We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“7th annual visit --- refurbs are great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alisal Guest Ranch & Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Solvang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This is not the Four Seasons (thank God). If you need a flat screen TV, room service or kiss-your-butt waitstaff, please look elsewhere. This place is all about downtime (with great cuisine, friendly service and low key luxury). As a person who doesn't partake in Alisal's golf, tennis, spa or horses I still LOVE this place. For a while I was concerned Alisal was not getting the upkeep it needed. This is the second year in a row that I've been reassured. Our customary unit now has a new bathroom (twice as large) and the entire property has new outdoor furniture. WiFi is great. Cell phone works if you know where to stand. If you need to watch TV, there's one in the "Library."

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank on-a-roll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveLautensack, General Manager at Alisal Guest Ranch & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us here on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled that you have made the Alisal an annual tradition for your family. We pride ourselves on being able to offer an experience like no other. An experience that allows oneself to escape the hustle and bustle of everyday life and just relax and enjoy nature as it was meant to be enjoyed. We like that you “get” us.
Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2013

My wife and I had heard about Alisal Ranch for years from friends and our second honeymoon was our opportunity to make our first visit. Absolutely magnificent! I don't know where to start. The food, atmosphere, ambiance and available activities are terrific; particularly if you are looking for a laid-back and relaxing environment. Lot's of things to do, but no pressure to do them,
Meal portions are almost overwhelming; (trenchermen rejoice!), but the food is an adventure and quite good!
Our contacts with all staff were very positive and we felt we were treated like royalty.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dale H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I called to inquire about availability and it was like I was bothering this person. This is a RESORT, you will receive questions about availability and the like. If you can't be friendly, don't answer the phone and fine another job. This completely turned me off. If they treat people like this over the phone, I wonder how they will treat people who stay at their facility!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
6  Thank boragirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveLautensack, General Manager at Alisal Guest Ranch & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the service that you received upon contacting our Reservations Department. We sincerely apologize if one of our associates was less than professional or courteous. We strive to offer the best customer service at all times, however, we must have fallen short on this occasion. We have a wonderful ranch with many exciting activities that we would love for you to experience. Please come and visit us and give us a chance to demonstrate the service for which the Alisal has been known for the past 67 years. We can do better and will. Thank you again for bringing this to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My family stayed at Alisal twice in recent years. We loved the horse back riding, air soft, archery, golf and great gym. The rooms and decor are a throw back to the 1960's -- and unfortunately I'm not sure they have been remodeled since then. It is a wonderfully relaxing place, just beware that the rooms are outdated and bathrooms a bit moldy. Hopefully you will be out enjoying the outdoors and won't spend much time in your room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a new bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jsun1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed here on the "Round Up Package" which includes meals, golf and horse riding. The meals were excellent but a bit excessive in volume. The golf courses are in first class condition and the trail riding is second to none. All of the staff will go out of their way to help you. Most of the guests are regulars who keep coming back year after year. The one piece of advice that I would give to anyone going for the horse riding is to get yourself up to a level where you can comfortably lope (canter) as you will then be in a group that explores a lot more of the property and you will see some magnificent sights. These horses can climb like mountain goats. We cannot wait to return. Before booking we read negative reports about the rooms. They are rustic but with quality fittings and simple furniture. First class bed and bathroom. As long as you do not expect the Ritz Carlton you will be fine.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Axecroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed at Alisal on our way back to Australia - we wanted to show our children a different side of the USA and what a way to do it! I can't explain how you can do so much yet feel so relaxed at the same time. We were very lucky that the Australian school holidays coincided with low season in the US - lucky us! We pretty much had the place to ourselves, yet the service, the food, the sense of adventure, the atmosphere, was still incredible. The staff bent over backwards to make our stay memorable. I cannot recommend Alisal more highly - and we will be back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Balmaingirl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Staying at Alisal is like stepping back in time. It starts when you walk into your casita which feels like walking into Grandmas's house in the 60's. The room smells of a smokey fireplace...which is oddly refreshing since so many properties now use gas fireplaces. Although there is no air conditioning our casita was wonderfully cool even in the 90 degree weather. The bed is very comfortable and the room is equipped with a refrigerator and well stocked toiletries. We were there at a very slow time for them, so although that meant not a lot of other guests to deal with, it also meant that some services were scant. The restaurant/bar by the pool was closed, however the front desk was extremely accommodating in getting us food and drinks to have by the pool. The horseback riding was awesome. The wranglers are all so friendly and helpful. My husband had no horse experience and was trotting on his horse by the end of our stay. The breakfast ride is a must. You ride for an hour and see such beautiful landscape. We saw a bob cat, deer and even tarantulas (it was their breeding season). Then you eat breakfast at an old adobe in the middle of the 10,000 acres. They serve a wonderful hot breakfast and even have a cowboy singer entertaining you by the campfire. Such a great experience. The only disappointment is their spa/fitness center. They have a beautiful building and list a variety of classes on their website, but this time and before when I even stayed there in the summer at peak season there were no classes. They do not have a regular spa staff and they have to call in therapists for any services you may want, so it all needs to be arranged a day prior. They did arrange a private yoga session for me, but it did cost me $100 and I'm not sure it was worth the price tag, since the website states their classes are only $15.00. All and all....come for the horseback riding!!

Room Tip: All rooms are private casitas. I can't imagine staying in one that wouldn't be well located...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shrink711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
2.2 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 11 in Solvang
827 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#2 of 11 in Solvang
927 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#3 of 11 in Solvang
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
5.1 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
421 reviews
2.5 mi away
Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alisal Guest Ranch & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alisal Guest Ranch & Resort

Address: 1054 Alisal Rd, Solvang, CA 93463-3033
Region: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Solvang
#1 Business Hotel in Solvang
#3 Spa Hotel in Solvang
Price Range: £517 - £799 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alisal Guest Ranch & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alisal Guest Ranch & Resort is located in the beautiful Santa Ynez Valley and renowned Santa Barbara County wine country. Privately owned and operated since 1946, the Alisal is a working cattle ranch and full-service resort. This historic ranch is one of four original Spanish land grants on the west coast given to conquistador Raimundo Carrillo in the late 1700’s. Today, the romance and majesty of the old west remain in the wide-open spaces and unspoiled natural beauty of the Alisal. They serve as a reminder of simpler times and as an invitation to those with a taste for adventure. As California's premier guest ranch, the Alisal transports guests back to a bygone era. Set on a 10,000-acre working cattle ranch, this one-of-a-kind resort blends the best of nature with exceptional golf, horseback riding, tennis, fishing on a 100-acre private lake, fitness center and spa, children's activities, barnyard activities and fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alisal Guest Ranch & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alisal Guest Ranch Hotel Solvang
Alisal Guest Ranch And Resort
Alisal Hotel Solvang
Alisal Resort Solvang
Alisal Ranch Solvang
The Alisal Guest Ranch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing