We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the center of everything”
Review of King Frederik Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
King Frederik Inn
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Solvang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2013

It seemed like every time I turned around there was my hotel. It was great. My wife and I made many purchases while in Solvang for five days, and it was so easy to drop off our stuff in room before going out again for more. All our restaurants were within easy walking distance except for the two in Santa Maria, Shaw's Steakhouse and Sizzlingogi.
Our second trip to Solvang was during the off season. It was marvelous to have no crowds, and we were lucky with good weather. The pool at the hotel was great. Few people around. The hotel was close to empty I think.
The hotel was neat and clean for the most part. I was disappointed that the carpeted stairway in the common area between floors one and two were filthy during 5 days we were there. Never vacuumed! But the room was cleaned nicely every day thanks to "Juana". The room was very quiet, Rm. 206 overlooking the pool. I enjoyed sitting out on the balcony. The bed was very comfortable. We took an upstairs room based on the many reviewers commenting about the King Frederik Inn before us. Though we were traveling during the off season we do appreciate their advice about picking out a quiet room.
I can not comment on the continental breakfast offered by the hotel. We never made it. The previous reviewers made Paula's and the Belgian Cafe sound so good we couldn't wait to get there. And they were so right!
I hate to end on a negative comment about the King Frederik Inn, but I do think noteworthy and good for a chuckle. You know, I read through so many reviews about this hotel I thought it strange that no one mentioned this. Maybe guests thought this would be off color to talk about, or perhaps no guest encountered this to be a problem. But I sure did! Well, this is it.
On my first encounter with the bathroom I looked down and thought to myself, "what a small toilet seat". Anyway, I sat down. Gosh, I was right. It was sure difficult trying maneuver around doing what you needed to get done on such a small seat. I am not known for having a big butt, but I am sure sorry for those who do.
Strange, but my wife complained too, but for a different reason. She said the toilet was too low to the floor?
Well, that's it. I think price wise the King Frederik Inn is a very nice hotel centrally located in the town of Solvang.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank badtothebillybone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

153 - 159 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

The rooms are newly redone. Street noise is pretty loud. Hubby says the toilets are way too small for a man, I didn't have a problem. The free breakfast consisted of bread, pastries, coffee and juice. Hubby needed more so we had to buy breakfast out.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank julia j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I booked a room at this hotel for my birthday. This is a great little hotel in the heart of Solvang. Décor is very basic but you can't beat the location. The room was very clean and the bed was very nice. The room was large and came with its own balcony with a view of the pool. The best part was the breakfast. They served the best danish pastry that I have had in a long time and the coffee was very good as well. I am from Denmark and I can tell you the pastries were awesome! We are getting ready to go back to Solvang tomorrow and guess where we are staying? You guessed it! The King Fredrik Inn!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The title of this review sums it up ... not much lighting at all in the room for 2. They also did not use eco-friendly light bulbs. Sleeping was good and room and bath were clean. The front desk ladies were extremely friendly and competent. The hotel is in a very good place, walking distance to everything in town. Breakfast was "continental" ... not much at all. Pastries, bread for toasting and some muffins. Eating area was very cramped ,, if you could get a place to sit or stand. The price was good ... about $90 plus tax. Would probably stay again .. but in a room with adequate space.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BikeLike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The hotel have a great location within walking distance to all attractions in solvang.

The room was very clean and spacious, wi-fi had a good reception.

The breakfast was nice, it included delicious danish croissants and cupcakes.

Lovely staff, helped us with every things we needed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eldad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We flew to Los Angeles for the start of our American holiday with no plans in place other than to travel along the Califorian coast to Santa Barbara to stay one night, the hotel prices were very expensive for 3 star accommodation, we decided to travel Inland and were lucky enough to get a cancelation in Solvang at The Frederick Arms, we stayed two nights, it was clean, the welcome was great breakfast lovely , town was just beautiful and to make my husbands weekend, it was car meet! If you get the chance, visit Solvang, you won't regret it!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

This is an affordable hotel in a great location in downtown Solvang. It is right off the main tourist streets in Solvang, providing for easy walking. It also serves as a great hub for exploring Santa Barbara wine country. It is clean and fairly bare bones, but very affordable for the location. The pool is heated allowing early morning and evening swims, even in cool weather.

Room Tip: Higher floor may be better as the rooms are right along the sidewalk/street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thaddeus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Solvang hotels
0.3 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 11 in Solvang
927 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 11 in Solvang
827 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
0.1 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 11 in Solvang
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Frederik Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Frederik Inn

Address: 1617 Copenhagen Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2728
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Solvang
Price Range: £75 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — King Frederik Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Frederik Inn is located right in the heart of downtown Solvang, CA. Plenty of attractions, shops, restaurants, and wine tasting rooms are within walking distance of the hotel. Comfortable rooms, many surrounding the pool and spa area. Completely non smoking, no pet hotel, with free parking, Wi-Fi, and pastries from local bakery every morning! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your King Frederik Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Frederik Hotel Solvang
Solvang Best Western
Best Western Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing