We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in the West” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alisal Guest Ranch & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alisal Guest Ranch & Resort
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Solvang
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best in the West”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

We returned to Alisal last week with my two adult daughters for a girls weekend and had a fun filled time. Many visitors come every year with their families, but this is a luxury for us. It's a pricey get away, but worth the cost. First, we love to ride horses, play golf, drink good wine and relax by a nice pool. Alisal has it all including a beautiful setting in the San Inez Valley. The recent explosion of the area as a wine region makes it even more fun.

Room Tip: All the rooms are ranch rustic. Room for 3 people had 3 comfortable twin beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cowgirltripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    25
    12
    15
    7
See reviews for
114
37
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

This was our 20th corporate retreat and the location/hotel/staff was the best we've ever had!!! The food was amazing, both quality and quantity! The hotel staff were incredibly friendly and went out of their way to meet all of our requests. The wranglers were so patient with our group of mainly beginner riders. Golf, fishing, spa treatments were top notch!!! Evening entertainment with Patrick in the Oak Room was the perfect way to end our days! Fantastic five nights!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hiuslkh808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silicon valley
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

I was finally able to get into Alisal guest ranch after trying many times over the years.I now understand why people go back year after year.Breckfast, dinner and activities are included in the rate and you are seated at the same table each day.There is no stress about getting into an activity.We booked last minute and were able to play golf,do a trail ride, and the breckfast haywagon ride on property.The ride takes you to the site of the original adobe which has been recreated,furnished and has flush toilets.Everyone on staff does everything possible to accomodate you and make you feel like a regular.The rooms are a good size (ours had 2 bathrooms).The decor is cowboy rustic and most seem to have a fireplace.You do not come here for the thread count of the sheets.You come because there is no phone in your room,no TV, no cell service and 20,000 pristine acres of ranchland.There is also a pool,ping pong library,tennis and 2 golf courses.The food in the restaurant is varied and inventive.The menu changes daily but you can always have unlimited bacon at breckfast.

Room Tip: Get a loft room if possible as it has 2 bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trevormom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveLautensack, General Manager at Alisal Guest Ranch & Resort, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
I would like to clarify one thing that the guest stated in their review. While the Alisal Guest Ranch is located in a fairly remote location, we do have cell service. Verizon cell service works very well, while AT&T service is limited.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

I thin k it's all been said before - we loved the Alisal. We booked a two day package and although it was off peak season and quiet everyone went out of their way to make our stay wonderful. Being the week before thanksgiving is about as off-peak as you can get and the ranch only had about 30 guests staying - enough to give it atmosphere at mealtimes ( good simple and tasty fare with plenty of choice) and for the early morning campfire session which we joined on the 'hay wagon'. The fact that other guests included a multi- generational party, the elders of which have been coming for 45 years speaks volumes. We'll have to return as an extended family too!

Loved the homely rooms with wood bur ning open fires (definitely a must for the cool nights ) and the fact there was no tv or radio in the rooms - a well needed break from all that, though there is good wifi throughout the property. We were blessed with marvellous weather - hot cloudless skies and cool nights, but the weather changed the day we left and it would have been disappointing not to have been able to take advantage of all that the ranch offers:riding, fishing, hiking and more. If you feel you need civilisation Solvang is just a few minutes away by car and it's only about 40 minutes drive to Santa Barbara.

Room Tip: We liked the rooms that clustered around the main green right close the dining room; rooms are clust...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Apuleius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foster City, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

We spent 6 days here in August and had a wonderful family vacation. We've never been on a Ranch vacation and everyone - my in-laws, us and the kids- had a great time. The fun never stopped.

I think people have pretty much covered all the cool things to do here. It's really a family place and a great place to entertain multi-generational groups. My in-laws had their own separate room (which was one of the newest and was very nicely appointed) and enjoyed two days of golf. They liked that it was relaxing, no one had to worry about cooking and my MIL took the shuttle down to Solvang for window shopping twice (totally her thing). My husband got in a hike and played tennis. He signed up for a group lesson but no one else showed so he had a private lesson and loved it. He got to talking to the tennis pro and he set up my hubby with a friend to play. Hubby has never gotten to play tennis on a family vacation before so this was just the best for him. I guess even better because he beat the guy (who is really good) and then the guy wanted to play again (he loss the second time) so he was stoked to get in three days of tennis! My daughter also played "pee-wee" tennis and Walt and the teen girls that played with my daughter were great. She had fun!

The horse riding was amazing. They have so many trails! My daughter who rides horses, was in heaven! We did a group trail ride and two breakfast rides. I used to ride and was able to keep up with her as the the horses are well trained. The wranglers are personable and all the little girls just love all the girl wranglers - which I thought was great for them to see strong confident women doing something they love. We had Haddie twice and my daughter loved her.

My younger one was too little for the horseback riding but was able to enjoy free pony rides and hung out at the barn. You can pick eggs each day and on your last day they will send some home with you. You can spend hours hanging with all the animals in the barn. One day they brought out a mini petting zoo in the parking lot with snakes, iguanas, rats, birds, etc. The kids loved it! It wasn't on the schedule so it was a nice surprise.

Speaking of schedule, this place is like being on a cruise without the sea sickness. There's a full schedule of events, with something for everyone. Teen night at the lake, family movie on the lawn at night, astronomy talk for the kids after dinner, craft room for the kids, pool games, air riffles, fishing, tennis lessons, the list goes on. If you don't like the scheduled stuff, there's so much else to do (catch the shuttle to Solvang, for example) but it's okay to do nothing too! We spent some time doing just that at the pool or at the lake!

I really could go on about all the fun things we did. But I think you get my point. There are three downsides to this place. While the property is immaculate and just amazing, the rooms are a bit "rustic". No AC, no TV, no phone, and depending on where your room is Wi-Fi is a bit spotty. Not sure when some of these bed spreads were last washed. But I took it as part of the ranch experience. The other downside is that nearly everything you do is ala carte. Other dude ranch vacations we looked at had all the activities included. This place is not cheap to begin with and then to add on each activity adds up. And lastly, it's REALLY hard to get in. There are families that have been coming for YEARS. Like we met an 11 year old girl that said it was her 11th year there. Returning guests get priority for the same week the following summer. And most people make their reservations when they check out. I can tell you that my MIL was thinking this is a one-time deal but after a great week, she was sitting down with the reservationist on our last day trying to reserve for next summer! (sadly, we're on a wait list because we need to move a week earlier for 2013 and there's no space)

All in all, if you can get in, you'll have a great time. The staff is wonderful. The food is good and the experience you'll have is tops. Experience the great outdoors in this beautiful ranch!

Room Tip: If you're not a returning guest, you don't have much choice on your room. You get what you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FCM0M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

First of all, in spite of the high tariff, this is not the Ritz. If you want big TVs and lavish accommodations, you're in the wrong place. The ranch decor pervades with big furniture and Indian blankets. The rooms are spacious (ours was near the Library, a location I like very much because it's close to everything) and the bathrooms were very clean with ample toiletries. Plenty of closet and drawer space as many people stay for several days. Breakfast and dinner are included in the price. While lunch isn't all that necessary, I ordered a picnic basket just to see what it was like. What arrived was an old fashioned charming basket filled with a generous lunch that included a sandwich, fruit salad, cole slaw, olives, peppers, and a giant cookie for each person. I ordered 2 lunches to feed four adults and it was more than enough.We did not go horseback riding, but we did go over to the barn area where there are animals to pet and very friendly staff to chat with. We also took the minibus to the lake where one can fish, boat, or just relax. There is also archery available. Each activity has a fee unless you have a special package so you can rack up charges fairly easily. There is a spacious pool area but it was not being used during our rather chilly, windy, stay. Because of the season, there was a corn maze in the garden as well as a pumpkin patch along with other vegetables. There are also some hiking trails though most of the ranch is not open to walkers because it is a working cattle ranch. This was our second visit to Alisal and will not be our last.

Room Tip: Rooms near the library are close to dining, the comfortable library, and the main office building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pelerine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

Three far-flung family members met up with their families for a wonderful five days at Alisal Ranch. It is a fabulous setting for family reunions; everyone gets their own space, there are plenty of activities to satisfy divergent tastes, and we all met for meals at the big round table in the dining room.
We loved the horseback riding and rode every day. The wranglers were great and we all improved our horsemanship during our stay. The horses were top-notch, not your usual rental nags that are often offered up at riding stables.
Other family members enjoyed the golfing and said that the courses were beautiful.
We had a great half-day at the lake. We worked on our archery and rifle skills. The lake is stocked with very hungry fish. Fun!
But the best part was watching the cousins who don't often see each other having a great time together! Who knew that shuffleboard could be a contact sport?
Overall, a fun and memorable trip. Hope that we can make Alisal a family tradition as so many other families have done through the years.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cathtrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
1.4 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
1.5 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
4.7 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
1.6 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alisal Guest Ranch & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alisal Guest Ranch & Resort

Property: Alisal Guest Ranch & Resort
Address: 1054 South Alisal Road, Solvang, CA 93463
Region: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Solvang
#1 Family Hotel in Solvang
#4 Spa Hotel in Solvang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alisal Guest Ranch & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alisal Guest Ranch & Resort is located in the beautiful Santa Ynez Valley and renowned Santa Barbara County wine country. Privately owned and operated since 1946, the Alisal is a working cattle ranch and full-service resort. This historic ranch is one of four original Spanish land grants on the west coast given to conquistador Raimundo Carrillo in the late 1700’s. Today, the romance and majesty of the old west remain in the wide-open spaces and unspoiled natural beauty of the Alisal. They serve as a reminder of simpler times and as an invitation to those with a taste for adventure. As California's premier guest ranch, the Alisal transports guests back to a bygone era. Set on a 10,000-acre working cattle ranch, this one-of-a-kind resort blends the best of nature with exceptional golf, horseback riding, tennis, fishing on a 100-acre private lake, fitness center and spa, children's activities, barnyard activities and fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Alisal Guest Ranch & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alisal Guest Ranch And Resort
Alisal Guest Ranch Hotel Solvang
Alisal Hotel Solvang
Alisal Resort Solvang
Alisal Ranch Solvang
The Alisal Guest Ranch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing