We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kronborg Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kronborg Inn
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

This is my go to Hotel everytime I go to Solvang which is pretty often. They have redone the hotel and the new owner Victor is amazing. The staff is fantastic and the rooms are really nice and clean. Jets in the bathtubs. Close to everything. I always go on the Grapline Wine Tour, it is the best. Going this weekend. Love the hotel, give it a try you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, I like to get a room in the back on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robaby424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    174
    79
    26
    19
See reviews for
98
198
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Casselberry, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

My grandson and I spent a few days here in March. The room was immaculate, and it was ready for us when we arrived a bit earlier than check-in time. Having a small refrigerator and microwave came in very handy when I was ill and not up to going out to eat. My grandson was able to eat well with the food we'd brought in. Staff was helpful with suggestions, information, and a willingness to answer my 9 year old grandson's questions. I wish they'd had a laundry room for guests, but that was the only drawback. Breakfast was minimal, but my grandson was happy with the goodies. Solvang is a lovely town. I hadn't been there in years and was glad to see my old favorites still there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

I paid 111 dollars for one night stay on a Wednesday night. The place is good the staff is friendly. The room was clean. There was a nice heated pool and Jacuzzi. My 13 year old son and I enjoyed the pool. There is a danish windmill in front of the inn that gives it a little charm.
The only short coming was that breakfast bar was very limited, so if you want a big danish breakfast experience go out to a local cafe. The breakfast bar was coffee, some very simple muffins and pastries, small apple or orange juice and and a few apples and bananas, also you could make your own waffles. I would go back to the hotel for the cleanliness and the friendliness of the staff and the price.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mojgan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

The hotel is right at the entrance to Solvang. The rooms were very spacious and had a microwave and refrigerator. Nice touches. The King bed was sooooo comfy. I had the best nights sleep. The upstairs rooms have a balcony with table and 2 chairs. They are not private from each other, so we enjoyed chatting with our neighbors while enjoying a relaxing bit of time outside with a bottle of wine and some cheese. Very enjoyable night's stay. The included breakfast was a nice option, but kind of skimpy on the offerings. It would be nice if they added some fruit and maybe a granola option. Very reasonable, clean nice and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Found the Kronberg Inn by happenstance… located a few blocks away from the hustle of Solvang on the main highway. The lobby is nicer than the room, but the room was adequate. A little cozy for 3 adults, especially the small bathroom, but we only stayed one night. Breakfast is offered in a dining area off the lobby -- we opted for Paula's Pancakes one block away. Best breakfast in Solvang! Even though the hotel was at the far end of the town, the road noise was a little loud, especially in the early morning. Best feature is the location at the edge of town.

Room Tip: Room in the back with the door facing the condos, away from the ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanderllust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor A, Owner at Kronborg Inn, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for your kind comments.
I am the new owner for the last 3 month and permanently going through major improvements and upgrading.
We hope to see you again
Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

First time visiting Solvang. The hotel lobby was clean and the staff friendly. Our room was spacious and the hidden refrigerator was very quiet. The bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet at night. The bathroom was a little tight and the bath towels were old, small and scratchy. The 'included' breakfast options were very limited. Waffles were the main dish. Hard boiled eggs and the usual cold cereal and yogurt. The breakfast room is very small and with more than 6 people it became claustrophobic.

Room Tip: Our room was in the back of the hotel which backs up to apartments. When we left to go to town ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor A, Owner at Kronborg Inn, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
I am the new owner of this hotel for the last 3 month.
Thank you for your kind comments on our hotel.
I take this opportunity to inform you that I just bought hundreds of best quality of all kind of linen ( sheets. towels etc...)
We are extending the breakfast room in a romantic garden area.
We hope to see you again soon
Best regards
The Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

My wife and I stayed here on Valentine's day this year. We booked the room under Hotwire's hotrate deal and it was truly a blessing. The gentleman at the front desk was very courteous and helpful. The location wasn't perfect but it really wasn't bad at all. The Kronborg is located right on the edge of town, however becasue Solvang is so small everything is within walking distance. I would gladly stay here agian. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was nice and clean. For a two and half star property this place was pretty awesome.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jfrederick89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor A, Owner at Kronborg Inn, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words.
I am the new owner for the last 3 months and I am constantly improving and upgrading the hotel and the service.
We hope to see you soon again!
Best Regards,
The Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Solvang hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.1 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kronborg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kronborg Inn

Property: Kronborg Inn
Address: 1440 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2916
Region: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kronborg Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel is situated in Santa Ynez Valley in Solvang and is a 10-minute walk to Old Mission Santa Ines. This European-style hotel offers an outdoor heated pool and jacuzzi. A microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker are standard in each stylishly decorated room at Kronborg Inn. A 42-inch flat-screen cable TV, DVD player, Ipod Alarm Clock/Radio and work desk are all included. All bathrooms have a jetted bathtub. Kronborg features Danish architecture and a working windmill. Guests are served a continental breakfast every morning. Business services and laundry facilities are available on site. The Danish town of Solvang is only a short walk away and features traditional bakeries, European-style shops and restaurants. The PCPA open air amphitheater is also a short walk away and numerous wineries are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Kronborg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kronborg Hotel Solvang
Kronborg Motel Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing