We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apparant upgrades from owner, but needs a better balance”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Kronborg Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kronborg Inn
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Highland, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Apparant upgrades from owner, but needs a better balance”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I must say that I give the new owner a kudos for trying to get this place updated. They did a great job improving the bathrooms, but it seems a bit over improved in contrast to the rest of the place. The spa was filthy! Rust marks, debris in the pool. Wasn't clean at all. The staff at the hotel needs a regimented daily routine to keep this place appealing. Keep them busy all day!

Positives -

- Quick check in/check out - Less than 2 minutes to get my keys and to get in my room.
- Clean breakfast area. Good balance of eating at breakfast area or an option to eat in your room (paper plates, disposable cups)
- Bathroom is updated and clean
- Ok channel selection
- Quick access to pool area
- Easy parking, complex not crowded
- Beds were comfortable and clean
- loved touch only keys, was able to keep keys in my wallet and just touch door and it unlocked.

Negatives -

- Hostess wasn't very professional, was arguing with a guest on the phone. I would have been upset the way she was talking to the person on the phone if I was that guest. She was more of a kid lacking sympathy and respect.
- A/C struggled to keep room cool, coils were full of dirt and dust, fan did not work at all.
- Poor lighting in room, very dark lighting
- Very unpleasant smell in lobby area, very strong perfume smell. Couldn't wait to get out of there.

If you plan on staying here don't expect a luxury stay, I would limit your stay to 1 or 2 nights max, there are just better hotels out there for the $$.

Room Tip: try and get a room away from main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor A, Owner at Kronborg Inn, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Estimated Guest
I am the very new owner of the Kronborg Inn.
Thank you very much for complimenting our efforts to upgrade and improve the hotel, and especially the bathrooms.
The spa at that particular time, had a problem with filters, as well as the pool. We hired a reputable company, who replaced two pumps and the filters, and it is now clean and clear.
I am sorry about the hostess. I am investigating the matter as she particularly has a reputation of being very hospitable and polite.
I do appreciate your detailed comments and I am taking them very seriously, as I am making the hotel a luxury boutique hotel.
I look forward for your next visit, as I and my staff will take particular care of your pleasant stay and comfort.
Best Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    175
    80
    26
    19
See reviews for
99
200
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
152 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Kronberg has an old world charm, quiet, clean, private. The prices are steep though because the town does not have any chain motels/hotels intown which keeps its rural, small town ambiance alive. It's the last hotel in a cluster from the nearest downtown street attractions. The staff was very helpful, especially when I had to call for a battery jump for my rental car. The free breakfast was so-so. Wi-fi was non-existent even though the desk said it was there. Tried several times to access it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bong Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We were attending a wedding at a winery and stayed here in Solvang for a weekend. I expected a motel like experience, since that's what it basically looked like from the exterior, and I was pleasantly surprised when I walked into the second floor room. The room was fairly large with a vaulted ceiling, making it appear even bigger. There were sliding doors to a balcony facing the courtyard pool, and a large bathroom with stone countertops, nice toileteries and a jetted tub! There was plenty of closet space, fast WiFi which was free and the room looked newly renovated. The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean and quiet. We did not spend that much time in Solvang, but did walk from one end to the other, which only took about 20 minutes. Overall, it was a very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChazInLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Comfortable beds, quiet rooms. The pool is in a cute little courtyard. The tub was narrow but had jets. Overall, very satisfied with our stay. I thought the price was a little steep, but that's just Solvang I think.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simi Valley, California
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Everything was very nice, we were pleasantly surprised! The staff was great, friendly, and helpful. The pool and jacuzzi were just right. It was quiet where we stayed in the back. The price was good. The hotel was great. For breakfast however, I suggest walking over to Paula's Restaurant with homemade orange juice, huge pancakes, and turkey sausage. The breakfast at Kronborg's is the standard continental, not bad. I would definitely go there again.

Room Tip: The hotel rooms in the back were pretty quiet, a little further away from the pool. Nice balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonBR549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skara, Västra Götaland, Sweden
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The hotel looks really inviting and cosy. I asked for a room not facing the heavily trafficked road. Even though the hotel was more than half empty, we still got a room with the door facing the road, and the only room in the hotel with only half a balcony - the other half being part of the staircase. This meant that we were disturbed by people climbing the stairs late at night, as well as by the noise from the road - it was horrid! We could just as well have camped on the freeway.
So basically, we got no sleep at all. I found this especially annoying since I had asked for a quiet room. Maybe the receptionist wanted to punish us for that request?
The bed was extremely comfortable, so at least we could lie in bed reading since it was impossible to sleep.
The breakfast is for people who enjoy dry pastries in the morning.
The pool was very nice, but the spa was so dirty there was no way you would want to use it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a door towards the parking lot and a balcony facing the pool if you want to have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ylva P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, California, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

so the service was solid.
the beds, mattresses, linens were AMAZING!!
toiletries were lovely.
breakfast was great.
room furniture was worn out and paint was chipping.
the hot tub was FILTHY!! with dirty dishes sitting along side the edge for over a day. pool was nice, but the area was not kept clean.

Room Tip: there are no views. so its all about having a good room for sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Solvang hotels
0.1 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
869 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
752 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
229 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
0.3 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kronborg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kronborg Inn

Property: Kronborg Inn
Address: 1440 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2916
Region: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kronborg Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel is situated in Santa Ynez Valley in Solvang and is a 10-minute walk to Old Mission Santa Ines. This European-style hotel offers an outdoor heated pool and jacuzzi. A microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker are standard in each stylishly decorated room at Kronborg Inn. A 42-inch flat-screen cable TV, DVD player, Ipod Alarm Clock/Radio and work desk are all included. All bathrooms have a jetted bathtub. Kronborg features Danish architecture and a working windmill. Guests are served a continental breakfast every morning. Business services and laundry facilities are available on site. The Danish town of Solvang is only a short walk away and features traditional bakeries, European-style shops and restaurants. The PCPA open air amphitheater is also a short walk away and numerous wineries are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kronborg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kronborg Hotel Solvang
Kronborg Motel Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing