We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great rooms great staff and even better value!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kronborg Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kronborg Inn
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great rooms great staff and even better value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

I chose this hotel after hearing that it was recently remodeled and had extremely comfy beds. I stayed in one of the king rooms on the first floor on the highway side. At first I was extremely skeptical and a little disappointed that they had placed me in one of these rooms twords the highway but after entering the room I noticed a thick sound proofing pad on the door and after closing the door it was dead quiet.

I checked in with Michael at around 2 I knew I was early but he said the room was ready so checked me in. He was very professional and gave me all the info about the hotel. At around 5 or so I went back to the front desk to gather some information about the town and a good place to eat. Sam knew every restaurant, shop, bakery and winery in the area. After talking with him about the area for a good 15 minuets I took his suggestion to go to The Hadsten House which was A great choice!

I normally don't write reviews but after reading some of the reviews here I felt like the hotel and the staff deserved it because its a great facility and is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    174
    79
    26
    19
See reviews for
98
198
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

AWe have stayed at the Kronborg at least 5 times. Sometimes the jacuzzi and waffle maker have been broken or a noisy guest has kept us up, but it was always a good deal for the price. However our last visit we were placed in the first floor rooms (115-120) that were facing the Highway 256 and were incredibly noisy with the sound of traffic 15 feet away. When we called the front desk to complain and request another room, the clerk, Sam said that he knew those rooms and I was a liar, they weren't that close to the road. Shocked, I asked if he called me a liar and he said yes. The conversation didn't improve, and when my husband went in person to speak to him, mentioning that he can't really speak to customers like that, Sam said "I know, and I just don't care. " He would not put us in touch with a manager so we had no choice but to move next door to the very nice Hadsten House. We called on three different occasions trying to speak to a manager since that weekend and have never gotten in touch with them or gotten a return call as promised. Kronborg Inn is a motel, there are many alternatives of same quality and price, so I strongly recommend picking another one unless you like clerks going out of their way to treat you appallingly.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank alexis r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

The hotel is remodeled with really good beds, flat screen tv and a nice bathroom with jacuzzi tub. The real problem is the front desk. Checking in the clerk (sorry I didn't get his name) was very unfriendly, never said much to us. We asked about the casino shuttle and he couldn't answer but the guy coming on to his shift answered. When we wanted to change our room, the first guy was not happy! Sorry if he doesn't like his job, but if that's the case, he needs to find another one, because he's the first person you meet and he doesn't present it well at all. The morning continental was opened late and the pastries were not the usually good Solvang quality. . I don't think I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: All the doors open into the room from the driveway so safer to ask for an upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

This place is a good value and very clean, and that is about it.

We found out why it was priced so great. You will hear everything in your room. From the lady with horse feet on the second floor above you as you tried to sleep. To the drunk lady screaming out the balcony at 5am, and no one motel staff will shut her up. In these rooms, you hear EVERYTHING!!!! Then you have things that will not work, like the alarm clock, a lighting fixture to an exposed outlet.

If you find yourself looking to save yourself some money, ask for a room on the second floor to prevent yourself from hearing the footsteps from above as you try to sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor so you won't hear foot steps coming from the floor above as y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, OH
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We recently stayed at the Kronborg Inn. Our room was spacious with it's own small balcony. The bathroom was clean, the bedding was very nice. The breakfast the next morning was more than adequate however the room was small. There was a pool and a hot tub but we didn't use them although they looked inviting. The only drawback to our trip to Solvang was not in the hotel but in the town. They literally roll up the sidewalks at 5:00 and there was nothing to do. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martytravels16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Best hotel for the price and location in Solvang.I would bring friends to stay there.Everything is Solvang is within walking distance. Also most of the wineries are within 20 minutes. The continental breakfast could use some work..I will definitely stay here again.....

Room Tip: Got the room at priceline bidding on 2.5 stars..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tjswifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Cal
Level Contributor
168 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

This 2.5 star motel has tastefully decorated rooms with super comfortable elevated pillow top beds. Jacuzzi tubs, granite counters and large flat sceen tv's and refrigerators make this a very guest friendly abode. With a pool and spa in the inner courtyard you can enjoy the sunny days of the Danish motif'ed architecture. One of the better" continental" breakfasts with yoghurt, fruit and non packaged pastries. Cereals and coffee that is really good.
My best rate of eighty dollars was negotiated with the front desk but booking . Com has listings for saving over rack rate.

The good:
Comfortable beds, clean room, pool- spa, better than most breakfast, nicely appointed.

The bad:
Farthest motel from town center .
Pool is unheated " we don't need to heat it because it is warm enough" and needs chlorine,( algae growing).
Maintenance poor, first tv had no screen, burned out light bulbs in lamps and" we're out of certain bulbs " for a solution. Stained carpets , dusty hand rails, steps and walk ways. Plastic sheets used on balcony walkway looks filthy.
Huge lobby but tiny dining area for breakfast. They should add and remove tables in the cavernous lobby during the breakfast hours. Huge table in lobby could seat 10 but it is covered with brochures that should be in a rack.
Banners for signs that are aged and dirty," we were going to change the name but got too busy in the season".... Huh?

Unfriendly front desk daytime person. This is all too common in my experience. You don't get a second chance for a first impression and the front desk person should have the qualities of a host as you are a " guest". This person isn't bad but is so far from welcoming that you wonder if you are bothering him to get a room. Typical in the two star range it is a main difference in a four star property. Oddly it isn't their fault but the management that hired and failed to train them.

Don't look close as it is superficially clean.
I rated this property more for value than quality and oddly it would take basic maintenance, hiring and training to bring it to a 3+ star property. The cost to result ratio is minimal.

Room Tip: Upper floor units have private balcony's .Stay away from the street side of the building. No e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cap10paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Solvang hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.1 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.3 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kronborg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kronborg Inn

Property: Kronborg Inn
Address: 1440 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2916
Region: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kronborg Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel is situated in Santa Ynez Valley in Solvang and is a 10-minute walk to Old Mission Santa Ines. This European-style hotel offers an outdoor heated pool and jacuzzi. A microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker are standard in each stylishly decorated room at Kronborg Inn. A 42-inch flat-screen cable TV, DVD player, Ipod Alarm Clock/Radio and work desk are all included. All bathrooms have a jetted bathtub. Kronborg features Danish architecture and a working windmill. Guests are served a continental breakfast every morning. Business services and laundry facilities are available on site. The Danish town of Solvang is only a short walk away and features traditional bakeries, European-style shops and restaurants. The PCPA open air amphitheater is also a short walk away and numerous wineries are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Kronborg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kronborg Hotel Solvang
Kronborg Motel Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing