be 7-10 days. ck your billing..just in case you want the hotel to hold your money..

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jclyburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
0.4 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 11 in Solvang
907 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 11 in Solvang
257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
407 reviews
0.2 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 11 in Solvang
255 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Corque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Corque

Property: Hotel Corque
Address: 400 Alisal Road, Santa Ynez Valley, Solvang, CA 93463-3741
Region: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#2 Family Hotel in Solvang
#2 Business Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Corque 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Corque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corque Hotel Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing