We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
King Frederik Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$120
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kronborg Inn(Solvang)(Great Value!)
US$162
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages(Solvang)(Great Value!)
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hamlet Inn(Solvang)(Great Value!)
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hadsten House(Solvang)(Great Value!)
US$132
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Corque(Solvang)(Great Value!)
US$162
US$147
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Landsby(Solvang)(Great Value!)
US$213
US$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Viking Motel(Solvang)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (283)
Filter reviews
283 results
Traveller rating
69
130
72
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
130
72
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspastriesgreat locationroom was cleandelicious bakeriescentrally located hotelsmall breakfastmiddle of townshops and restaurantspool arealooked cleanwithin walking distancecontinental breakfast iswould stay here againpool and hot tubnice poolnice sizeplenty of parking
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
150 - 155 of 283 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

This place is basically charging for the area rather than their accommodations. I had better service in a road stop motel than here. Don't get me wrong, the place is not bad, just overpriced. Rooms are a bit small but cozy, it could definitely use some work.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Mac2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Overall, I found the room acceptable but I think I was expecting something a little better.

In past trips to the region in the early 2000s, we stayed in Lompoc on golf deals no longer available and we decided to stop in for three days to play La Purisima on our way to Palm Springs. We decided to stay in Solvang since it is a much nicer community with more tourist style amenities than Lompoc (in our opinion).

The good: 1. it is very convenient to dining, entertainment and shopping options in the town... ten minutes max to anywhere worthwhile you might want to visit. 2. very friendly and accommodating staff. 3. comfortable rooms that are just large enough. 4. separate shower/toilet and vanity areas (a must for two trying to prepare for the day at the same time). 5. fresh Continental breakfast items prepared daily by a Danish bakery down the street.

The less good: 1. our room had very small windows near the ceiling and was therefore virtually devoid of any natural sunlight at all. It was very dark in the day and unfortunately, the facility uses energy saving light bulbs that don't throw off much light either. Even with every light in the room on, it made for a rather gloomy interior. Perhaps this was atypical of the hotel and unique to our room on the 2nd floor but I would make sure if having a bright room is important to you. 2. On one of the days, perhaps both (I honestly can't recall) we were awoken before 7:00 A.M. by the sound of garbage trucks backing up and doing what they do. Again, this may be have been a peculiarity of our corner room on the second floor but it did disturb.

One other thing peculiar to Solvang, the town. On Mondays, in early March anyway, many of the best restaurants in town are closed. We were so looking forward to having a great schnitzel dinner at our favorite Danish restaurant and with only Monday available to us, we left town disappointed. Worse, our second and third dining options were also shuttered. Plan accordingly if you happen to be in town around the same time of the year.

Room Tip: If naturally sunlit rooms are important to you, assure that your room is adequate in this regard.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maddogrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The Hotel staff are great and friendly , Location to walk , shop and eat is the best !! Late check in no problem, walk across the street and in enjoy the food !!! Great Danish for breakfast included in the room !!! Be prepared to eat everything!!! I can't wait the go back !!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My husband and I stayed here for the Solvang Century Bike Ride. We have stayed here before as the location is close to the ride start (Hotel Corque) and the rooms are priced right at around $150/night for a king bed. However, the noise is a huge problem. We were awakened by 18 wheelers downshifting on Highway 246, which runs in front of the hotel, loud pool guests, car alarms and every time someone in our building took a shower it sounded like they were showering in our room. I suspect the building is not insulated at all. Not ideal for a good night's rest, which is crucial after riding 100 miles. In addition, staff would not allow us to check out even 1 hour late. I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Great little motel, has everything that you need. Rooms are older but do the job nicely. So central, walking distance to everything. Staff friendly. Solvang is AMAZING. Such a breath of fresh air. Lots of Chocolate eating and wine drank during our stay there but wow... we loved it!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lolls2001_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews